Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 24, 2005, 09:07 AM   #1
Aero4
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Quark 6 (upgrade on v. 5) on Mac G5

Does anyone know if I can do this.. I have Quark 5 with an upgrade disc for version 6 (that hasn't ever been installed)and I want to get rid of my PowerMac G4 and get a newer G5/laptop. Apparently the latest systems don't have OS9 so I guess I can't install the Quark v. 5 and then put the v. 6 'on top' - or can I???
Help appreciated.
Aero4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2005, 09:18 AM   #2
wordmunger
macrumors 603
 
wordmunger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: North Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aero4
Does anyone know if I can do this.. I have Quark 5 with an upgrade disc for version 6 (that hasn't ever been installed)and I want to get rid of my PowerMac G4 and get a newer G5/laptop. Apparently the latest systems don't have OS9 so I guess I can't install the Quark v. 5 and then put the v. 6 'on top' - or can I???
Help appreciated.

It used to be that you could install a new version of Quark and then just put in the old disk to verify that you owned it. I don't know if this is true anymore, though.

edit: do you have mac os X on your current computer? You could try moving quark to a non-public directory, then logging in as a different user and trying to install Quark 6.

Last edited by wordmunger; Apr 24, 2005 at 09:20 AM.
wordmunger is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2005, 10:53 AM   #3
Blue Velvet
Moderator emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
If I remember correctly, the installation of Quark 6 only required a legitimate serial of Quark 5.

*Goes and digs out the disk*

On your upgrade sheet that came with the disk, there should be the Quark 5 (old) serial, a validation code and a new serial. You will need these 3 codes.

However, after installation you will also need to activate it by either telephoning Quark or by doing it online. Without activation, the program will cease saving, printing, collecting for output, and creating PDFs within days. Activation can only be done for 2 computers with one version of Xpress.

Important: The installer of Quark 6 will mess with the permissions of the entire directory it is installed into. Best to create a new folder on the desktop, label it Quark 6, install into there and then move the installation into Applications when it's done.
Blue Velvet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2005, 11:34 AM   #4
RAS admin
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Berkshires, Mass.
you will also need to upgrade to 6.1 to run in Panther (10.3).
__________________
www.SolarSystemStudio.com
17" MacBook Pro 2.3GHz, 30" Cinema Display, iPhone 4 S⃣ , iPod Nano 6G
RAS admin is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading to Snow Leopard 10.6+ from 10.5.8 on Mac Pro 2008, any issues? sparkie7 Mac Pro 14 Sep 11, 2011 11:18 PM
Power Mac G5 sleep and video issue Jethryn Freyman PowerPC Macs 1 Aug 7, 2011 04:47 PM
Quark 6.52 on Intel Mac : pdf problem micksharp Design and Graphics 5 Mar 28, 2009 04:26 PM
Run ie 5.5 6 & 7 on xp for use on Mac Cromas Mac Pro 17 Jun 27, 2008 04:21 PM
QUARK 6 BUGS ON G5 mikebatho Mac Applications and Mac App Store 4 Mar 4, 2005 08:58 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC