Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 22, 2011, 02:21 PM   #1
William.Mantle
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Recommendations for DVD ripper with Lion

Hi everybody.

I am a long time reader and first time poster!

I can normally find the answers to my questions by using the sites search tools but had a bit of trouble with this one.

Basically Ive bought a new 2011 MacBook Air which came pre loaded with Lion.

I'm incredibly happy with Lion and find it a pleasure to use. Thus changing back to SL is not an option for me.

I travel a lot and love to have my own personal dvds saved onto my laptop - especially for long haul flights.

I want to be able to save all my favourite dvds onto my new air so obviously I need a ripping tool. However, now I have Lion it appears a lot of ripping tools don't work with it yet. Can anyone recommend the best dvd ripping tool for Lion? I don't mind paying something for it.

Also, just to make it clear this is for my own personal collection of dvds that I have paid for in full (mostly the Office - absolutely love this show and always good for passing travelling hours) and I will not be using it to do download pirated internet movies, etc.

Finally, although the Apple superdrive counterpart to the air is very well priced and visually attractive I'm wondering if I can use a none apple external drive - I would rather purchase something a bit more impact resistant for when I do take this with me (camping, biking, etc). Will a none apple external CD/dvd drive work and can anyone recommend anything here?

Thanks to all that take the time to read this thread and maybe even add to it.

William
William.Mantle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2011, 03:43 PM   #2
dubAdub
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Bray, Ireland
Have you tried HandBrake?
dubAdub is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2011, 03:49 PM   #3
theIlluminati
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
dvd rip

yep, Handbrake all the way wouldn't go with out it!
theIlluminati is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2011, 04:37 PM   #4
William.Mantle
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
thanks all
William.Mantle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2011, 06:04 PM   #5
thatdrewguy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
I have two external dvd drives that I can use with the Air. The Plextor requires two USB cables for it to work with the air, one USB for power. I have a Lenovo external that works just fine with the Air using a single USB cable.
thatdrewguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2011, 06:08 PM   #6
Sounds Good
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
I highly recommend Slysoft's DVD backup products -- but it's Windows only, so you'd need Bootcamp or Parallels or a Windows machine.
Sounds Good is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2011, 06:19 PM   #7
AppleTech22
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: US
I've tried to use different DVD rippers, but like others have said handbrake is the best. It just works, the others have all these presets and they're a mess. Plus not a penny out of pocket.
__________________
13" 2011 MacBook Air, 1.7GHz i5,4GB RAM, 256GB SSD
iPad 2 Wi-Fi White 32GB
iPhone 4S Black 16GB
120GB PS3
AppleTech22 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2011, 06:41 PM   #8
Hey Jude
macrumors 6502a
 
Hey Jude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Florida
Another vote for Handbrake --- still works great with Lion.
Hey Jude is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2011, 12:32 PM   #9
William.Mantle
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Hi Guys

I bought a Samsung SE-S084D portable drive from Amazon for 30 with delivery.

Been using handbrake like you suggested the last few hours and it's absolutely amazing!

My new air has become the ultimate media machine.

Thanks again for all your help with this.
William.Mantle is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2011, 12:43 PM   #10
AlecEdworthy
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Loughborough, Leicestershire, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by William.Mantle View Post
I bought a Samsung SE-S084D portable drive from Amazon for 30 with delivery.
Quick question... Does it use one or two USB sockets to make it work? I know quite a few external drives end up needing two USB sockets to power them properly (one for power plus data, one for extra power) but I wasn't sure if the Samsung SE-S084D was one of the few which don't.

Thanks, Alec
__________________
I support the MacRumors Blood Drive!
B+ donors get out there and donate now!
AlecEdworthy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2011, 01:31 PM   #11
William.Mantle
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlecEdworthy View Post
Quick question... Does it use one or two USB sockets to make it work? I know quite a few external drives end up needing two USB sockets to power them properly (one for power plus data, one for extra power) but I wasn't sure if the Samsung SE-S084D was one of the few which don't.

Thanks, Alec
It comes with a chord that has a main usb and secondary usb - it works absolutely great with just the main plugged in... It works on my 11" air perfectly.

Reading the instructions the second would make burning faster or allow input from a 2nd computer... but as I've learnt it works like a dream with just the 1 main usb.

Get one bro - I've been hugely impressed!
William.Mantle is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2011, 02:04 PM   #12
iperson21
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
+1 for handbrake,
just to let you know, one feature of handbrake that i feel like many people go without noticing is its size output.
you can choose around the size of the output, so if you want more movies to fit on a relatively small ssd of the MBA, you can do so.
iperson21 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 10, 2011, 02:41 PM   #13
xraydoc
macrumors Demi-God
 
xraydoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 192.168.1.1
RipIt and Handbrake.
__________________
3.5GHz i7 27" iMac Surface Pro 3 i5 2.5GHz i5 Mac mini + 27" Thunderbolt display iPhone 6 Plus
xraydoc is offline   10 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2011, 09:41 AM   #14
IrieItes
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Hi, I'm also juggling with this issue since I have my new laptop (with Lion). For number of years I've used Mac The Ripper. Now I have Tried three different rippers: HandBrake, RipIt and Mac DVDRipper Pro. I'm not fully shure If I love the interface/look of HandBrake but as everyone seems to be going for this one, I will try to get use to it.

My question: how about quality of rip? I noticed that both RIP IT and MAC DVD RIPPER PRO convert the files in "dvdmedia" format that weight 7.78 GB for a specific film, when I use HandBrake, the default setting convert it in a "m4v" format that weight 621 MG. I would asume that the quality is much better with the "dvdmedia" extension. But I also noticed that once I drag the mv4 format of 621 MG in Toast 11, the burn file weight is expected to be 4.19 GB (so there is a conversion (my comprehension is expending datas that have been compressed). Any comments/suggestion in order to get the best quality possible?

By the way: In Toast 11, you can drag a "dvdmedia" format to burn it, which wasn't working in Toast 9.
IrieItes is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2011, 10:03 AM   #15
convergent
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Raleigh, NC
I use RipIt.
__________________
13" MacBook Air (Mid 2011) - 1.8Ghz, 4G RAM, 250G SSD, w/ 27" TB Display, Bluetooth Keyboard, Magic Trackpad
iPad Mini - 16G, Wifi, Black, iPhone 4s - 32G, Black
Apple TV 2 w/Firecore
convergent is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2011, 09:17 AM   #16
cowensatuic
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
I too just bought an apple mac pro with lion os. I downloaded handbreak to convert my DVDs to my harddrive and the conversion is pixelated/blocked. Can anyone help.
cowensatuic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2011, 08:42 AM   #17
ragu
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by cowensatuic View Post
I too just bought an apple mac pro with lion os. I downloaded handbreak to convert my DVDs to my harddrive and the conversion is pixelated/blocked. Can anyone help.
What are you converting to ? I use regular high profile for my apple tv and it's perfect why not try that setting let me know how you make out?
ragu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2011, 09:38 PM   #18
johnsu
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
I personnally think the best mac lion dvd ripper is currently DVD Ripper for mac v2.0.3. It handles a lot of DVDs others won't and it can recover scratched DVDs that no other software will dare to try. Free trial if you want to give it a go!

Last edited by johnsu; Jul 30, 2013 at 01:21 AM.
johnsu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2011, 05:39 AM   #19
alex39
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
RipIt does not detect the volume, when I convert DVD movie to an MP4 for my ipad
alex39 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2011, 05:45 AM   #20
johnhurley
macrumors 6502a
 
johnhurley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sounds Good View Post
I highly recommend Slysoft's DVD backup products -- but it's Windows only, so you'd need Bootcamp or Parallels or a Windows machine.
Second that and on my mba win 7 partition. The combination of slysoft and anydvd give you a lot of flexibility.

Under Lion it is VLC and Handbrake combination ...
johnhurley is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 18, 2011, 10:34 AM   #21
wrkactjob
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: London
Whats the best way to make an MBA play any region DVD? I have a mix of American Asian and European discs.

Can you just plug in an external multi regional drive or is it all to do with the software on the laptop itself?
wrkactjob is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2011, 04:45 AM   #22
alex39
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
wrkactjob, Do you mean Handbrake? you can plug in an external multi regional drive directly.
alex39 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 25, 2011, 07:48 AM   #23
Roman2K~
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
+1 for HandBrake.

The definition of what software should be. All clean, multi-platform, nothing fancy, open-source. Works perfectly for me, every single time. And it's well architected. Among other things, all the GUI does is build a command line to eventually call the CLI version of HandBrake.

This means, should need / want it in the future, you can fully automate encodes by calling the CLI version from a script (or even an alternative GUI). See <somewhere>/HandBrakeCLI --help.
__________________
rMBP (late 2013): 15", i7 2.0 GHz, 16 GB, 256 GB | iMac (late 2013): 21.5", i5 2.7 GHz, 8 GB, 1 TB FD
Roman2K~ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2011, 09:53 AM   #24
Weaselboy
macrumors G5
 
Weaselboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by pearl151214 View Post
but does HandBrake work on Lion?
yes
Weaselboy is online now   1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2011, 09:58 AM   #25
Dornblaser
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Chicago-area
I also had problems with the latest version Handbrake with Lion. I ended up downloading an older version of Handbrake which works OK with Lion although I have 3 DVDs from a mini-series that I can't rip.
Dornblaser is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Air

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DVD Audio Ripper JamesOK Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Sep 12, 2012 09:18 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC