Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > iPhone/iPad Programming

Old Aug 9, 2011, 04:15 AM   #1
macbook pro i5
Banned

new to programming

hello guys i am new to programming I watched an informative tutorial series and i would like to know how to make a simple tap me button which in turn makes a sound i only know the basics such as UILabel *label* or (IBAction)Click(id) sender;. now even though i am a complete newbie at programming i would still like to know, sorry guys i may sound like a complete idiot but can you help me create button with functionality. help greatly appreciated
macbook pro i5 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2011, 05:40 AM   #2
iHutch105
macrumors member

If you're new to programming, you probably want to focus on learning the required languages first, rather than learning "how to do X". If you learn how to make one specific thing (such as a button that makes a sound) then you'll struggle to apply what you've learned to anything else and you'll probably end up more confused than if you set out to learn the language.

If you're looking at iPhone development, the language of choice is Objective-C. However, if you've got no programming experience then I'd strongly recommend learning the language C first, as Obj-C is a superset of C.

There are a couple of books in iBooks about programming in both C and Objective-C that are good on-the-go reads.

Here is a good link for some beginner tutorials for C:
http://www.cprogramming.com/tutorial.html

And MacRumors offers a nice Obj-C tutorial but, as I mentioned, you'll benefit from understanding C first:
http://guides.macrumors.com/Objective-C_Tutorial

Good luck!
Old Aug 9, 2011, 11:04 PM   #3
macbook pro i5
Banned

Quote:
Originally Posted by iHutch105 View Post