Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 19, 2011, 03:15 AM   #1
jonnops
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Help! Remote access to my imac

I'm a complete newbee to this, but i want to access my imac in the office from my macbook. How do i do this and what details do i need from my imac
jonnops is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2011, 03:27 AM   #2
ChristianJapan
macrumors Demi-God
 
ChristianJapan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: 日本
You have several ways...

Apple remote desktop (can buy it app store); maybe a it overkill, but why not

teamViewer, an application also works on iPad and iPhone

LogMeIn (don't have any experience with)

VNC

...

What connection you have in office; a company LAN, a smal dial up connection ?Would make is easier if you describe the setup a bit more detailed.
__________________
Member of MacRumors.com Folding@Home Team (#3446) & developer of the F@H Mobile Monitoring app
ChristianJapan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2011, 03:38 AM   #3
jonnops
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
cheers for that,

company LAN, basic only one Imac at the moment going through a transition of switch to mac's
jonnops is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2011, 04:07 AM   #4
ChristianJapan
macrumors Demi-God
 
ChristianJapan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: 日本
In that case TeamViewer might be nice as it could go through (simple) firewall; but you should still check with your IT guys; they might have an opinion on that. TeamViewer would route via a third party server. If you connect to company computer it's also not free. But I think hey have also a test version.
Basically you would need to start a little program on the iMac which would give you a random number as key. Then you start the viewer on the MB and enter that number. After that you can remote control the iMac.
__________________
Member of MacRumors.com Folding@Home Team (#3446) & developer of the F@H Mobile Monitoring app
ChristianJapan is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How would I set a static ip for remote access if I don't have access to the router? pruppert OS X Mavericks (10.9) 8 Feb 5, 2014 06:05 PM
iMac vs nMP - VM & Remote Access djpedro Mac Pro 0 Jan 20, 2014 10:05 AM
Server Remote Access lukerumbelow Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking 4 Sep 26, 2013 09:23 PM
Someone used Safari remote login to access my computer. What did he have access to? zephonic OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Jul 25, 2013 09:52 PM
Remote access second HD rwalkowi Mac Basics and Help 1 Dec 21, 2012 04:36 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC