Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 19, 2011, 09:56 AM   #1
walterwashere
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: USA
Imac G3 options?

I have an iMac g3 that is just sitting in dust being a playpen for dust bunnies.
I was wondering what I could do with something over ten years old. Does anyone know of any versions of linux that could work on it or of some cheap mods to add wifi, bluetooth, etc.? Thanks!
walterwashere is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2011, 12:07 PM   #2
KurtangleTN
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
I'm not sure what model iMac G3 you have but the later ones could support an internal Airport (802.11b) card in them. You'll have to check your model number to see if it's compatible.

My 400mhz iMac G3 with I think 640mb of RAM did Tiger pretty decently. It's not a speed demon (of course) but it ran it solidly.

It would make a very good secondary, kids computer, or something along those lines. A lot of people use older Macs as iTunes media servers.. that's another option. You could also put OS 9 on it and just load up on classic games.
KurtangleTN is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2011, 03:31 PM   #3
accessoriesguy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by KurtangleTN View Post
You could also put OS 9 on it and just load up on classic games.
omg i never thought about that, a friend gave me a G5 (i think don't remember)
I haven't really used it much, aside from installing the latest OS I could get on it. I have no real use for it, I'm always on my MBP.

That would be pretty cool, if it just played classic games, people would be so impressed when they come over; "OMG IS THAT ORGAN TRAIL!?"
__________________
accessoriesguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2011, 04:46 PM   #4
goMac
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by accessoriesguy View Post
omg i never thought about that, a friend gave me a G5 (i think don't remember)
I haven't really used it much, aside from installing the latest OS I could get on it. I have no real use for it, I'm always on my MBP.

That would be pretty cool, if it just played classic games, people would be so impressed when they come over; "OMG IS THAT ORGAN TRAIL!?"
The G5s have a catch... They can't natively boot OS 9. You'd have to run Classic under OS X, which isn't as compatible. Old games I've had specific issues with under Classic.
goMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2011, 04:30 PM   #5
walterwashere
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by KurtangleTN View Post
I'm not sure what model iMac G3 you have but the later ones could support an internal Airport (802.11b) card in them. You'll have to check your model number to see if it's compatible.

My 400mhz iMac G3 with I think 640mb of RAM did Tiger pretty decently. It's not a speed demon (of course) but it ran it solidly.
Thanks! I think I have the first version out, with a whopping 333mhz processor and nice 6gb hard drive. I'm currently on the hunt for a tv tuner for it. I think i'll use it for some of my media.
walterwashere is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2011, 07:53 PM   #6
dummptyhummpty
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
As mentioned above, I'd load OS 9 on it and use it for old games. You could also set it up as a digital picture frame or put it in a common area for web browsing or checking e-mail.
dummptyhummpty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2011, 12:26 AM   #7
tom vilsack
macrumors 68000
 
tom vilsack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: ladner cdn
Thumb resize.
tom vilsack is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2011, 12:44 AM   #8
VanneDC
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dubai, UAE
Lol :d
__________________
Late 2011 Macbook Pro 15"
BUILDING: TB eGPU Sonnet Echo Express + GTX480
Wacom Cintiq 21UX 24" Sony PS3 3D display.
VanneDC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2011, 04:36 PM   #9
iThinkergoiMac
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Terra
Quote:
Originally Posted by walterwashere View Post
Thanks! I think I have the first version out, with a whopping 333mhz processor and nice 6gb hard drive. I'm currently on the hunt for a tv tuner for it. I think i'll use it for some of my media.
That's the Rev C iMac. Rev A was 233 MHz (Bondi Blue only), Rev B 266 Mhz (Bondi Blue only), and Rev C 333 MHz (5 fruit colors).

You might be able to get a TV tuner that's compatible, but you won't get it to play at real time, or at all if you live in the US. You won't get real time video because it would have to connect via USB 1.1, which doesn't have enough bandwidth for standard definition video. If you're in the US, you won't get one to work at all because all compatible TV tuners would be analog, and the US has switched completely to digital broadcasts.

I think loading up some old, classic games is an awesome idea.
__________________
13" 2009 MBP, 2.26 GHz C2D, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HDD; 2.2 GHz C2D MB, 6 GB RAM, 160 GB HDD; 32 GB iPod Touch 3G
-FWIW, my handle is iThink_ergo_iMac. There seems to be some confusion on this issue.-
iThinkergoiMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2011, 06:43 PM   #10
Cox Orange
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by KurtangleTN View Post
...an internal Airport (802.11b) card in them...
this is 11mbit/s and the tray-iMacs do not have an airport slot, but you can add a WLAN-USB-dongle (any kind hama, D-Link, etc.), which will have the same speed via USB1, I do not know if bluetooth-USB-sticks work, too.
I would rather use the ethernet port 10/100Base-T, though.

Or you could gut it out completely and install PC-parts and a flat TFT in it
Cox Orange is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2011, 06:56 PM   #11
Lord Blackadder
macrumors G4
 
Lord Blackadder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sod off
That machine will run Diablo II, Myth: The Fallen Lords/Myth II: Soulblighter and Unreal Tournament like a champ. Buy these vintage classics on ebay and get gaming!

I actually got used to the hockey puck mouse, but just about nobody else did.
__________________
Oh, God, God, God! What on earth was I drinking last night? My head feels like there's a Frenchman living in it. - Edmund Blackadder
Lord Blackadder is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2011, 09:02 PM   #12
MacintoshMaster
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Britain
These are great for word processing!
MacintoshMaster is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2011, 10:22 PM   #13
InuNacho
macrumors 65816
 
InuNacho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: In that one place
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Blackadder View Post
That machine will run Diablo II, Myth: The Fallen Lords/Myth II: Soulblighter and Unreal Tournament like a champ. Buy these vintage classics on ebay and get gaming!

I actually got used to the hockey puck mouse, but just about nobody else did.
Yea, iMacs make perfect old computer gaming machines.
When Macintosh Garden isn't offline check them out, they got tons of older Mac games!
InuNacho is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2011, 07:32 AM   #14
max••
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: In OSX Snow Leopard / Godalming UK
If your willing to pull it apart you could do something like i did, the orig thread is here, unfortunately Macgarden is down atm

those imacs make pretty awesome classic gaming comps, i just took mine one step further
__________________
'08 MBP 2.4ghz 4gb ram Lion Snow Leo|iBook G3 500mhz 256mb ram Tiger|PowerMac G5 DP 2.5ghz 3gb ram Leo|B/W G3 350mhz 256mb ram MintPPC|Xserve G4 1Ghz DP 2Gb ram 2TB Hdd Leo Server|+ some more macs
max•• is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2011, 10:56 AM   #15
In-Correct
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: DFW, TX USA
Send a message via Yahoo to In-Correct
Talking am on one now:

hey guess what: I am on a imac g3 right now. with 9.2.2

1gb ram.
400mhz.

it can load Tiger...slowly.

I prefer native boot of 9.2.2

it does many things...but not F player. ...or 2nd gen and up...ipods.

browser = classilla.
also can get iText, aDock, and After Dark.
tons of apps and games...available at Macintosh Garden.
but EA Games took down Old School Sim City.

We must all unite against EA Games ...and their cats.
but Amiga's Cats are okay.
In-Correct is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2011, 11:02 AM   #16
MAC MAN JW
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Buffalo,Ny
Quote:
Originally Posted by In-Correct View Post
hey guess what: I am on a imac g3 right now. with 9.2.2

1gb ram.
400mhz.

it can load Tiger...slowly.

I prefer native boot of 9.2.2

it does many things...but not F player. ...or 2nd gen and up...ipods.

browser = classilla.
also can get iText, aDock, and After Dark.
tons of apps and games...available at Macintosh Garden.
but EA Games took down Old School Sim City.

We must all unite against EA Games ...and their cats.
but Amiga's Cats are okay.
I only have OS 9 on one of my g3 imacs but boy it is fast!!!
__________________
MacBook Pro 2010 i5 15in Mavericks (Waiting For It To Come In The Mail), PowerMac G5 Dual 2 GHz,4Gb Ram,1+TB storage Leopard,iPhone 4S Verizon
MAC MAN JW is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2011, 01:08 PM   #17
YanniDepp
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
The built-in speakers are great. iMac G3s make excellent jukeboxes.

They're fanless, so the only real noise in them is from the hard drives. Stick a new, quiet (but less than 127GB!) hard drive in one, and you've got a nice little jukebox.

I have two iMac G3s used like this: one in the living room, one in the bedroom. The one in the bedroom turns on every (weekday) morning at 7AM, opens VLC and starts playing a German radio station. It's a good way to wake up.
__________________
MacBook Pro (2012), 2.5 GHz Core i5, 16GB RAM
Mac Mini (2009), 2.0 GHz Core2Duo, 8GB RAM
iMac (2006), 2.0GHz Core Duo, 2GB RAM
iPhone 5 (16GB), iPod touch 5 (64GB), iPad 3 (16GB), iPod mini (16GB)
YanniDepp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2011, 02:12 PM   #18
MacHamster68
macrumors 68040
 
MacHamster68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
You can do exactly the same on the iMac G3 as you can on a brandnew iMac i7 , only real difference will be slower boottimes(ide ssd's help a lot to close that gap), older OS TIGER and OS9.2.2, older versions of the same app's
i own now 6 of them
even fitted superdrives inside3 of them the others only with dvd drives, so burning and watching dvd's are possible too
i fitted in 2 of them ide ssd's 64GB which even makes a huge improvement, the original drives i use for backup via firewire

but for me the most important thing is: its a real Mac with PPC processor not just a PC made by Apple and it shows APPLE could produce high quality in the past that lasts more then 10 years
__________________
DANGER POST MAY CONTAIN SARCASM
Intelligence does not need Intel inside,
All it needs is good sense outside.

Last edited by MacHamster68; Aug 30, 2011 at 02:18 PM.
MacHamster68 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2011, 02:18 PM   #19
Nameci
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
Quote:
but for me the most important thing is: its a real Mac with PPC processor not just a PC made by Apple
The best line I have ever read.
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2011, 02:24 PM   #20
zen.state
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom vilsack View Post
Thumb resize.
Posts like this are petty, childish and don't help the original poster at all. He didn't ask for some goofy joke or your limited view of PowerPC hardware.

To the OP:

I can't tell you how you should use a computer but it's easy to add wifi and bluetooth via cheap usb options out there.
zen.state is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2011, 05:26 PM   #21
In-Correct
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: DFW, TX USA
Send a message via Yahoo to In-Correct
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nameci View Post
The best line I have ever read.
I like it too.
In-Correct is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2011, 01:27 PM   #22
ranviper
macrumors 6502a
 
ranviper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Adirondacks, NY
Just did this today with my old broken emac! Salvaged the HDD and the RAM though.



But in all seriousness, I use my blueberry G3 for SC1, Diablo 2 and Nanosaur!
__________________
2010 MacBook Pro
ranviper is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2011, 03:22 PM   #23
joepunk
macrumors 68030
 
joepunk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: a profane existence
Send a message via AIM to joepunk
I still have a Strawberry Red iMac Rev. C 333MHz OS8.6 and I tend to use it for older games. I also let my young niece and nephews use it for their play typing and the usual Nanosaur game.
__________________
2010 15" MBP 2.4 i5 4gb/320gb/GT330-256MB 10.9.2
2004 15" PBG4 1.5ghz/128vram DYING, Replacement: 2005 15" PBG4 1.5ghz/64vram
iMac G3 333mhz/128mbRam/6gbHD

Flickr
joepunk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2011, 05:49 PM   #24
mrsir2009
macrumors 604
 
mrsir2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Problem is, these iMacs are CRTs, so it wouldn't be efficant to have them as a digital picture frame or something along those lines, as they can be quite loud, plus they'd drain a ton of electricity...

OS9 for games off Macintosh Garden would be a great use for it. Thats what I use my iBook G3 for

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by joepunk View Post
I still have a Strawberry Red iMac Rev. C 333MHz OS8.6 and I tend to use it for older games. I also let my young niece and nephews use it for their play typing and the usual Nanosaur game.
Oh yeah, those computers come loaded up with Nanasour, Bugdom and Cro-Mag-Rally don't they? I remember playing those when I was 8 or 9
mrsir2009 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2011, 01:07 AM   #25
MacHamster68
macrumors 68040
 
MacHamster68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrsir2009 View Post
Problem is, these iMacs are CRTs, so it wouldn't be efficant to have them as a digital picture frame or something along those lines, as they can be quite loud, plus they'd drain a ton of electricity...

OS9 for games off Macintosh Garden would be a great use for it. Thats what I use my iBook G3 for

----------



Oh yeah, those computers come loaded up with Nanasour, Bugdom and Cro-Mag-Rally don't they? I remember playing those when I was 8 or 9
if its a slot loading iMac G3 it will emit less noise with quiet harddrive fitted , in one of mine a i have a ssd inside and it is absolute silent .
A tray loader of course because those have a fan inside will be about as loud as a current iMac 21" or 27".


For draining electricity ...around the figures of a normal lightbulb 60-100watt and the iMac G3 is somewhere in between around 85-90 watt average a bit more if you rip a dvd and a bit less if its just looking up some website with flash content disabled and near no graphical content (e.g.pictures), for example looking up the MacRumors forum
__________________
DANGER POST MAY CONTAIN SARCASM
Intelligence does not need Intel inside,
All it needs is good sense outside.

Last edited by MacHamster68; Oct 14, 2011 at 01:44 AM.
MacHamster68 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new iMac - storage options? roland.g iMac 3 Oct 11, 2013 08:25 AM
New iMac clone options. skasol iMac 2 Apr 28, 2013 10:09 AM
Best options for new 21.5 iMac Wonderinwhat iMac 13 Dec 7, 2012 05:27 PM
iMac prices on options? crows iMac 2 Nov 26, 2012 05:03 PM
iMac G3 options walterwashere PowerPC Macs 13 Nov 11, 2012 02:32 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps