Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jc0481

macrumors regular
Original poster
Mar 16, 2005
Hello all,
I am 30 years old working a low paying warehouse job, going to school online. Bachelor's in I.T by the way. My wife is 7 months pregnant and just got demoted from her job. Long story by the way. Owners are bitches. Really they are. She will be looking for a good job after she is ready to work. She will work two more months then be on maternity leave.

I have called a few computer shops then they just tell me to apply. Not much help there.I even contacted via email the president of the computer shop here in town. I am also studying for my A+ certification test which I plan on doing in three to four months from now. Never worked for a computer place but always helped family and friends with computer questions or problems.
I was thinking of doing a Craigslist ad for computer services. Making some extra money that way. You know it's worth a shot. I would like my wife to stay home with our newborn but not sure if I can find a good paying job that will let us do that.

I don't want to do warehouse jobs but I have to bring money in I will. I just want a good paying job that is preferably computer related so my wife can stay home with our son in the future. Maybe I can get a weekend job. So I have a lot on my plate. So just seeking some good advice. By the way I am a fast typist average around 75 w.p.m. Maybe that will help with something.

So what would you do in my situation?

snberk103

macrumors 603
Oct 22, 2007
An Island in the Salish Sea
Work the oil rigs in Alberta. Means time away from home, and bunking in with some fellow roughnecks. But if you send your pay checks home, stay away from the poker games and the booze, you'll make really good money and have cushion use to get established in the computer biz.

fireshot91

macrumors 601
Jul 31, 2008
Northern VA