Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 14, 2011, 12:25 PM   #1
UncleSimit
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
ATV2 'error occurred loading this content'

I've been having problems streaming some HD TV shows I remuxed (or whatever you call it) recently to stream my Apple TV2. Anytime I try to stream them from my MBP I get the message ' error occurred loading this content', yet I'm able to stream any other HD content without problem.

To rule out it being a problem with my library, I've tried playing it through my friends Apple TV 2 and it works fine.

To check whether it's my Apple TV I brought my ATV to my friends and hooked it up to his TV and it worked fine.

To rule out whether it's my network I changed my router and guess what....still doesn't work.

Not sure what to do or try now/next...
UncleSimit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2011, 05:26 PM   #2
UncleSimit
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Solved!

Strange one but I've tried and tested it with some new stuff I've put through Subler.

It's an issue of some sort with AC-3 audio. Once I went into preferences on Subler and selected convert ac3 to aac I was able to play/stream the file without problem.

Just something to note for anyone else.
UncleSimit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2011, 05:34 PM   #3
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
The ATV2 needs the first audio track to be AAC, the second can be AC3. You can even pile on a directors commentary on a tertiary track.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2011, 06:51 PM   #4
ebernet
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueroom View Post
The ATV2 needs the first audio track to be AAC, the second can be AC3. You can even pile on a directors commentary on a tertiary track.
I had the same issue with the latest update. I set the audio out to be Dolby digital rather than auto, and the problem went away. My assumption is they are trying to prevent damage to speakers attached to a device that does not support Dolby. Videos with AAC only tracks continue to play properly. Hope that helps!
ebernet is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"An error occurred loading this content" apple tv 2 bellagio Apple TV and Home Theater 58 Jul 14, 2013 06:48 PM
"An error occurred loading this content" kangping Apple TV and Home Theater 2 Jan 15, 2013 02:21 PM
ATV2 or No ATV2? bzollinger Apple TV and Home Theater 11 Oct 16, 2011 06:58 PM
Error occurred loading this content Sound214 Apple TV and Home Theater 7 Oct 3, 2011 08:48 AM
ATV2 and XBMC with HULU question jimmy1984 Apple TV and Home Theater 13 Mar 13, 2011 11:33 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:53 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC