Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 8, 2011, 01:52 PM   #1
cutcopypaste
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
any way to use an old scanner in Lion?

I have a Canoscan LiDE 80 scanner.

The website doesn't seem to offer support past OSX 10.4.. however I'd been using it in Snow Leopard through the (horrible) CanoScan Toolbox app (never bothered to look at specific OS compatability). However that app is a PowerPC application, so as far as Lion goes, I'm out of luck with that.

I wondered, though.. is there any way I might get this scanner working? It would be a shame to have to go back to SL just because of this one piece of hardware..
cutcopypaste is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2011, 02:05 PM   #2
thejadedmonkey
macrumors 604
 
thejadedmonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Pa
Send a message via AIM to thejadedmonkey
And people say Lion isn't Apple's Vista...
__________________
MacBook 17" MacBook Pro iPod Nano Apple TV
PS4 Custom Windows 8.1 Desktop WP8.1
"Good judgment comes from experience,
experience comes from bad judgment."
- Mulla Nasrudin
thejadedmonkey is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2011, 02:26 PM   #3
squeakr
macrumors 68000
 
squeakr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by thejadedmonkey View Post
And people say Lion isn't Apple's Vista...
And how does this apply? It is at least a 4 year old scanner model, that Canon hasn't developed the drivers for. Officially they don't support Windows 7 64 bit (try finding a system coming with anything but 64 bit these days), so they have abandoned Windows users as well (although you can run it in XP mode). This is a Canon issue. I won't disagree that Lion has issues, but to say it is Apple's Vista because it no longer supports older third party equipment is not really fair. I read comments from 4 years ago when Mac went from OS9 to OSX and Canon's response at that time was run under Rosetta or by a new scanner. Shows Canon has a greater hand in this than Apple.
squeakr is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2011, 02:26 PM   #4
sweetbrat
macrumors 65816
 
sweetbrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Redford, MI
Try VueScan. I had to use it before when my scanner didn't have a driver available for the version of the OS I was on. It's a good program and supports many kinds of scanners. I checked and it looks like yours is on the list, and it looks like they recently released a new version of VueScan that says it works with Lion. Make sure you double check before you buy it, though! Check it out here http://www.hamrick.com/
__________________
15" MacBook Pro 2.2GHz i7, Crucial M4 SSD (Early 2011); 15" MacBook Pro (late 2008); Mac Pro 1,1 2.66GHz Dual-Core Xeon; 32GB iPad Mini; iPhone 4S 32GB; 6th gen iPod Nano
sweetbrat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2011, 02:31 PM   #5
GenesisST
macrumors 65816
 
GenesisST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Where I live
Can you use "Image Capture"? it does what I need it to do with my Brother printer/scanner. There might be some settings that are not accessible.

But then again, I don't scan anything professionally, so I just may talking out of my arse...
__________________
Kenmore microwave, Frigidaire oven, Fisher & Paykel fridge, LG washer & Dryer and Crane toilet
GenesisST is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2011, 02:54 PM   #6
cutcopypaste
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
I used Image Capture briefly and it didn't seem to be detecting anything.. I might see if I can dig a little deeper though. VueScan might be an option, but I'm not keen on spending 40 bucks to make my scanner usable again.. probably smarter to put that towards a new one.

And yeah.. Canon does seem pretty brutal with this..
cutcopypaste is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2011, 03:04 PM   #7
Taz Mangus
macrumors 65816
 
Taz Mangus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by cutcopypaste View Post
I used Image Capture briefly and it didn't seem to be detecting anything.. I might see if I can dig a little deeper though. VueScan might be an option, but I'm not keen on spending 40 bucks to make my scanner usable again.. probably smarter to put that towards a new one.

And yeah.. Canon does seem pretty brutal with this..
I have an Epson scanner and when I upgraded to Lion I simply went under the Printers System preferences and added the scanner. I then dragged the scanner from the system printer preferences to the dock. Try that and see if it works for you.
__________________
'11 27" iMac Quad Core 3.4GHz, 16GB, 1TB HD, 256GB SSD; '09 17" MacBook Pro, 2.8GHz, 8GB, 500GB HD; '09 MacMini, 2.0GHz, 4GB, 320GB HD; '13 32GB iPhone 5; '13 64GB LTE iPad Air; '13 32GB iPod Touch 5
Taz Mangus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2011, 03:18 PM   #8
AppliedMicro
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by sweetbrat View Post
Try VueScan
Explicitly not supported. The makers of Vuescan have updated compatibility information for Lion, stating Lide 80 needs Canon drivers installed - which are PowerPC only.

SANE lists this model as not supported, too.

An unfortunate situation - but the scanner was released in August 2003, so it's already 8 years old. And while it would be nice if Apple supplied Rosetta with Lion, I see it rather as Canon's failure to support this model.

Last edited by AppliedMicro; Aug 8, 2011 at 03:24 PM.
AppliedMicro is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2011, 03:35 PM   #9
AppliedMicro
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by cutcopypaste View Post
I wondered, though.. is there any way I might get this scanner working?
From your posting history I gather that you used VMware Fusion in 2010.
Do you still have it, in a Lion-compatible version, that is?

Canon do provide Windows drivers for Windows 2000/XP/Vista/7 for Canoscan Lide 80.
Best and easiest bet, I suppose.
AppliedMicro is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2011, 08:52 PM   #10
fawlty
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New Zealand
Sane

Try SANE

http://www.sane-project.org/

Lets me use my decade-old Canon scanner with Image Capture.
fawlty is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2011, 09:44 PM   #11
MisterMe
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by fawlty View Post
Try SANE

http://www.sane-project.org/

Lets me use my decade-old Canon scanner with Image Capture.
When giving advice, it is usually expected that the advice will be helpful. AppliedMicro had already checked-out the TWAIN SANE site and found that the Canon LiDE 80 is explicitly not supported. AppliedMicro is correct. What is more, TWAIN SANE supports a few Canon scanners, but the vast majority of Canon scanners are not supported--not the OP's LiDE 80, not my CanoScan 8600F. The OP did nothing to deserve your sending him on a wild goose chase. Please don't do it again.
__________________
Neither a borrower nor a lender be
For loan oft loses both itself and friend
William Shakespeare from Hamlet
MisterMe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2011, 09:38 PM   #12
fawlty
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New Zealand
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterMe View Post
When giving advice, it is usually expected that the advice will be helpful. AppliedMicro had already checked-out the TWAIN SANE site and found that the Canon LiDE 80 is explicitly not supported. AppliedMicro is correct. What is more, TWAIN SANE supports a few Canon scanners, but the vast majority of Canon scanners are not supported--not the OP's LiDE 80, not my CanoScan 8600F. The OP did nothing to deserve your sending him on a wild goose chase. Please don't do it again.
Sorry. I will be more careful next time.
fawlty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2011, 10:32 AM   #13
peterjohndean
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Canon LIDE 80 workaround

The only way I have found is to keep a bootable copy of Snow Leopard- switch to it when you need to use the LIDE 80 and run Canoscan Toolbox X. A bit cumbersome but it does save buying a new scanner.

Last edited by peterjohndean; Aug 10, 2011 at 10:34 AM. Reason: Spelling mistake!
peterjohndean is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2011, 06:48 PM   #14
cutcopypaste
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
thanks for the input guys. it's not as though I use my scanner a whole lot, so using it under an install of windows might be the way to go. I have removed my virtualization for now since I don't currently need it for work/school and was trying to free up some harddrive space.

Evidently there's no point in waiting on Canon to get their stuff together..
cutcopypaste is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2011, 06:45 PM   #15
anotherpaul
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Smile another old canon scanner: 8400F

I finally got the 8400F working on a Mac mini w/8 gig memory; its the new/mid 2011 & my 1st Mac to see what it is like & use the Darwin unix funtions. The 8400F is not supported by Canon as per their doc file (au = australia or even the canon site in europe).

After some searching & mistakes, I found/got the old drivers for the 8400F for the the Mac OS 10.6.x & just tried it out along with the "toolbox" software at Canon. Worked just like it is supposed to as I did a couple of scans of my receipt for the Mac mini, 1 using the color mode & another using the black & white setting. When the scanner is turned on, it showed in the "print & scan" for me to select; the "open" even was able to checkout the scanner!

The driver is located at "driverscollection.com"; at the top of the website is selecting the 1 alphabet of the manufacturer; & one just need to follow the instructions/procedures. I'm bookmarking the site as I did remember something about years ago; or something similar.

No guarantee that any driver will work with your machine, but is a jackpot for my 8400F; had even thought of getting a new scanner even if it worked in my win7 machine.

Regarding the 8600F, Canon's support for drivers & software has the versions available for Lion; I had tried it in false hopes of getting it to work with the 8400F.

Not all is lost, yet.http://cdn.macrumors.com/vb/images/icons/icon7.gif
anotherpaul is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IP scanner dpiol Mac Programming 4 Jan 29, 2014 12:57 PM
Epson v700 scanner and Mountain Lion kurtbdudley OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 5 Apr 16, 2013 02:22 PM
Epson v700 scanner and Mountain Lion kurtbdudley MacBook Pro 0 Apr 12, 2013 07:36 PM
New scanner or old SCSI scanner on Mac Pro? macmesser Mac Pro 14 Feb 22, 2013 02:59 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC