Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 17, 2011, 02:42 AM   #1
supermarky
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Question can I move the HD from my pre-pro G5 to an enclosure and use it with my powerbook pro

(The tower kinda died on me and I realized I'd rather just be working on one computer than going back and forth between 2 systems and different releases of various applications anyway)

I've found a guide to removing the drive from the tower:
http://manuals.info.apple.com/en/PMG5_HD_DIY.pdf

I have already purchased a Vixen 3.5" SATA HDD External Enclosure for the drive. The pdf above says something about these dimensions/specs:

Type: serial ATA
Width: 3.9 inches (102 mm)
Depth: 5.7 inches (147 mm)
Height: 1.0 inch

Did I get the right size enclosure?

The Vixen comes with a guide to installing the drive, I'm happy to have discovered, since the first one I bought on ebay didn't. Between this and the pdf at least I won't need further help if I'm on the right track.

I have another silver tower, I forget whether it was a G4 or G5, and a G3 or 2 and even some ye old beige plastic Power PCs. I'm cherishing the hope that the stuff that was lost on each of them when the computer went kaput, might soon be reclaimed. Is this too much to hope for? Will all the drives be the same size going that far back?

Thank you very much. This is my first post

Chris aka Supermarky
Los Angeles

Last edited by supermarky; Sep 17, 2011 at 05:42 AM. Reason: everything is solvie solvie
supermarky is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2011, 02:57 AM   #2
zen.state
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Long story short.. you will be able to access everything on the drive from the G5 once it's in the enclosure but not be able to boot from it.

Yes that is the right size enclosure for that drive. By the way.. there is no such thing as a "powerbook pro".
zen.state is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2011, 05:40 AM   #3
supermarky
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Great thanks! Oh yeah power mac book. got it... I need to know my mac better...


I don't see where to tick off that this issue is now resolved. Maybe I can do it by modifying original post which had a box to check...
supermarky is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2011, 06:38 AM   #4
AdrianK
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by supermarky View Post
Great thanks! Oh yeah power mac book. got it... I need to know my mac better...
That would be 'PowerBook' or 'MacBook'
__________________
Desktop: i3 4130 - OS X 10.9 & Windows 8
Notebook: i5 3317U - Xubuntu 14.04
AdrianK is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mac Pro 4U Rackmount Enclosure and Expansion Chassis WildBB Mac Pro 1 Mar 27, 2014 12:59 PM
Best hard disk enclosure for Mac Pro cylinder peabo Mac Pro 8 Sep 30, 2013 02:29 PM
MacBook Pro 15 2010 keyboard and enclosure replaced makaveli559m MacBook Pro 2 Sep 14, 2013 02:35 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:13 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC