Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 14, 2011, 12:25 PM   #1
UncleSimit
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
ATV2 'error occurred loading this content'

I've been having problems streaming some HD TV shows I remuxed (or whatever you call it) recently to stream my Apple TV2. Anytime I try to stream them from my MBP I get the message ' error occurred loading this content', yet I'm able to stream any other HD content without problem.

To rule out it being a problem with my library, I've tried playing it through my friends Apple TV 2 and it works fine.

To check whether it's my Apple TV I brought my ATV to my friends and hooked it up to his TV and it worked fine.

To rule out whether it's my network I changed my router and guess what....still doesn't work.

Not sure what to do or try now/next...
UncleSimit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2011, 05:26 PM   #2
UncleSimit
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Solved!

Strange one but I've tried and tested it with some new stuff I've put through Subler.

It's an issue of some sort with AC-3 audio. Once I went into preferences on Subler and selected convert ac3 to aac I was able to play/stream the file without problem.

Just something to note for anyone else.
UncleSimit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2011, 05:34 PM   #3
blueroom
macrumors 603
 
blueroom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
The ATV2 needs the first audio track to be AAC, the second can be AC3. You can even pile on a directors commentary on a tertiary track.
__________________
My iOS devices are not jailbroken.
Bill
My Blog
blueroom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2011, 06:51 PM   #4
ebernet
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueroom View Post
The ATV2 needs the first audio track to be AAC, the second can be AC3. You can even pile on a directors commentary on a tertiary track.
I had the same issue with the latest update. I set the audio out to be Dolby digital rather than auto, and the problem went away. My assumption is they are trying to prevent damage to speakers attached to a device that does not support Dolby. Videos with AAC only tracks continue to play properly. Hope that helps!
ebernet is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An Error occurred trying to load this content Maceddy iPhone 0 May 16, 2014 08:39 PM
The operation canít be completed because an unexpected error occurred (error code -50 sovereign OS X Mavericks (10.9) 1 Dec 5, 2013 12:42 PM
Apple TV "An error occurred loading this content. Try again Later" iOrbit Apple TV and Home Theater 5 Jul 18, 2013 03:45 PM
"Error Loading Content" on some shows in Hulu Plus jmsosa465 Apple TV and Home Theater 1 Nov 26, 2012 07:55 PM
Error Loading This Content on ATV2 LaWally Apple TV and Home Theater 0 Jun 8, 2012 06:37 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:48 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC