Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Buying Tips and Advice

Old Aug 11, 2011, 09:00 PM   #1
deosaa7
macrumors member

Pair of headphones like Beats by Dre for less money, less gaudy?

I tried a pair of beats by dre at the apple store but their price is just too expensive for me. My budget is <$100 so I am wondering what (preferably collapsable - I am a student on the run at all times) pair of over eat headphones has that kind of bass quality at a lesser price point? I would prefer a more subtle design too...I like the beats design but I don't like the big B plastered all over it, I would prefer people not knowing how much money I dropped (or didn't drop) on a set.

Thanks,
AKD
Old Aug 11, 2011, 09:56 PM   #2
jbyun04
macrumors 6502a

Quote:
Originally Posted by deosaa7 View Post
I tried a pair of beats by dre at the apple store but their price is just too expensive for me. My budget is <$100 so I am wondering what (preferably collapsable - I am a student on the run at all times) pair of over eat headphones has that kind of bass quality at a lesser price point? I would prefer a more subtle design too...I like the beats design but I don't like the big B plastered all over it, I would prefer people not knowing how much money I dropped (or didn't drop) on a set.

Thanks,
AKD
Get the Klispch Image Ones off eBay. I just got mine and I couldn't be happier switching from Bose On-Ear Triports.

Retails for about $159 but i got them for $59. They normally around $70-80 on eBay.
Old Aug 11, 2011, 10:13 PM   #3
RolandNights
macrumors 6502a

Audio Technica ATH-M50

I'm not a hardcore audiophile or anything, but I have the Audio Technica ATH-M50 and I love'em. I got them for $120 on Amazon awhile back.

I lack the audiophile vocab, but the Amazon reviews are really helpful. I have these and the similarly priced Bose AE2i, but I definitely use these for when I want a better sound experience. They're collapsible and roughly the same size as the $300 pair of Beats by Dre.