Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Jewstin

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 25, 2011
There is someone on craigslist selling a Brand New Sealed in Box iPhone 4 for $450. I called her and she told me that she works at Bell and she won it in an employee contest, thus she has no receipt. For me, this drew suspicions, how could I tell if it was stolen or not. I heard that if it is stolen there would be no warranty... Also I heard that she can take it back or disable it since she has the serial number...

Can anyone help me out, what precautions should I take. This is my first time buying from craigslist and I am very unfamiliar with the process.

Thank you!

Gav2k

macrumors G3
Jul 24, 2009
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

Ask for the serial number and run it through apple

Hankster

macrumors 68020
Jan 30, 2008
Washington DC
Ask her for proof that she works for Bell (I'm assuming you actually mean ATT). She should have an ID card or at the very least an email at att.com.

But, if you're not comfortable. I deal with Craigslist all the time and it is very shady. You have to be extra careful when you're the buyer.

heisenberg123

macrumors 603
Oct 31, 2010
Hamilton, Ontario
Ask her for proof that she works for Bell (I'm assuming you actually mean ATT). She should have an ID card or at the very least an email at att.com.

But, if you're not comfortable. I deal with Craigslist all the time and it is very shady. You have to be extra careful when you're the buyer.

why do you think Bell means ATT?

Jewstin

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 25, 2011
So is it true that if she has the serial number she can take it back and also if it is stolen there will be no warranty?

drummingcraig

macrumors 6502a
Sep 19, 2007
"Armpit of the South"
A Couple Of Thoughts...