Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 11, 2011, 08:18 AM   #1
MikeonTV
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Send a message via AIM to MikeonTV Send a message via Yahoo to MikeonTV
New error code when formatting "unable to write to the last block of the device"

I have a 1TB WD Elements external drive that was being used on a Windows 7 machine. One day the disk become unrecognised on the computer.

I've plugged it into my MBP (10.7) and was able to recognise the disk in the disk utility.

I tried to erase and partition it with all possible settings but I always get the same error

"unable to write to the last block of the device"

Looking on google this appears to be a new error message from Lion.

Can anyone recommend a way to bypass the error? Terminal?

Is there another OSX disk utility app that may not have the same issues?
MikeonTV is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2011, 09:06 AM   #2
mdnz
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: The Netherlands
This sounds like a failing harddrive. Dowload Smart Utililty and check the health of the hard drive. If there are any errors the hard drive is failing and will have to be replaced.
mdnz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2011, 09:39 AM   #3
MikeonTV
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Send a message via AIM to MikeonTV Send a message via Yahoo to MikeonTV
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdnz View Post
This sounds like a failing harddrive. Dowload Smart Utililty and check the health of the hard drive. If there are any errors the hard drive is failing and will have to be replaced.

Thanks. I tried that and the drive never appeared on Smart Utility. Any other ideas?
MikeonTV is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2011, 10:41 AM   #4
mrapplegate
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeonTV View Post
Thanks. I tried that and the drive never appeared on Smart Utility. Any other ideas?
Disk Utility can check the SMART status of the drive.
Just open Disk Utility and check the status of the drive at the bottom of the window.
I use SmartReporter as well.
Attached Images
 
mrapplegate is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2011, 11:08 AM   #5
reputationZed
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: 34°55′42″N 80°44′41″W (34.928201, -80.744835)
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_5 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8L1 Safari/6533.18.5)

I'm getting the same error with my Drobo. I upgraded to Lion without updating the Drobo's software, which I learned after the fact can lead to problems. I'm still working with Drobo support to resolve the problem.

I wouldn't be overly concerned with what SMART tells you, the accuracy of it's results can be questionable.
__________________
But you and I, we’ve been through that,
And this is not our fate. - Dylan 1968
reputationZed is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2011, 11:09 AM   #6
MikeonTV
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Send a message via AIM to MikeonTV Send a message via Yahoo to MikeonTV
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrapplegate View Post
Disk Utility can check the SMART status of the drive.
Just open Disk Utility and check the status of the drive at the bottom of the window.
I use SmartReporter as well.
Hi there. Thanks for the reply. This application doesn't recognize the drive either. The only app which does is the stock disk utility app.

I'm beginning to think I'll have to start making the proper funeral arrangements.
MikeonTV is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2011, 11:36 AM   #7
mrapplegate
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeonTV View Post
Hi there. Thanks for the reply. This application doesn't recognize the drive either. The only app which does is the stock disk utility app.

I'm beginning to think I'll have to start making the proper funeral arrangements.
Hmm, that could be a problem. If you want to invest money in it try a data recovery/tools program. If not fall back to your backup.
mrapplegate is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2011, 09:00 PM   #8
bgmac
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Possible WD link

I experienced similar problem as first post in this thread. I purchased a 3GB WD External HD (My Book Essential) and ended up harvesting the HD to place in my Time Capsule (a 1TB model). The swap out went fine; the Time Capsule was able to format and use the new 3TB drive (via Airport Utility) but the old 1 TB HD from the Time Capsule was unable to be recognized when I connected it using the WD SATA > USB hardware from the WD ext HD. I got the "last block" error with Disk Utility. No better with DiskWarrior or Drive Genius. I fired up the WD Smartware which recognized the HD but failed to format. I even took the now Time Capsule formatted 3TB HD and put it back in the WD enclosure and it too produced the same error when trying to format.
To get to the punchline both of the bare HDs were fine and formatted just fine with a different enclosure (non WD). Once I SECURELY erased the 1 TB HD, it worked fine with the WD hardware attached. I believe that WD may have a hardware linked security feature that locks out the HD from being formatted - bricks it in a sense if it "discovers" that the HD has been tampered with. With a securely erased HD, presumably it was wiped clean and I was able to format the drive using WD Smartware and since then has worked well with Disk Utility and torture tested with Drive Genius.

Try SECURELY erasing your bare troubled HD using a non WD interface. Worked for me.
bgmac is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 27, 2011, 08:57 AM   #9
nekkyj
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
bgmac is right - DEFINITELY some proprietary WD hardware interference. I used a cheapie SATA to USB convertor cables to access the drive and follow the instructions below... thank you!


Quote:
Originally Posted by bgmac View Post
I experienced similar problem as first post in this thread. I purchased a 3GB WD External HD (My Book Essential) and ended up harvesting the HD to place in my Time Capsule (a 1TB model). The swap out went fine; the Time Capsule was able to format and use the new 3TB drive (via Airport Utility) but the old 1 TB HD from the Time Capsule was unable to be recognized when I connected it using the WD SATA > USB hardware from the WD ext HD. I got the "last block" error with Disk Utility. No better with DiskWarrior or Drive Genius. I fired up the WD Smartware which recognized the HD but failed to format. I even took the now Time Capsule formatted 3TB HD and put it back in the WD enclosure and it too produced the same error when trying to format.
To get to the punchline both of the bare HDs were fine and formatted just fine with a different enclosure (non WD). Once I SECURELY erased the 1 TB HD, it worked fine with the WD hardware attached. I believe that WD may have a hardware linked security feature that locks out the HD from being formatted - bricks it in a sense if it "discovers" that the HD has been tampered with. With a securely erased HD, presumably it was wiped clean and I was able to format the drive using WD Smartware and since then has worked well with Disk Utility and torture tested with Drive Genius.

Try SECURELY erasing your bare troubled HD using a non WD interface. Worked for me.
nekkyj is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2013, 02:22 AM   #10
lapeno
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Hi

I Just bought a 2tb my passport and am getting the same message as in the first post.

Could someone please tell me how to securely erase this disk.

TIA
__________________
iMac 21.5" 500GB HD, 8GB DDR3, 3.06 GHZ C2D, Lion 10.7.5
16 GB Black iPhone 4 6.1
lapeno is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Tags
disk, elements, external, format, lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anybody unable to order from Apple due to "problem with ATT account" error. richard371 iPhone 1 Sep 20, 2013 10:13 AM
Can't restore iPod - "unable to write to the last block of the device" dawnchorus iPod 2 Aug 9, 2013 06:25 PM
Persistently getting "incorrect block count for file" error reddevil0728 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 5 Jul 21, 2013 05:36 PM
Unable to write to the last block of the device letsgofly Mac Basics and Help 1 Mar 15, 2013 01:10 PM
DL DVD+R "Failed to Burn...Medium Write Error" KyleMacs MacBook Pro 1 Jun 13, 2012 11:49 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:31 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC