Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 24, 2005, 09:07 AM   #1
Aero4
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Quark 6 (upgrade on v. 5) on Mac G5

Does anyone know if I can do this.. I have Quark 5 with an upgrade disc for version 6 (that hasn't ever been installed)and I want to get rid of my PowerMac G4 and get a newer G5/laptop. Apparently the latest systems don't have OS9 so I guess I can't install the Quark v. 5 and then put the v. 6 'on top' - or can I???
Help appreciated.
Aero4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2005, 09:18 AM   #2
wordmunger
macrumors 603
 
wordmunger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: North Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aero4
Does anyone know if I can do this.. I have Quark 5 with an upgrade disc for version 6 (that hasn't ever been installed)and I want to get rid of my PowerMac G4 and get a newer G5/laptop. Apparently the latest systems don't have OS9 so I guess I can't install the Quark v. 5 and then put the v. 6 'on top' - or can I???
Help appreciated.

It used to be that you could install a new version of Quark and then just put in the old disk to verify that you owned it. I don't know if this is true anymore, though.

edit: do you have mac os X on your current computer? You could try moving quark to a non-public directory, then logging in as a different user and trying to install Quark 6.

Last edited by wordmunger; Apr 24, 2005 at 09:20 AM.
wordmunger is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2005, 10:53 AM   #3
Blue Velvet
Moderator emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
If I remember correctly, the installation of Quark 6 only required a legitimate serial of Quark 5.

*Goes and digs out the disk*

On your upgrade sheet that came with the disk, there should be the Quark 5 (old) serial, a validation code and a new serial. You will need these 3 codes.

However, after installation you will also need to activate it by either telephoning Quark or by doing it online. Without activation, the program will cease saving, printing, collecting for output, and creating PDFs within days. Activation can only be done for 2 computers with one version of Xpress.

Important: The installer of Quark 6 will mess with the permissions of the entire directory it is installed into. Best to create a new folder on the desktop, label it Quark 6, install into there and then move the installation into Applications when it's done.
Blue Velvet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 24, 2005, 11:34 AM   #4
RAS admin
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Berkshires, Mass.
you will also need to upgrade to 6.1 to run in Panther (10.3).
__________________
www.SolarSystemStudio.com
17" MacBook Pro 2.3GHz, 30" Cinema Display, iPhone 4 S⃣ , iPod Nano 6G
RAS admin is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Design and Graphics

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need Advice: InDesign to Quark visvaldis Design and Graphics 4 May 29, 2014 09:26 AM
Dumb question: Help installing Quark from a CD? VA24 iMac 3 Jan 2, 2014 09:43 PM
Quark 10 - Installation help AppleMark Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Dec 10, 2013 01:40 PM
Which O/S upgrade is preferable for an upgrade Mac Mini solo Abdulhaq Mac mini 4 Jul 1, 2013 10:29 PM
[UPGRADE] Base 2012 Mac Mini SSD and Memory Upgrade That-Guy Mac mini 43 Apr 14, 2013 09:52 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC