Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Photography

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 11, 2011, 02:14 PM   #1
mattyb240
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quad i5 or Quad i7 Imac

I have the opportunity to buy an iMac at a reasonable price! I'm not sure whether or not to go for the i5 or i7?

My main program is Lightroom 3 and a tiny bit of CS5. Presently my Raw images are only 10mb, but in the next year or so I hope to upgrade to a Canon 5dmkII which has 21mp images.

Will Lightroom utilise hyper threading? Is it worth spending the extra for "future proofing". Whilst the difference in price is roughly 100 after I have sold some bits, it is still 100!

I currently have a 2.66 i7 MBP and don't need the portability anymore.
__________________
mattyb240 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2011, 04:07 PM   #2
Designer Dale
macrumors 68040
 
Designer Dale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Folding space
Why not just get a good external monitor and keyboard setup? That MBPro outclasses the '08 machine I use for photo editing. It amounts to a big paperweight next to my 23 in. Samsung monitor, but it's cheaper than a new iMac. Every time I think I need to upgrade, I open iStat Pro and look at my processor usage during an operation. I never seem to use more that 65% of my Core2Duo. I do need more ram, though.

My 2k worth.

Dale
__________________
How to Post, Quote and Multi-Quote Photos - My Google Docs Folder 12/2011
I'm out of my mind, but feel free to leave a message.
Designer Dale is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2011, 05:16 PM   #3
HBOC
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PDX
I went with a base i5 QC iMac and it is quick. I upped the RAM to 8GB. I have a 1Ds (file sizes vary up to 14MB), and will probably get a 1Ds2 before next spring. After working on my files, they quickly climb to 100MB each (after running actions, some NiK work, etc) and I have many files open at the same time, as well as my iTunes library (that is all music and 110GB), Aperture 3 running with Office 2011 and Ai CS4. No hiccups!
__________________
500px
dustingentadventures.com
HBOC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2011, 04:15 PM   #4
mattyb240
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2008
Thats good to know! I have a great setup with my MBP with a nice Dell external and keyboard and trackpad. As I don't need portability and always like more poke I figured it was worth it. Plus with my discount and selling my MBP I won't be spending any money.
__________________
mattyb240 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2011, 05:04 PM   #5
Ruahrc
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
You will get some benefit from the hyperthreading- just up to you as to whether it will be 100GBP worth. I noticed when I use LR with my i7 mini server, when rendering previews it does max out all 8 threads- so at least LR is multithreaded enough to utilize the available cores.

Obviously as it's hyperthreaded virtual cores and not 4 additional physical cores, it's not going to be 2x the speed. I don't know what the efficiency gain is for hyperthreading, anyone know?

Ruahrc
Ruahrc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2011, 10:19 PM   #6
mofunk
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Americas
I'm with Designer Dale on this one... use your money to buy more glass. No need to get an iMac.
__________________
MBP | PB |iPhone tID | iPad 4G | G4 | Touch 4G | iPod 30GB
mofunk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2011, 01:58 AM   #7
mattyb240
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruahrc View Post
You will get some benefit from the hyperthreading- just up to you as to whether it will be 100GBP worth. I noticed when I use LR with my i7 mini server, when rendering previews it does max out all 8 threads- so at least LR is multithreaded enough to utilize the available cores.

Obviously as it's hyperthreaded virtual cores and not 4 additional physical cores, it's not going to be 2x the speed. I don't know what the efficiency gain is for hyperthreading, anyone know?

Thats good to know as I do render on import, its not my profession so I guess its not critical how fast it renders but I would always like more speed.

Ruahrc
Quote:
Originally Posted by mofunk View Post
I'm with Designer Dale on this one... use your money to buy more glass. No need to get an iMac.
Even though in theory it would be a straight trade for the quad i5?
__________________
mattyb240 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Visual Media > Digital Photography

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quad I5 verus Quad I7 imac for Final Cut 7 howardnow iMac 5 Sep 3, 2011 05:14 PM
imac quad I5 vs. quad I7 for FCP 7 howardnow Digital Video 0 Aug 31, 2011 12:08 AM
New 27" iMac with quad i5 or better i7 ? viento iMac 5 Jul 24, 2011 03:17 PM
Difference between the Quad i5 and Quad i7 FrankySavvy iMac 3 May 3, 2011 01:20 PM
Help me choose between imac. Standard 3.6ghz i5 or Quad core i5 or i7? opencube iMac 2 Feb 15, 2011 07:31 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC