Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 17, 2011, 02:54 PM   #1
gcans
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Gta 4 on a Macbook Air

Will Gta 4 run on a Macbook Air on lowest settings?
gcans is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2011, 03:00 PM   #2
Mr.C
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: London, UK.
Which MacBook Air ? What are the minimum requirements for the game ?
__________________
2011 Mac Mini i7 2.7GHz 8GB RAM 750GB HD|MacBook Air 13" 1.6Ghz Core 2 Duo 2GB RAM 80GB HD|iPad Air 2 128GB Wi-Fi+Cellular White/Silver|iPhone 6 Plus 128GB White/Silver
Mr.C is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2011, 03:16 PM   #3
gcans
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.C View Post
Which MacBook Air ? What are the minimum requirements for the game ?
2011 11.6 inch core i7 128gb im not shire about the requirements
gcans is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2011, 03:37 PM   #4
DesmoPilot
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
The Intel 3000 will run GTA4 very poorly, if at all.
__________________
MacBook Pro 15" i7 2.66GHz w/HR-AG|OWC Data Doubler w/OCZ Vertex 2 180GB SSD and Hitachi 7K500 500GB HDD
Google Nexus S 4.1.1 Jelly Bean
DesmoPilot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2011, 03:47 PM   #5
Dagless
macrumors Core
 
Dagless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Darkplace Hospital
If you like to play slideshows then go ahead. Even on my 6790 2gb iMac I have to play on medium settings to get a smooth 60fps. GTAIV is really a game that works best at a high FPS.
__________________
Maybe if everyone who'd ever been close to you had died, you'd be sarcastic, too.
Macrumors Steam Group
Dagless is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2011, 08:22 PM   #6
gcans
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dagless View Post
If you like to play slideshows then go ahead. Even on my 6790 2gb iMac I have to play on medium settings to get a smooth 60fps. GTAIV is really a game that works best at a high FPS.
Well I'm fine with anything over 11 frames per second found this video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bnYb0...eature=related I've heard the the intel 3000 graphics and the nvidia 320m graphics are pretty similar.
gcans is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2011, 10:27 PM   #7
deadwulfe
macrumors 6502a
 
deadwulfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
I quit playing it, because of stuttering problems on the 6750m running it at 25-30 fps and you want to play it at 11 fps? YOU'RE INSANE DUDE!
__________________
68,424 duplicate threads and counting...
deadwulfe is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2011, 10:32 PM   #8
mgartner0622
macrumors 65816
 
mgartner0622's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Colorado, USA
Send a message via Skype™ to mgartner0622
I can barley play it on my MacBook Pro (2010) with the 330m. It runs at 1024x768 (limited by the game) and very badly if I set anything over low or medium settings. I can't imagine that intel card, as it's between the 320m and the old 9400m.
__________________
15" 2.6GHz rMBP, 27" LED Cinema Display, iPhone 5S, iPod Classic
mgartner0622 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2011, 11:07 PM   #9
PowerGamerX
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgartner0622 View Post
I can barley play it on my MacBook Pro (2010) with the 330m. It runs at 1024x768 (limited by the game) and very badly if I set anything over low or medium settings. I can't imagine that intel card, as it's between the 320m and the old 9400m.
Depending on what you're doing of course, but agreed. The PC port of GTA is absolutely terrible and won't run nicely on any low spec computer. It's not worth your time OP.
__________________
MacBook Pro 13" 2010 2.66ghz, 4gb, 320gb WD Scorpio Black
PowerGamerX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2011, 11:09 PM   #10
FroMann
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: North Carolina, USA.
Don't even try, just buy an Xbox or PS3 instead if you want to play GTA IV.
__________________
13" MacBook Pro, 2.4ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, 4GB RAM, 250GB HDD.
iPod Nano 5G
FroMann is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2011, 11:26 PM   #11
Young Spade
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Tallahassee, Florida
Just for people saying "they are pretty similar", I played Braid on my new 2011 MBP and it stuttered. On the other hand, my friend played the same game on his 2010 with the 320m and got smooth framerate that I can only achieve when playing through Bootcamp.
Young Spade is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2011, 10:50 AM   #12
gcans
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Quote:
Originally Posted by deadwulfe View Post
I quit playing it, because of stuttering problems on the 6750m running it at 25-30 fps and you want to play it at 11 fps? YOU'RE INSANE DUDE!
Ha thanks

----------

As long as it play I'm happy.
gcans is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2011, 06:57 PM   #13
Delta-NC
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Scotland, European Union
Never played the game since I returned it in disgust. I had a near-top end PC when it came out and it ran like *****. As was the same for most people. Insulting support team said I and the entire gaming community was "doin it rong".

Sad to say all respect for Rockstar North, my country's most prominent software company, was flushed down the toilet that day. Insulting that they should rush out crap like that and expect people to spend their hard earned cash on it.

In short, if my gaming desktop could not run it at 10fps while not even bothering to render half the game world I'd guess the chances of it running on a single MacBook is a snowballs chance in hell. That said they may have bothered to fix it, I didn't stick around to find out.
Delta-NC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2011, 05:57 AM   #14
iSayuSay
macrumors 68030
 
iSayuSay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
A $500 PC today should suffice the need to play GTA IV on a reasonable frame rate.

Or for effective cost solution, a PS3 or Xbox can run GTA IV much better than your Air.

I wouldn't bother trying play that on Air. Maybe you shouldn't too .. You can say as long as it plays, you're happy ..

Well try slideshow using Power Point and press enter button 1000 times to go meet Roman then I'm sure you'd change your opinion
__________________
The things you own end up owning you.
It's only after you lose everything that you're free to do anything
Sent from Paper Street Soap. Co
iSayuSay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2011, 07:41 AM   #15
Sambo110
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dagless View Post
If you like to play slideshows then go ahead. Even on my 6790 2gb iMac I have to play on medium settings to get a smooth 60fps. GTAIV is really a game that works best at a high FPS.
I find this funny, as consoles run it at a max of 30, and I had points where it got to about 3. GTA games never run that great on consoles
__________________
rMBP 2.6 GHz, 8 GB RAM, 512 GB SSD 10.10
Sambo110 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2011, 12:56 PM   #16
Young Spade
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Tallahassee, Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sambo110 View Post
I find this funny, as consoles run it at a max of 30, and I had points where it got to about 3. GTA games never run that great on consoles
People rave about consoles and don't actually realize how basic they are. They watch the new Battlefield 3 and MW3 videos and think (omg it looks amazing) when, in reality, those gameplay videos are on a top tier PC. Not a console.

CoD runs at 60 frames and that's why it looks so smooth. Doesn't look as nice as Gears though due to the lighting and motion blur.
Young Spade is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2011, 04:38 PM   #17
Rodus
macrumors 6502a
 
Rodus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Midlands, UK
Just paste some GTA IV screenshots into powerpoint and watch them that way as a presentation, you'll get the same effect as trying to play the real game on the Air at a fraction of the cost and suffering.
GTA IV is horribly optimized for the PC, it really needs a tri/quad core CPU and a decent descreet GPU, neither of which the Air has, don't bother.
__________________
27" iMac i5, iPad, iPhone 4S
John Pierce: After growing wildly for years, the field of computing appears to be reaching its infancy.
Rodus is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2011, 05:22 PM   #18
Dagless
macrumors Core
 
Dagless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Darkplace Hospital
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sambo110 View Post
I find this funny, as consoles run it at a max of 30, and I had points where it got to about 3. GTA games never run that great on consoles
I know ! It's not even 30fps, I think it's 20-something on the PS3.
I can't fathom playing such fast, reactive games (especially when driving and during combat) at such a low FPS. It'd drive me mad. Even on my old 2006 iMac (that I only ditched earlier this year) I was running games on their lowest settings just so they were as fluid as possible.
__________________
Maybe if everyone who'd ever been close to you had died, you'd be sarcastic, too.
Macrumors Steam Group
Dagless is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 25, 2011, 06:35 AM   #19
SlickShoes
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dagless View Post
I know ! It's not even 30fps, I think it's 20-something on the PS3.
I can't fathom playing such fast, reactive games (especially when driving and during combat) at such a low FPS. It'd drive me mad. Even on my old 2006 iMac (that I only ditched earlier this year) I was running games on their lowest settings just so they were as fluid as possible.
Its all about what you are used to, I have never been a PC gamer so its all been on consoles. Ive never found any game running at such low fps i find it unplayable. I understand PC gamers call 30fps and below "terrible performance" but for me its acceptable, I have never really had the luxuary of playing at huge number FPS.
SlickShoes is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTA 3 or GTA 3 Vice City zoliky iPad Apps 2 Sep 4, 2013 05:29 AM
MacBook Pro Retina low fps on GTA IV ozbilge10 MacBook Pro 39 Jun 26, 2013 01:58 PM
Help please ! GTA IV mods (people who play GTA IV will be able to answer this.) Shahidkapoor Mac and PC Games 2 Aug 8, 2012 03:14 PM
GTA San Andreas Macbook. user85 Mac and PC Games 3 Jun 18, 2012 08:51 PM
GTA IV on Retina MacBook Pro 15'' Base Shahidkapoor MacBook Pro 2 Jun 15, 2012 07:10 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC