Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 20, 2011, 06:57 PM   #1
AnonMac50
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Display problem with Power Mac

Hi, I have a Power Mac 9600, I want to connect an LCD display to. I have gotten a cable (VGA to DB-15) and it connects. However, I can't use my Phillips display or Samsung display unless I boot with my Multi Scan 15 plugged in, them switch to one of the other displays. They Multi Scan can get a res of 1024x768 on OS 9 (9.1 and 9.2.2 tested), but 832x624 on my Quadra and on OS X on the same computer (OS X DP4, OS X DP3, OS X Server 1.2v3 tested). Both my Phillips and Samsung give me that resolution (832x624), while both support up to 1024x768. My Dell display seemed to be fine, but I only tested that once, and it was stretched (the Graphics card doesn't support Widescreen it seems). Anyway, with my Phillips or Samsung, if I restart after it booted and thinks it's using a Multi Scan 15, the displays either say no video input or unsupported video mode. I don't know what to do. I don't want to use the Multi Scan 15, but it seems I have no choice.

AnonMac50
__________________
[Tutorial] Three Finger Drag on Non-supported Multitouch Macs (MAJOR UPDATES!!! (8/7/2013))
Front Row for Lion
Now I know why the maps icon wants you to jump off of a bridge!
AnonMac50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 20, 2011, 07:29 PM   #2
AnonMac50
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
UPDATE:
I booted it with the Phillips connected and then switched to the Dell. Apparently it sees the Phillips as a Two Page Display, and doesn't let me get any res other than 1152x870. This isn't good. I will try the Samsung next.

UPDATE 2:
Same with the Samsung display. Now what?
__________________
[Tutorial] Three Finger Drag on Non-supported Multitouch Macs (MAJOR UPDATES!!! (8/7/2013))
Front Row for Lion
Now I know why the maps icon wants you to jump off of a bridge!

Last edited by AnonMac50; Aug 20, 2011 at 07:38 PM.
AnonMac50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2011, 04:51 AM   #3
yamu
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
I remember using "MultiResolutions" control panel strip for using unsupported resultions. It was freeware and you should find it with a search for "MultiResolutions control panel" pretty easy ....

It doesen`t work with an unsupported videocard (e.g. GeForce fx 5200) only unsupported displays if the card is supported by OS.
yamu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2011, 09:25 AM   #4
AnonMac50
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by yamu View Post
I remember using "MultiResolutions" control panel strip for using unsupported resultions. It was freeware and you should find it with a search for "MultiResolutions control panel" pretty easy ....

It doesen`t work with an unsupported videocard (e.g. GeForce fx 5200) only unsupported displays if the card is supported by OS.
I can't find it except on cnet and that loads me onto a broken page.
__________________
[Tutorial] Three Finger Drag on Non-supported Multitouch Macs (MAJOR UPDATES!!! (8/7/2013))
Front Row for Lion
Now I know why the maps icon wants you to jump off of a bridge!
AnonMac50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2011, 09:33 AM   #5
yamu
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
http://www.falconfly.de/tools.htm

Old 3 dfx tools page
under mac os tools at the bottom
yamu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2011, 12:23 PM   #6
AnonMac50
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Thanks, I'll try it as soon as I install another 2 drives in my Power Mac (I already have 2 in there, it's getting cramped).

AnonMac50
__________________
[Tutorial] Three Finger Drag on Non-supported Multitouch Macs (MAJOR UPDATES!!! (8/7/2013))
Front Row for Lion
Now I know why the maps icon wants you to jump off of a bridge!
AnonMac50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2011, 12:50 PM   #7
AnonMac50
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Thanks, but that sort of worked, a bit. Oh well.
__________________
[Tutorial] Three Finger Drag on Non-supported Multitouch Macs (MAJOR UPDATES!!! (8/7/2013))
Front Row for Lion
Now I know why the maps icon wants you to jump off of a bridge!
AnonMac50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2011, 07:00 PM   #8
ThunderSnake
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
There was something that you could do to get more display options without any third party extensions. I forget. Maybe hold down the option key while selecting the monitors control panel? I'm almost certain that it had something to do with the option key (while using the control panel).
ThunderSnake is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2011, 11:00 AM   #9
AnonMac50
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThunderSnake View Post
There was something that you could do to get more display options without any third party extensions. I forget. Maybe hold down the option key while selecting the monitors control panel? I'm almost certain that it had something to do with the option key (while using the control panel).
Thanks, but I have literarily no time these days for anything (not even on weekends). I will try as soon as I get a break.
__________________
[Tutorial] Three Finger Drag on Non-supported Multitouch Macs (MAJOR UPDATES!!! (8/7/2013))
Front Row for Lion
Now I know why the maps icon wants you to jump off of a bridge!
AnonMac50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Poll: Does your iPad2 have Display problems? Amazing Iceman iPad 32 Jun 13, 2011 05:54 PM
Power Up Problems with Power Mac G5 mrdarklight PowerPC Macs 4 May 24, 2011 12:55 AM
Power Mac G5 Support bryantsiphone PowerPC Macs 17 Dec 26, 2010 07:20 PM
Problem with Power Mac G4 CD/DVD Drive casilemental PowerPC Macs 0 Aug 9, 2008 01:24 PM
Guess there is a problem with Power Mac noise Le Big Mac Macintosh Computers 7 Feb 21, 2003 08:28 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC