Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 26, 2011, 01:09 PM   #1
hishat
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United Kingdom
Tricking the OS into thinking its connected via firewire??

Hi i have a ipod 3rd generation, i would like to restore....However the only way to restore according to itunes is via firewire? is there a way around this??

Any response will be appreciated

Regards.
__________________
New Alu Macbook Pro, 2.4GHZ, 250GB HD, 2GB DDR3 RAM, 256MB Nvidia..and an iphone 16gb 3g!
hishat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2011, 01:14 PM   #2
killerrobot
macrumors 68020
 
killerrobot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: 127.0.0.1
Try going through these steps:

http://www.apple.com/support/ipod/five_rs/wheel/
__________________
Another day older and deeper in debt.
killerrobot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2011, 01:23 PM   #3
hishat
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: United Kingdom
its the 3rd GEN. with the 4 buttons at the top, i tried the steps and it didnt work unfortunately.

any other suggestions??
__________________
New Alu Macbook Pro, 2.4GHZ, 250GB HD, 2GB DDR3 RAM, 256MB Nvidia..and an iphone 16gb 3g!
hishat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 26, 2011, 01:48 PM   #4
killerrobot
macrumors 68020
 
killerrobot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: 127.0.0.1
I couldn't find the page from apple for the 3rd gen.
Usually just holding the menu and play button together for 5-10 seconds does a factory restore.
From what I've read online, the 3rd gen should only sync to iTunes using a USB cable. Is there a way to try that?

EDIT: Found the original user manual. It says to toggle the hold switch before holding the menu and play button. http://manuals.info.apple.com/en_US/...rUserGuide.PDF
__________________
Another day older and deeper in debt.

Last edited by killerrobot; Aug 26, 2011 at 01:57 PM.
killerrobot is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2011, 01:23 PM   #5
himselforama
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
i experienced the same problem and solved it that way:

1. connect the ipod to your itunes by usb.
2. deselect "enable use as harddrive"
3. restore using usb without getting told otherwise.

cheers.
himselforama is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2011, 02:36 PM   #6
Darth.Titan
macrumors 68020
 
Darth.Titan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by killerrobot View Post
I couldn't find the page from apple for the 3rd gen.
Usually just holding the menu and play button together for 5-10 seconds does a factory restore.
From what I've read online, the 3rd gen should only sync to iTunes using a USB cable. Is there a way to try that?

EDIT: Found the original user manual. It says to toggle the hold switch before holding the menu and play button. http://manuals.info.apple.com/en_US/...rUserGuide.PDF
Umm... no. That in no way does a factory restore. What you're describing basically does a forced reboot, or a Reset.
Darth.Titan is offline   1 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would a HD connected via FireWire be as fast as a direct SATA connection? Qwerty11 Mac Peripherals 5 Nov 13, 2013 06:30 PM
iPad: Tricking my ipad pooleman Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 15 May 12, 2013 04:39 PM
Tricking iCloud. tyherring iCloud and Apple Services 12 Mar 4, 2013 03:18 PM
Questions about Tricking-out Laptops doubledee Mac Basics and Help 1 Feb 22, 2013 11:12 AM
Network settings says ethernet connected is connected but no internet ri-qui Mac Basics and Help 2 Sep 21, 2012 09:30 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:58 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC