Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 26, 2005, 09:52 AM   #1
Caramel
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Send a message via AIM to Caramel
Ipod Randomly Pauses

My 'fairly' new iPOd 4g randomly pauses in the middle of songs. .. . I'll be walking to class and i'll have it in my pocked (yes its locked don't even think i'm that dumb) and it will pause. So i unlock it and hit play, lock it and put it back in my pocket. *PAUSE* so then i 'restart' it, and its fine, and then a few days later it will act up again. I've also noticed that it does it when its uplocked and sitting on the desk and i pick it up, and it pauses...

does anyone else have this problem or is my iPod taken on a mind of its own?
Caramel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2005, 10:13 AM   #2
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
I've got a 4G too.

I get the same problem sometimes when I take it running. It freezes on a song for up to about ten minutes and it usually needs a restart. I don't think it likes getting knocked around. More specifically, it has a buffer and it writes to this buffer when it can (it knows the songs you'll be listening to for the next x minutes) but if you go and surprise it by selecting a song that wasn't on the buffer while the hard drive is getting jerked around, it'll almost always screw up.

Another thing to watch for is if the headphones jump out, it'll automatically pause itself.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2005, 10:26 AM   #3
efoto
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cloud 9 (-6)
Send a message via AIM to efoto
I too have a 4g 30Gb iPod Photo and it has done the same on a few occasions. I had it hooked up to a stereo and had it set on the tv between the two main floor speakers. After perhaps 15 minutes of playing it randomly paused. I went over, saw nothing wrong, checked the cable (still seated) and hit play. A few minutes later, perhaps only 2 or 3, the same pause.

I felt the top of the tv and since the floor speakers were blarring and the tv between them, there was quite a vibration at the top of the tele which I assume ran out the buffer and caused it to pause. Perhaps my assumption is wrong, but that is what I blame the pause on.
__________________
Vino of life.
Regardless the quantity, strength, or validity of your efforts, they are always in vain.
efoto is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2005, 10:28 AM   #4
mad jew
Moderator emeritus
 
mad jew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Adelaide, Australia
efoto, unless you listen to incredibly loud and bouncy music I really don't think sitting it on a table should crash it. Maybe take it into your local Apple store and get them to check it out, you might get a replacement out of this.
__________________
Some things are better mad...
mad jew is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2005, 11:09 AM   #5
efoto
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cloud 9 (-6)
Send a message via AIM to efoto
Quote:
Originally Posted by mad jew
efoto, unless you listen to incredibly loud and bouncy music I really don't think sitting it on a table should crash it. Maybe take it into your local Apple store and get them to check it out, you might get a replacement out of this.
Well thankfully that usually does not happen. We were moving out of our apartment and since we were each in our rooms, and the big stereo was in the living quarters, the music was extremely loud. I have had it atop a tv and even a speaker at home and it is fine.

I think that the occasion when moving out of the apartment was a special one *knock on wood*. If it happens again atop a desk or table where it just randomly happens and its not the headphone cable, I will definitely bring it in.
__________________
Vino of life.
Regardless the quantity, strength, or validity of your efforts, they are always in vain.
efoto is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2005, 11:12 AM   #6
gdogg16
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
My 4g IPOD does the same thing. When you pull the plug out of the head phone jack, it pauses the IPOD. My thought is that this is wearing out and causing the IPOD to pause randomly. It drives me friggin nuts. Does anyone know if there is a way to disable this feature?
gdogg16 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2005, 12:08 PM   #7
emw
macrumors 603
 
emw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Wow, I had the same problem on the plane back from Raleigh on Friday. All of a sudden, my iPod was pausing randomly on a couple of songs. At first, I thought it was the headphones being lose, but I jiggled and nothing paused. So I then assumed a problem with the song file or something, but it happened on more than one song. A bug?
__________________
Think. Then post.
emw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2005, 12:52 PM   #8
Warbrain
macrumors 603
 
Warbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by gdogg16
My 4g IPOD does the same thing. When you pull the plug out of the head phone jack, it pauses the IPOD. My thought is that this is wearing out and causing the IPOD to pause randomly. It drives me friggin nuts. Does anyone know if there is a way to disable this feature?
There's no way to disable the feature.
__________________
WARBRAIN
Twitter | Blog
Warbrain is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2005, 12:53 PM   #9
Warbrain
macrumors 603
 
Warbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Chicago, IL
This is definitely a bug. I remember the same bug existing in my 3G iPod back when I originally bought it, but since then with the few updates that have happened, all is well and it doesn't pause randomly. If enough people complain or demand a replacement iPod because of the bug, Apple will fix it.

Or it could be a bug in the latest iPod update, which is a good possibility, and if it bugs you enough, you should revert back to the last update and ditch the new one.
__________________
WARBRAIN
Twitter | Blog
Warbrain is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2005, 02:41 PM   #10
bankshot
macrumors 65816
 
bankshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Southern California
Hmm, I guess I have the opposite problem. The headphone detect function on my 60G photo has worked exactly once that I know of. Now it thinks the headphones are always in, so it never pauses when I take them out. Running the diagnostic mode with nothing in the jack gives a result that it thinks something's connected. I suppose one of these days I'll take it to the Apple Store to see about getting it fixed, as it's a totally demonstrable defect...

Just as long as fixing it doesn't cause this pause problem to crop up!
bankshot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2005, 05:26 PM   #11
cleanup
macrumors 68030
 
cleanup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Toronto
This is a common problem if your headphone jack for your earbuds/headphones/earphones is gold plated. If it's silver, you shouldn't be having problems. Gold jacks can have contact problems.

A crude but effective fix is to poke the headphone jack through a film of plastic or tape, so that the extruding plug is through the tape, but the ring around the plug is behind the tape and does not come in contact with the iPod's headphone jack.
cleanup is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2005, 07:31 PM   #12
Loge
macrumors 68000
 
Loge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: England
Some headphone jacks don't fit the iPod too well, and sometimes the iPod thinks the headphones have been removed when they haven't. There is a workaround if you have the sport case for the iPod shuffle. This comes with a 4 inch extension lead which does provide a close fit for the iPod. Using that between the iPod and the headphones can often fix this problem.

However I do wish they'd make this pause on removal feature optional; I find it is more trouble than it's worth.
Loge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2005, 05:08 PM   #13
Astral Cars
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: St. Paul
My iPod is doing this too. But not with the apple earbuds, only with some headphones I just bought. The weird part is if I wiggle the cord a bit it pauses like it thinks they were disconnected or something but if I pull the cord halfway out it doesn't pause, so it's not like it's just right on the threshold between connected and not. So is this a problem with the headphone? Any ideas? (The iPod is a 30GB Photo and the headphones are Maxell HP/NC-II)
Astral Cars is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2005, 06:26 PM   #14
tommy.hanks
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tampa, FL
Send a message via AIM to tommy.hanks Send a message via MSN to tommy.hanks Send a message via Yahoo to tommy.hanks
Had the same exact problem in my car. I have an Aux Input into my stereo that plugs into my ipod. I WAS using a RadioShack cable to do this. I changed it out for a belkin cable and everything is peachy again.
__________________
www.TheNewHead.net
tommy.hanks is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2005, 03:22 AM   #15
Astral Cars
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: St. Paul
Does anyone have any ideas my my iPod (30GB Photo) would pause like the headphones are disconnected when the cord is wiggled? It doesn't pause when I'm pulling it out until it's pretty mucht he whole way out, so it doesn't seem like a loose connection. Also it's not with my apple earbuds it's with a some other headphones. Any ideas? It's quite bothersome.
Astral Cars is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2005, 04:14 PM   #16
angelove
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Astral Cars-
I am having the same problem with my ipod mini when using my sennheiser earphones. While using it, it suddenly pauses.It also pauses when I wiggle the cord but the ipod does not pause when I remove the cord. I find this really disturbing also. Any ideas?
angelove is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2005, 07:36 PM   #17
RandomDeadHead
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: fennario
That happens to my 3g about twice a week.
RandomDeadHead is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2005, 07:53 PM   #18
Astral Cars
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: St. Paul
I'm planning on returning my headphones, but what I'm not sure about is whether I'm going to have to same problem if I buy the same kind again. Is it specifically this pair causing the problem or would it be any of this kind? I'm rather sure it's not the iPod because it doesn't do it with the apple headphones.
Astral Cars is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2005, 12:59 PM   #19
conditionals
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Australia
I have a 6GB ipod and my beloved Sennheiser PX200s, and the pausing problems happens to me at least 8 times an album.

It's horrible. The auto-pause is the worst feature EVER invented in the history of mankind. And that includes SPAMwich and the crazy frog ringtone.

I wonder if the nano will have the same problem... does it classify as 4G?
conditionals is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2005, 11:24 AM   #20
Boxster1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: DC
My 20GB has the same problem.....

..... but I don't think it's the headphones.
My iPod pauses whether I use Apple headphones or not and even their own cables! It pauses with my iTrip, the Apple cable when it's hooked up to my stereo and even with my Apple headphones.
I think there's a glitch somewhere and it's really annoying. Has anyone found a solution that has worked?
Boxster1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2005, 11:32 AM   #21
conditionals
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boxster1
I think there's a glitch somewhere and it's really annoying. Has anyone found a solution that has worked?
Yeah... I bought a nano and it doesn't happen! Hurrah.
conditionals is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2005, 12:01 PM   #22
Loge
macrumors 68000
 
Loge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: England
Quote:
Originally Posted by conditionals
I wonder if the nano will have the same problem... does it classify as 4G?
I notice that on the nano the headphone jack is a tighter fit than the other iPods I have used (may just be my unit of course), so hopefully this won't happen with 3rd party phones.

I still wish you could switch off the auto-pause feature though.
Loge is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2005, 02:31 PM   #23
Boxster1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: DC
Don't celebrate just yet...

... mine didn't start pausing until after about 6 months to a year.
Hopefully they have fixed the problem though. It would be nice to know that they are figuring out solutions to their glitches.
Boxster1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BT audio still pauses between songs davehutch iOS 7 4 Mar 31, 2014 06:01 AM
Upgraded RAM, now itunes randomly pauses nearfantastica Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Feb 7, 2014 08:15 PM
Pauses while using AirPlay Beachguy Apple TV and Home Theater 8 Jul 6, 2013 02:19 PM
iPod Touch: iPod 4G Randomly boots into Safe Mode gigahertz Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 12 Jul 4, 2013 08:27 PM
UI pauses for external HDD pepijndevos OS X 0 Apr 25, 2013 02:37 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:38 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC