Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 17, 2011, 06:38 PM   #1
danmc00
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Wifi problem! Why does my iMac ask me to join network every time?

Sorry, but I am relatively new to Mac. I just recently upgraded to an Apple Airport Extreme and now every time that I wake my computer up, it asks me to join a network. It never did that before. Is there a way for it to automatically link to my wifi network automatically?

I have also noticed that since my Lion upgrade that it takes my computer a lot longer to wake when I touch keyboard.

Thanks for the help
danmc00 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2011, 06:49 PM   #2
fullojellybeans
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Check the security settings and network settings in system preferences. I believe there's a section in there for "ask for password to connect/change networks"
fullojellybeans is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 17, 2011, 08:19 PM   #3
Sc00tr
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2011
open the network preferences & click advanced.
Preferred Networks is all the networks that it remembers and will connect to automatically.
You can also check Remember Networks that this computer has joined.
Sc00tr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2011, 10:30 AM   #4
danmc00
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
I have that checked, but it still asks me every time.
danmc00 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 18, 2011, 10:35 AM   #5
killerrobot
macrumors 68020
 
killerrobot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: 127.0.0.1
This is a known bug in Lion. So far I haven't come across a permanent fix.
__________________
Another day older and deeper in debt.
killerrobot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2011, 07:54 PM   #6
danmc00
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Is this just happening on a few people or is it widespread?
Every time I wake my computer it tells me that none of my preferred networks can be found yet my network that I set up is in the list of choices. This gets very annoying!!!
danmc00 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2011, 08:09 PM   #7
wpotere
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by danmc00 View Post
Is this just happening on a few people or is it widespread?
Every time I wake my computer it tells me that none of my preferred networks can be found yet my network that I set up is in the list of choices. This gets very annoying!!!

It is pretty widespread actually. I would think that Apple is going to get this fixed shortly, at least I hope so....
wpotere is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help with extending my Time Capsule Wifi Network PatriotInvasion Mac Peripherals 5 Feb 13, 2014 11:12 PM
What effect will new iMac have on existing WiFi network GovtLawyer Mac Basics and Help 2 Jan 4, 2014 12:59 PM
Changed ISP today and now can't get Time Capsule to join existing network imacken Mac Peripherals 3 Feb 26, 2013 03:25 PM
Very wierd problem with iphone 4s and wifi network hakuna-matata iPhone 5 Jul 15, 2012 03:55 PM
Adding WiFi-capable Printer to a Time Capsule Network youradhere4222 Mac Peripherals 1 Jun 30, 2012 08:39 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC