Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 8, 2011, 03:43 AM   #1
MacHerbie
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Northern Iteland
Post Ppc to intel chips?

Is it possible to change PPC processors to intel or can you change the logic boards? G4 anglepoise and G5 iMac (White all in one)?
MacHerbie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2011, 04:08 AM   #2
eawmp1
macrumors 601
 
eawmp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: FL
You would need to gut most of the innards and make mods to get the new stuff to fit. Possible...yes. Practical....no.

Save your time and money and buy a refurb Intel Mac.
eawmp1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2011, 09:05 AM   #3
Jethryn Freyman
macrumors 68020
 
Jethryn Freyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Australia
No.

Not without taking basically everything out and putting basically a new Mac in there.
Jethryn Freyman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2011, 09:38 AM   #4
NZed
macrumors 65816
 
NZed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Canada, Eh?
what you dont have to change:
Fans
HD
DVD/CD Read/Writer
GPU(if its flash-able)

and i think thats it(and maybe the ram but possibly no)

everything else you have to change.
NZed is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2011, 10:20 AM   #5
MacSince1990
macrumors 6502a
 
MacSince1990's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by NZed View Post
what you dont have to change:
Fans
HD
DVD/CD Read/Writer
GPU(if its flash-able)

and i think thats it(and maybe the ram but possibly no)

everything else you have to change.
Actually even the GPU you'd have to change, as Mac Pros' cards all use EFI, which isn't compatible.

Anyway the answer is no. You can use the case, and if you wanted the hard drive and optical drive, that's about it.
__________________
Quad G5 16GB RAM, 4TB HDD, GeForce 7800GT, 10.5.8
Beige G3 w/1 GHz Sonnet G4, 768 MB, 400 GB HDD + 2x120GB, Radeon Mac Edition, ATA/133 PCI, 4-Port USB 2 PCI, 18x DVDRW, MacOS 10.4.11
MBP Quad 2.7
MacSince1990 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10.5 Install mess USB, PPC vs Intel, override installer help? spacepower7 PowerPC Macs 12 Nov 15, 2010 05:55 PM
CNET: Apple to ditch IBM, switch to Intel chips thequicksilver General Mac Discussion 1 Jun 3, 2005 07:58 PM
Why Apple needs to move to Intel Chips NOW! puffmarvin General Mac Discussion 68 Nov 18, 2002 05:35 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC