Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 9, 2011, 12:27 AM   #1
iViking
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
How to Migrate One Program from MBA to another MBA?

Hi,

I have MS Office installed on my MBA. I need to replace this MBA for a new one, and want to transport MS OFFICE to the new one so I don't have to re-enter the pass key as I only have one validation to use. (Can only be used on 1 machine).

I have heard of migration assistant but have never used it. Will it allow you to migrate one program over, rather than everything on one MBA to another? I only want to migrate the installed MS Office, nothing else.

If so, how does one go about doing it?

Thanks!
iViking is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2011, 01:29 AM   #2
iViking
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Is this not possible?
iViking is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2011, 09:09 AM   #3
maka344
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
I would also like to know this as I have received my replacement MBA today and have Office 2011 installed on my faulty MBA
__________________
MBA 2011 i5 13"
maka344 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2011, 09:13 AM   #4
nebo1ss
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Get carbon copy cloner it is free. You can clone the whole drive or copy individual directories.
nebo1ss is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2011, 09:56 AM   #5
flynz4
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Portland, OR
When you use Migration Assistant, I believe that all of the applications are moved. I did not see how to select specific applications... but then I did not search for that function either (I wanted all of them). Most applications move seamlessly... some require a re-entry of the serial key. Microsoft Office is one of the few where you will still need to enter the key on the new machine.

I keep all of my software keys stored in my 1Password vault. One of the benefits of this is that when you migrate to a new machine, it is trivial to re-enter software keys with a couple of clicks. It beats trying to find the software boxes.

/Jim
flynz4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2011, 10:01 AM   #6
maka344
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by flynz4 View Post
When you use Migration Assistant, I believe that all of the applications are moved. I did not see how to select specific applications... but then I did not search for that function either (I wanted all of them). Most applications move seamlessly... some require a re-entry of the serial key. Microsoft Office is one of the few where you will still need to enter the key on the new machine.

I keep all of my software keys stored in my 1Password vault. One of the benefits of this is that when you migrate to a new machine, it is trivial to re-enter software keys with a couple of clicks. It beats trying to find the software boxes.

/Jim
That is good to know but how do you get around the product key already being used on the faulty machine?
__________________
MBA 2011 i5 13"
maka344 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2011, 10:19 AM   #7
flynz4
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Quote:
Originally Posted by maka344 View Post
That is good to know but how do you get around the product key already being used on the faulty machine?
When I recently replaced one of my MBAs with a new one... I secure wiped the old MBA, returned it to Apple... then used the same MS Office key on my replacement MBA.

I never had any problem doing this. I buy all of my software, do not duplicate keys across multiple machines (beyond what is permitted by the license agreement)... and I replace my machines frequently.

/Jim
flynz4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2011, 10:26 AM   #8
maka344
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by flynz4 View Post
When I recently replaced one of my MBAs with a new one... I secure wiped the old MBA, returned it to Apple... then used the same MS Office key on my replacement MBA.

I never had any problem doing this. I buy all of my software, do not duplicate keys across multiple machines (beyond what is permitted by the license agreement)... and I replace my machines frequently.

/Jim
Some MS Office 2011 products allow two installs, I will have to check later and report back.
__________________
MBA 2011 i5 13"
maka344 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2011, 11:18 AM   #9
Epic Xbox Revie
macrumors 6502a
 
Epic Xbox Revie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: St. Louis, Mo
You can also use AirDrop if they both have Lion
__________________
Retina MacBook Pro 13", iPhone 5, iPad Mini
Epic Xbox Revie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2011, 11:54 AM   #10
deeddawg
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: US
In my experience, if activation fails it's easy enough to call up the Microsoft activation hotline, explain the situation, and they give you an activation code. Just make it clear the other system was wiped and returned.

Unless you've tried it and Microsoft has told you "tough luck", I wouldn't worry about it.
deeddawg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2011, 07:10 PM   #11
chazmink
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Long Beach Island, NJ
I migrated everything including MS Office from my unibody MacBook to my new MBA 13 with no need for a code. Perfectly ethical since I the put a clean install on the old machine so am still only running one copy. Actually, I think you can install on a desktop AND laptop.
__________________
Best,
Charlie
13" MacBook Air-2.0 Ghz i7, 8GB, 256 GB SSD; 64 gb new iPad, iphone 4S, 21.5" iMac
chazmink is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to supercharge Mini? ranny2 Mac mini 18 Oct 27, 2011 08:53 PM
Need to migrate, but already used setup assistant...did I totally screw up? mostlymac Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 3 Sep 2, 2011 11:24 PM
How To Remove Server Part Of Lion? hhaydenn iMac 2 Aug 18, 2011 05:21 PM
how to change my view from UIScrollview to another UIview? celric iPhone/iPad Programming 2 Jul 24, 2011 11:17 PM
How to transer songs from one computer to another? Ben07 iPod 3 Sep 10, 2005 07:59 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC