Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 11, 2011, 09:42 PM   #1
irfan22
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
How to activate iPhone 3GS without SIM

Hey guys

So i water damaged my iphone and the phone works except the sim tray doesnt fit in anymore. I took it to Apple and they said the mechanism is broken/corrosion. So i cant use the phone anymore but i wanted to use it without the phone function. Thank god the iPhone 5 is coming out.

Right now i get the message "NO SIM card installed. Insert a valid SIM with no PIN lock to activate iPhone."

I also restored and updated the phone so im assuming its running firmware 4.3.5

I tried running blackra1n but didnt work. any help guys?

Thanks!
irfan22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2011, 10:47 PM   #2
irfan22
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by eastercat View Post
Hacktivate it.
Link?

I was going to try to use Redsnow 0.9.6b6 with Firmware 4.2.1. Would that work? and install ipad baseline so i can install ultrasnow...would that work? Once again my SIM tray doesnt work so there is no sim card in my iPhone 3GS
irfan22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2011, 10:58 PM   #3
IrishVixen
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by irfan22 View Post
Link?

I was going to try to use Redsnow 0.9.6b6 with Firmware 4.2.1. Would that work? and install ipad baseline so i can install ultrasnow...would that work? Once again my SIM tray doesnt work so there is no sim card in my iPhone 3GS
If you have no sim, why install the iPad baseband or ultrasn0w? An unlocked phone still requires a working SIM. Neither of those tools is of use to you if you can't use the device as a phone due to a hardware failure.
__________________
iPhone 5, 6.1 JB; iPhone 4/5.0.1 JB; iPad Mini/6.1.2 JB; iPad 1/4.3.3 JB; still bootable Mac+ in the basement
IrishVixen is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2011, 11:10 PM   #4
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by IrishVixen View Post
If you have no sim, why install the iPad baseband or ultrasn0w? An unlocked phone still requires a working SIM. Neither of those tools is of use to you if you can't use the device as a phone due to a hardware failure.
I was going to say the same.
Unlock it for what? You cant stick a sim in it anyway.
You think there's a software hack that will magically fix your hardware and water damage?
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2011, 12:04 AM   #5
irfan22
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Sorry i think i need to clarity. I wanna use the iPhone as a iPod Touch. I know my phone capabilities are broken. I wanna sync my music and my apps. How would i do that?

Ok so i googled hacktivate and discovered a program called green pois0n. Will that let allow me to use my iPhone as an iPod?
irfan22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2011, 12:26 AM   #6
IrishVixen
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
I think the only jailbreak for 4.3.5 is the tethered redsn0w one. Greenpoison was from quite a few firmware revisions back now.
__________________
iPhone 5, 6.1 JB; iPhone 4/5.0.1 JB; iPad Mini/6.1.2 JB; iPad 1/4.3.3 JB; still bootable Mac+ in the basement
IrishVixen is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2011, 02:19 AM   #7
irfan22
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
ok so i used this video to hacktivate it http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5H4La0ukGHM

Is there a version of redsnow for firmware 4.3.5 with baseband of 05.16.02-6.4_M3S2?

I tried using redsnow 0.9.8b4 with firmware 4.3.4 then check marked deactivate and it still doesnt work.
irfan22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2011, 11:24 AM   #8
irfan22
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
OK I tried using redsn0w redsn0w 0.9.8b7b which looks to be the latest version and it recognizes 4.3.5 firmware. So i check marked deactivate and I said No to having a newer iPhone 3GS model.....still doesnt work. Really need some advice. i have the latest version of iTunes 10.4

Thanks for all the help

Last edited by irfan22; Sep 12, 2011 at 02:37 PM.
irfan22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2011, 07:24 PM   #9
irfan22
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
spent probably five hours on this... if anyone out there has any idea i would really appreciate it.
irfan22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2011, 04:23 PM   #10
Crystal-RX
macrumors 68030
 
Crystal-RX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Seattle, WA USA
Jailbreak for 4.3.5 will be a tethered jailbreaked. Why don't you downgrade it to 4.1, then jailbreak it with Redsn0w.

you can get instruction on how to jailbreak your iphone from www.Iclarified.com
Crystal-RX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2011, 06:50 PM   #11
irfan22
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crystal-RX View Post
Jailbreak for 4.3.5 will be a tethered jailbreaked. Why don't you downgrade it to 4.1, then jailbreak it with Redsn0w.

you can get instruction on how to jailbreak your iphone from www.Iclarified.com
I would love to downgrade so i could hackivate it but I dont have any shsh blobs files saved. Is it still possible to do?

I tried creating a custom IPSW with snoWbreeze and clicked hackivate and got itunes error 1600 when i tried restoring
irfan22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2011, 07:24 PM   #12
MaxBurn
macrumors 65816
 
MaxBurn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Take it apart and fix your hardware problem, have a complete working phone again. I have seen sim trays, slots, the gold contact fingers etc for sale, pretty much whatever you would need.
MaxBurn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2011, 07:33 PM   #13
irfan22
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaxBurn View Post
Take it apart and fix your hardware problem, have a complete working phone again. I have seen sim trays, slots, the gold contact fingers etc for sale, pretty much whatever you would need.
I really dont feel comfortable taking the phone a part and replacing parts. Also, I plan on getting the iPhone 5 when it comes out. I just wanna hackitvate my phone so i could use the iPod and apps.

If anyone else has any helpful hints i would greatly appreciate it. Once again I'm running 4.3.5 and would like to activiate the phone. I'll downgrade to 4.1 or whatever so the device works.
irfan22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2011, 07:53 PM   #14
irfan22
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Thank GOD finally! Apple is still signing 4.1 so just restoring now and hopefully will be able to hackivate with redsn0w.. Wish me luck!
irfan22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2011, 08:58 PM   #15
irfan22
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
ok folks i feel like im close. I'm now on firmware 4.1 running with a baseline of 05.16.02 on my iPhone 3GS

How would I hackivate this device? which version of redsn0w would I need? Do i need to change the baseline?

Last edited by irfan22; Sep 13, 2011 at 09:03 PM.
irfan22 is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2011, 10:23 PM   #16
awadeee
macrumors 68020
 
awadeee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Viper City
Quote:
Originally Posted by irfan22 View Post
ok folks i feel like im close. I'm now on firmware 4.1 running with a baseline of 05.16.02 on my iPhone 3GS

How would I hackivate this device? which version of redsn0w would I need? Do i need to change the baseline?
Baseband. Please.

I believe you can use either sn0wbreeze or pwnagetool to create a custom 4.1 IPSW that is pre-activated. I might be wrong though, this was a long time ago.
__________________
Ebb & flow.
awadeee is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2011, 10:24 PM   #17
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
You can even use limerain.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2011, 01:33 AM   #18
Crystal-RX
macrumors 68030
 
Crystal-RX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Seattle, WA USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by irfan22 View Post
I would love to downgrade so i could hackivate it but I dont have any shsh blobs files saved. Is it still possible to do?

I tried creating a custom IPSW with snoWbreeze and clicked hackivate and got itunes error 1600 when i tried restoring
I will not propose this to you if I know it is not going to work. For some reasons, Apple is still signing 4.1 for 3GS, so wrap it while you can.
Crystal-RX is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2011, 02:02 AM   #19
irfan22
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
OK guys it worked!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Finally! Thanks to every single one of you who helped me out. Really appreciate it!
irfan22 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2012, 06:03 PM   #20
JASC
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
How'd you do it?

Could you recap how you did it please?
JASC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 9, 2012, 01:10 PM   #21
h4lp m3
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: New Orleans
Quote:
Originally Posted by JASC View Post
Could you recap how you did it please?
this is macrumors and it works like this:
  • OP asks a question.
  • people answer with things like "google it" or "you noob!"
  • OP figures it out and doen't tell how.
  • You go to Google and search for "How to activate iPhone 3GS without SIM" and this is the first thing page.
  • sorry. u got pwn3d.
__________________
Hal leta puta pardeglea Macarena, HEEEEY Macarena! !!!
h4lp m3 is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 13, 2012, 01:58 PM   #22
Yaroslav Wise
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by irfan22 View Post
OK guys it worked!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Finally! Thanks to every single one of you who helped me out. Really appreciate it!
Tell me plz how you did it? I have the same problem.
Yaroslav Wise is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2012, 05:43 AM   #23
rebhaf
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Pretty insane

It's pretty insane that Apple products are so complicated. Honestly, all I want is for this annoying "Locked SIM" message to go away. I want to give my old iPhone 3GS to my daughter to play Angry Birds -- that's it! She gets "Locked SIM" messages popping up on her all the time. So I take the SIM card out and now she's getting messages saying she doesn't have one. Freakin' Apple.
rebhaf is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot Activate iPhone 3GS, Reads, "No SIM." Kangkairen iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Dec 31, 2013 12:38 PM
Cannot Activate iPhone 3GS, Reads, "No SIM." Kangkairen iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Dec 31, 2013 12:37 PM
iPhone: 3GS - Install valid sim with no pin lock to activate iPhone Monkeynuts* Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 13 Apr 21, 2013 11:34 PM
Got iPhone 3GS unlocked but no SIM available with me - wont activate rak007 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 6 Oct 3, 2012 04:05 AM
Can I use prepaid sim At&t to activate iphone5 ( just activate not use) bboyp90 iPhone 1 Sep 27, 2012 11:47 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC