Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 17, 2011, 04:46 AM   #1
saxondale.
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: England/China
Airport Express + Sony TV

My Sony TV (KDL40EX503) has the ability to go online and access things like BBC iPlayer. I just realised that i'm able to connect to the TV vis ethernet. So i've just tried to connect it to my TV but it's not fully working. It seems like it finds the settings required but no content will load and keeps timing out. I've set my AE to join my wireless network. Is there something i'm missing?

Thanks
__________________
Canon 5D Mark II 35mm f/1.4L - 24-70mm f/2.8L - 70-200mm f/4L
Flickr
saxondale. is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2011, 09:51 AM   #2
MorganB
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by saxondale. View Post
My Sony TV (KDL40EX503) has the ability to go online and access things like BBC iPlayer. I just realised that i'm able to connect to the TV vis ethernet. So i've just tried to connect it to my TV but it's not fully working. It seems like it finds the settings required but no content will load and keeps timing out. I've set my AE to join my wireless network. Is there something i'm missing?

Thanks
I have my Sony TV connected via AE and it works fine. Internet connection should be set to Connection Sharing: Off (Bridge Mode).
MorganB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2011, 05:29 AM   #3
Romix69
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Hello, this is roman, from spain. First, excuse me for my english.

I would like to buy an airport express, but i have a question. I have a sony bravia tv with wifi engine and i would like to connect my macbook pro to my tv to see movies and series. Can i connect my laptop to the tv with the airport express? How? Usb? Lan wire?

Thank youu
Romix69 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 5, 2011, 05:42 PM   #4
Bye Bye Baby
macrumors 65816
 
Bye Bye Baby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: i(am in the)cloud
Quote:
Originally Posted by Romix69 View Post
Hello, this is roman, from spain. First, excuse me for my english.

I would like to buy an airport express, but i have a question. I have a sony bravia tv with wifi engine and i would like to connect my macbook pro to my tv to see movies and series. Can i connect my laptop to the tv with the airport express? How? Usb? Lan wire?

Thank youu
Hey Roman

Connect your macbook pro via a mini-display to HDMI connector and use a toslink cable for audio.

The airport express will not help you in getting your macbook connected to the TV. It will only get internet on the TV once the macbook is connected to the TV.
__________________
27" iMac i7 + 27" ACD + 11" Macbook Air i7 + Mac Mini
iPhone 5 + iPad 4G + iPod Touch
G4 Cube + 15" ACD + 17" iMac G4 + Color Mac + Mac Classic II
Bye Bye Baby is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Performance issues when extending airport extreme network with airport express Birkovic Mac Peripherals 15 Jul 18, 2014 09:40 AM
Streaming live Audio from Airport Extreme to an Airport Express (not iTunes/Airplay) marku5 Mac Peripherals 10 Sep 4, 2013 08:53 AM
Wireless Setup Question: Airport Express or New Airport Extreme? Mac21ND Mac Peripherals 7 Aug 2, 2013 12:11 PM
Old Airport Express vs. 2012 Airport Express jazz1 Mac Peripherals 2 Jul 3, 2012 08:49 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:39 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC