Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

kirkhartstudios

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 26, 2011
Hi all, I'm a student in college and I've had my Macbook Pro since 2006. It currently is at version 10.5.8 and I've got a wonderful work flow going with Spaces when I edit videos, DeeJay events, design websites, etc. The computer is still going VERY strong so I have no other reason to buy a new one except for the fact that video rendering is getting quit slow and my computer cannot handle the 1080p HD video files I work with.

At my nearby college Apple store I can buy a brand new MacBook Pro 2.2 GHz/i7/4GB Ram/750GB hard drive/Glossy Screen with Snow Leopard at 10.6.8. They have not yet received new laptops with lion preinstalled. So this is my last chance to get a computer without lion and preserve my workflow. Should I go for it?

I've used Lion. It's great. I hate mission control though. And some of my programs are not ready for it yet. I'm also not sure on Adobe Creative Suite CS5. Thing is, I know a better MBP is coming out next year. So I don't know if this is a waste of my time and money when I could wait and get a newer, faster computer (gasp maybe without a DVD drive). Suggestions? Remember, this will be my computer for the next 4 years. Thanks!

drewsof07

macrumors 68020
Oct 30, 2006
Ohio
For me, the deciding factor would be how much video work you are doing. If it is costing you $$ and you *need* it, justify the cost and buy it. If it's just not as fast as you would *want* I would wait for the revision.

kirkhartstudios

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 26, 2011
If it is costing you $$ and you *need* it, justify the cost and buy it. If it's just not as fast as you would *want* I would wait for the revision.