Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 13, 2011, 02:11 PM   #1
hae4
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
HELP iPhone 4 valid sim problem!

Hi,

On my recent trip to Moscow I bought an iPhone 4 from an unofficial shop and it was unlocked, but then I used the Restore function on iTunes and now I get this message:

No sim card installed - insert valid sim with no pin lock

I guess this shop was selling originaly locked iPhones and by restoring it the original lock came into action. What should I do? I have no idea what operator the phone was bought off, and I dont know which software version it is running on right now as Itunes doesn't let me do anything.

I've searched the forums and possible sollutions that I've found are Gevey sims, but I read that they aren't always successful in solving the problem.

Are there easier ways to solve this? I am willing to pay someone if he can unlock it.

Thanks
hae4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2011, 02:20 PM   #2
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
No much you can do, you bought a locked iphone probably JB and unlocked with ultrasnow.
When you restored the baseband got updated and the unlock is gone.
Only thing you can use now is a gevey sim but that wont work either after 5.0 is out.
You should have purchased an official unlocked iphone from an Apple store instead.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2011, 02:29 PM   #3
hae4
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
No much you can do, you bought a locked iphone probably JB and unlocked with ultrasnow.
When you restored the baseband got updated and the unlock is gone.
Only thing you can use now is a gevey sim but that wont work either after 5.0 is out.
You should have purchased an official unlocked iphone from an Apple store instead.
So after 5.0 is out, if I don't upgrade to it, will I still be able to use it with a gevey sim?
hae4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2011, 02:36 PM   #4
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by hae4 View Post
So after 5.0 is out, if I don't upgrade to it, will I still be able to use it with a gevey sim?
Yes.
Not sure how you will be able to initially activate it though to get to the homescreen in order to use Gevey.
Not sure if gevey will activate the phone with an unofficial sim.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2011, 02:52 PM   #5
hae4
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
Yes.
Not sure how you will be able to initially activate it though to get to the homescreen in order to use Gevey.
Not sure if gevey will activate the phone with an unofficial sim.
Ok, they are quite cheap so I guess its worth a try.

Can't believe its so easy to brick an iphone.
hae4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2011, 03:06 PM   #6
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by hae4 View Post
Ok, they are quite cheap so I guess its worth a try.

Can't believe its so easy to brick an iphone.
You didnt brick it, you just restored it to original firmware and in a non-JB state.
Its still usable and far from a brick. If you knew what carrier its locked to it will still accept and work with any of its locked carriers sims.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2011, 03:15 PM   #7
hae4
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
You didnt brick it, you just restored it to original firmware and in a non-JB state.
Its still usable and far from a brick. If you knew what carrier its locked to it will still accept and work with any of its locked carriers sims.
That will be a hard task. I'll try and contact the store that I bought it from.
If I could find out the carrier and get a sim, would I be able to unlock it?
hae4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2011, 03:32 PM   #8
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by hae4 View Post
That will be a hard task. I'll try and contact the store that I bought it from.
If I could find out the carrier and get a sim, would I be able to unlock it?
No.
It cannot be unlock any more besides using the gevey.
The sim will only activate it so you can use the gevey.
But without the gevey the phone will not accept any other sim but the company it's locked to.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2011, 02:17 PM   #9
hae4
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Applejuiced View Post
No.
It cannot be unlock any more besides using the gevey.
The sim will only activate it so you can use the gevey.
But without the gevey the phone will not accept any other sim but the company it's locked to.
Thanks for clearing everything up for me. I will try to get a refund.
hae4 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 14, 2011, 02:43 PM   #10
hae4
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Looks like I am kind of lucky after all!

I found a russian carrier sim card that I used in my old phone when I was in russia, cut it to fit the microsim dimensions and when I put it in the iphone I got the same message but a button saying activate appeared.
It asked for the sim card pin, after I entered it the phone unlocked! I restored the phone from the backup file on itunes and everything works just fine.

I don't have another microsim or spare sim card to check if it will work on my current operator, is there another way to see if it is locked?
hae4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2012, 09:51 PM   #11
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by hae4 View Post
Looks like I am kind of lucky after all!

I found a russian carrier sim card that I used in my old phone when I was in russia, cut it to fit the microsim dimensions and when I put it in the iphone I got the same message but a button saying activate appeared.
It asked for the sim card pin, after I entered it the phone unlocked! I restored the phone from the backup file on itunes and everything works just fine.

I don't have another microsim or spare sim card to check if it will work on my current operator, is there another way to see if it is locked?
If it worked and activated with a random russian sim then very good chances are it is unlocked.
The only other way would be to get a sim from your current carrier and stick it in.
Applejuiced is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Warning: Beware swapping iPhone 4 sim into iPad 2 for data usage JoelMarcey iPad 67 Sep 25, 2012 01:34 PM
Trading Your iPhone 4 for Someone's 4S? sidgriffey iPhone 3 Oct 11, 2011 04:22 PM
Weird iphone 4 3g connection problem! jfong425 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 0 Feb 10, 2011 10:44 AM
Please Help! wifi issue w/ iPhone 4 at home kandcats iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 10 Nov 10, 2010 04:55 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC