Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 11, 2011, 03:43 PM   #1
Jaaay
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
13" Macbook Pro Stuck on Apple Loading Screen w/ Spinning Grey Circle

Hi there,

Well as the title states, my 13" Macbook Pro is stuck on the apple loading screen, where the grey spinning circle thing just spins forever on end.

This is my first Mac, and would appreciate it if someone could help me out :/

Thanks
Jaaay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2011, 03:44 PM   #2
Naimfan
macrumors 68040
 
Naimfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Try booting from the original restore disc that came with your MBP and then run Disk Utility.
__________________
"I find the great thing in this world is not so much where we stand, as in what direction we are moving."
Oliver Wendell Holmes
Naimfan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2011, 03:47 PM   #3
Jaaay
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Naimfan View Post
Try booting from the original restore disc that came with your MBP and then run Disk Utility.
Hi, ive got the disk in there atm, but the same screen comes up, even when i hold D to boot from the DVD drive

EDIT: Its booted, running the memory hardware test
Jaaay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2011, 04:01 PM   #4
Jaaay
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Okay now this memory hardware test is taking really long, 13 minutes so far when the estimate is 3 minutes
Jaaay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2011, 04:05 PM   #5
Naimfan
macrumors 68040
 
Naimfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Once you've done the hardware test, boot from the OS install disc and run Disk Utility - Repair Disk.

You need to hold down the "C" key as you boot.

Don't worry about how long the Apple Hardware Test takes--it can take a while, especially if you've selected the "Extended" test.
__________________
"I find the great thing in this world is not so much where we stand, as in what direction we are moving."
Oliver Wendell Holmes
Naimfan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2011, 04:30 PM   #6
Jaaay
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Naimfan View Post
Once you've done the hardware test, boot from the OS install disc and run Disk Utility - Repair Disk.

You need to hold down the "C" key as you boot.

Don't worry about how long the Apple Hardware Test takes--it can take a while, especially if you've selected the "Extended" test.
Ive left the memory hardware test for 40 minutes now, and the total time testing sas 1min 32 secs

Doesnt seem to be doing anything, it hasnt frozen, the mouse still moves, albeit slowly/laggy, surely it shouldnt take 40+ mins when it has an estimated time of 3 mins :S
Jaaay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2011, 04:37 PM   #7
Jaaay
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Okay i turned if off and on.

And then after about a minute or so loading got this message:

"You need to restart your computer. Hold down the Power button until it turns off, then press the Power button again."
Jaaay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2011, 04:49 PM   #8
Jaaay
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Okay, i booted into safe mode, and got this error:

disk0s2: I/O error.
Jaaay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2011, 05:02 PM   #9
Naimfan
macrumors 68040
 
Naimfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
OK, boot from the OS install disk and run disk utility. If that won't run, you may have a bad hard drive. See if you can get it to boot to the OS install screen, and if you have a good backup, erase the drive and re-install OSX.

You could also have a bad OS disc or a bad superdrive.
__________________
"I find the great thing in this world is not so much where we stand, as in what direction we are moving."
Oliver Wendell Holmes
Naimfan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2011, 05:06 PM   #10
Jaaay
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Naimfan View Post
OK, boot from the OS install disk and run disk utility. If that won't run, you may have a bad hard drive. See if you can get it to boot to the OS install screen, and if you have a good backup, erase the drive and re-install OSX.

You could also have a bad OS disc or a bad superdrive.
Each time i try and boot from the Mac OSX Install DVD it gives me the "You need to restart your computer. Hold down the Power button until it turns off, then press the Power button again." message.

Think its time to visit the genius bar, its already had a new hard drive in the last few months, think ill demand a new machine, do you think they will honour it? Ive had endless problems with this machine
Jaaay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2011, 05:19 PM   #11
Naimfan
macrumors 68040
 
Naimfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Are you using the correct OS install disc? The one that came with your machine? If so, make sure it's not scratched/gouged.

Otherwise, yep, time to take it in to Apple. Don't demand a new one, just politely explain what's been going on, explain the repair history, and ask if they could simply replace it. If it's a current model, your chances are probably good. If it's an older model, you are more likely to have to leave it for repair. Do you have a different hard drive you can try to boot from? An external?
__________________
"I find the great thing in this world is not so much where we stand, as in what direction we are moving."
Oliver Wendell Holmes
Naimfan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2011, 05:33 PM   #12
Jaaay
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
No i don't have an external hard drive i could use.

The disc im trying to use says:

MacBook
Mac OS X Install DVD

Mac OS version 10.6.1
Disc version 1.0
2Z691-6517-A

Looks fine, few light scratches but nothing major.
Im just baffled as to why its acting up like this.
Jaaay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2011, 05:38 PM   #13
Naimfan
macrumors 68040
 
Naimfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
OK, what Macbook Pro do you have? One of the new Sandy Bridge models or an earlier generation?

If you have a current model, you can't use that disk--you have to use the one that came with it, which is OSX 10.6.6.
__________________
"I find the great thing in this world is not so much where we stand, as in what direction we are moving."
Oliver Wendell Holmes
Naimfan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2011, 06:40 PM   #14
Jaaay
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Nope, an older generation, this ones around a year old, not too sure what generation that is, but yeah, it was the disk that came with the macbook pro
Jaaay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2011, 07:08 PM   #15
Naimfan
macrumors 68040
 
Naimfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Sorry to say, but your best bet is a visit to the Apple store.
__________________
"I find the great thing in this world is not so much where we stand, as in what direction we are moving."
Oliver Wendell Holmes
Naimfan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2011, 08:07 PM   #16
GuitarG20
macrumors 65816
 
GuitarG20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Visit the apple store.

Depending on how many problems they have in their records, they may end up replacing your machine. Or they could repair it. It just all depends.
__________________
MBP 8,3 (17")|| HTC One X (LTE) || iPhone 3GS || iPod Classic || iPod Video || iPod Shuffle
GuitarG20 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2012, 08:29 PM   #17
onedirectionluv
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Thumbs up Yahhh

Don't worry, this just happened to me. I just holder the power button down until I hear a beep. Then, go take a bath, eat dinner, or whatever you want and then just turn it back on. VOILA!!!
onedirectionluv is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MBP unibody stuck at apple logo with loading circle drummerdimitri Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 1 Jun 1, 2013 01:46 PM
Macbook stuck at Grey Screen with Apple Logo and Spinning Gear timrhancock MacBook 5 Jan 29, 2013 06:15 AM
MacBook Pro Stuck on Apple Logo with Spinning Wheel bmy MacBook Pro 4 Jan 4, 2013 11:49 AM
MacBook Pro (A1226) Stuck at grey logo screen chester60 MacBook Pro 2 Oct 23, 2012 09:24 AM
Iphone stuck on Apple logo and loading circle. 06awjudd iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 5 Oct 19, 2012 10:11 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC