Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 12, 2011, 05:41 PM   #1
AppleBMW&Lakers
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Question 16 GB RAM iMac

Hey guys, I have a 27 inch iMac 27 inch 2010 core i3, and I found crucial RAM 2x4GB so the price comes to 100 plus. Does anyone have 16GB of RAM on their iMac? I appreciate the feedback, and thank you for your time.
AppleBMW&Lakers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2011, 05:54 PM   #2
Sodner
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Quote:
Originally Posted by AppleBMW&Lakers View Post
Hey guys, I have a 27 inch iMac 27 inch 2010 core i3, and I found crucial RAM 2x4GB so the price comes to 100 plus. Does anyone have 16GB of RAM on their iMac? I appreciate the feedback, and thank you for your time.
I have the Mid 2011 base iMac with 16 GB from OWC. I love the extra memory. I could probably got away with 8 but what the heck. I never see a beach ball, never need to refresh a page in Safari, it's great and highly recommended
__________________
27" iMac, Late 2013 iPhone 6 64GB AT&T iPad Air 32GB
"I believe in the six colors."
Sodner is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2011, 06:18 PM   #3
killerrobot
macrumors 68020
 
killerrobot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: 127.0.0.1
Why stop at 16 GB from OWC? They claim 32 GB is possible.
http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/apple/memory/iMac

Anyways, yeah 16 GB works and is much cheaper.
__________________
Another day older and deeper in debt.
killerrobot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2011, 07:34 PM   #4
SaSaSushi
macrumors 68030
 
SaSaSushi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Takamatsu, Japan
I went to 16GB from 8GB on my late-2009 i7 iMac and it's been night and day snappier. As the previous poster reported no more beach balls. I especially appreciate the extra memory when running Parallels.

With the plummeting prices of RAM now why not max it out?
__________________
27" Late 2013 iMac i7 GTX780M 32GB/1TB Fusion
32GB iPhone 5s | 32GB iPad 3 LTE
16GB iPad 2 3G | Canon EOS 450D
SaSaSushi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2011, 08:52 PM   #5
AppleBMW&Lakers
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Thanks a lot!!

Yeah I'm def excited for 16 GB of RAM, besides OWC and Crucial any other sites we can get RAM at?
AppleBMW&Lakers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2011, 10:08 PM   #6
philipma1957
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by AppleBMW&Lakers View Post
Yeah I'm def excited for 16 GB of RAM, besides OWC and Crucial any other sites we can get RAM at?
NEWEGG buy 4 of these


http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231342


16gb for under $90 2 kits needed

or buy these

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820233217

32gb for under 900 2 kits needed
philipma1957 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2011, 10:20 PM   #7
tonyunreal
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
I have 16gb on my Core 2 iMac, which I don't use much other than iTunes syncing and watching movies occasionally.

Occupied memory size including inactive(cached) segment one week after boot is around 8gb, definitely worth it if you intend to run memory intense programs and don't want to turn it off everyday.

Hard drive read/write operations also seemed to reduce a lot since most data would be in memory after a day of usage or so.
__________________
MacBook Pro 17-inch(early 2011, 2.2Ghz);
iPhone 5s 64g Space Gray; iPad mini (1st gen);
tonyunreal is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2011, 11:18 PM   #8
rpmucha23
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
I put 16gigs in my 2011 27" i7, it definitely helps when running parallels! I give 4 gigs to parallels and it stays fairly snappy, and it has just enough left over on the OSX side to keep my page outs & swap space at zero.
rpmucha23 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2011, 11:43 PM   #9
zarathu
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2003
I'm at 12 gb with the mid 2011 i5. I used to leave apps on so that it would take long to start them up. Bounced up from 4 gb to 12 gb, I might as well leave them off or on, since all my applications except for aperture open up almost instantly. Aperture takes about 3 seconds. I remember the times when it took a bouncing ball.
zarathu is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iMac G3 RAM Arkious PowerPC Macs 16 Feb 20, 2014 04:20 PM
2011 MP 2.2 i7 16 gb ram vs 2012 iMac 2.9 i5 32gb ram absoluteelsewhe iMac 3 Feb 8, 2014 03:03 PM
Transfer RAM from '11 iMac to '12 iMac? mikalh78 iMac 1 Apr 2, 2013 08:17 AM
New iMac, Upgraded Ram, But Ram Running @ 1333mhz Jazwire iMac 159 Jan 11, 2013 06:43 PM
21.5" iMac Has No User-Upgradable RAM; 27" Has Four Accessible RAM Slots MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 257 Dec 27, 2012 03:34 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC