Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 19, 2011, 02:19 PM   #1
th0rr
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Cool [HOW TO] iMac 27" (mid 2011) two SSDs in RAID 0 config + HDD

Hi all,

a few weeks ago I was asking you how I could add two SSDs in RAID 0 configuration and still keep the HDD. Well I didn't really get the right answer so I figured it out myself.

You may ask yourself, why would I want to do this? Simply because I was curious if I can and because I found only one person who did something similar before me. Also I'm really excited about writing and reading speeds with two SSDs plugged in two SATA III ports in RAID 0 configuration. It still gives me goosebumps.

I described the following procedure on my blog, but I doubt you understand Slovene, so I wrote this one in English. You can still check out the original link for a nicer guide with detailed photos.

Disclaimer 1: Please don't do the following procedure if you have no experience with hardware. iMac is an expensive piece of hardware and you don't wan't it broken. Proceed at your own risk!

Disclaimer 2: Because iMac has only three SATA ports on logic board you'll have to sacrifice your SuperDrive. For me that really wasn't a hard decision.

And here is what you need if you want to do it yourself:

SSD cable preparation

So we've ordered two Slimline 13 pin SATA Female to 22 Pin SATA Female Cables and now we have to prepare one. Do you see the narrower end of the cable, the one which goes into logic board? This one:



Now take your jewelers saw frame and saw plastic between both cables. Do it very carefully. That's the result:



Installation of SSDs

I followed a great guide from Brian Tobey about How to open and remove a logic board. I suggest you follow it too until logic board is removed, then return to this guide.

Once you removed the logic board you can unplug the Superdrive from SATA 2 port.



Now plug the slimline cables in following order:
  • SSD 1 plug in with untouched Slimline cable to SATA 1 port
  • SSD 2 DATA cable (blue) plug in SATA 0 data port and SSD PWR plug in SATA 2 port
  • HDD DATA cable plug in SATA 2 port and leave HDD PWR as it is

I tried to explain the upper instructions in this photo:



Once you have all the cables in place I recommend you to remove that fake SSD wall so you gain enough space for two SSDs. Now prepare the first SSD and attach some double sided tape on it, then carefully tape it to the iMac's body, be careful and leave enough space for another SSD! Now plug in the cable for the SSD 1.



Now it's time to place the logic board back. I highly recommend you to remove RAM before positioning the logic board back in its place. I also advise you to be very careful when positioning the logic board so you don't damage it. Once you have it in place attach some double sided tape to the SSD 2 and connect the cable.

My configuration now looks something like this:



Put now everything together, plug in all the cables and screw all the screws. Remove all the dust between the glass and the LCD panel.

Let's make a software RAID 0 configuration

Unfortunately iMac doesn't have hardware support for RAID 0 configuration, but we can do a software RAID 0 configuration instead. Here's an excellent guide you should follow.

Now reinstall your favorite Mac OS X.

Various tests

Here's a table of various tests I did after the install:



And the best photo for last:



Remember to have your Time Machine attached to your iMac at all times, because RAID 0 configuration is a liability. But it's still so awesome! What are your thoughts on my installation?
__________________
27" iMac (mid 2011), i5 3.1GHz, 12GB RAM, 2 x 120GB OWC Mercury Extreme PRO 6G in RAID 0 config, 1TB HDD
iPhone 4, 16 GB
th0rr is offline   4 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2011, 01:08 PM   #2
mattb79
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Nice!

I'm getting something similar done next week with a top-spec BTO 27"

2 x SSD in RAID 0 and a slimline Blu Ray drive in the Optical spot.

Is one of those SSD's connected to the optical bay SATA port? I thought the Optical bay port was SATA II, not III?
mattb79 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2011, 01:10 PM   #3
th0rr
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
No, the other SSD is connected to SATA 0 port (only DATA) and SSD PWR is connected to SATA 2 port. SATA 2 port is from SuperDrive and is only SATA II yes. I connected HDD DATA cable to SATA II port.
__________________
27" iMac (mid 2011), i5 3.1GHz, 12GB RAM, 2 x 120GB OWC Mercury Extreme PRO 6G in RAID 0 config, 1TB HDD
iPhone 4, 16 GB
th0rr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2011, 01:12 PM   #4
pablosu
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
This si really awesome! I will love to do it! but I feel a little bit wierd when I think bout opening my iMac :S!
Would be awesome if u could do a Video Tutorial!

Thanks!
__________________
27" iMac 12GB RAM 1TB SATA2 AMD 6970m 1GB (2011) ; Macbook Air 11" (2011)
pablosu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2011, 01:18 PM   #5
mattb79
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Yeah, I don't have the guts to do this myself, so I'm having an Apple authorised tech do my mods for me.

If that optical bay had been SATA III as well, I'd have likely considered a triple SSD RAID 0. But two is good enough and I'm looking forward to having a Blu-ray drive built in for ripping.

If Lacie ever get around to actually releasing their Little Big Disk, I'll be using one of those for Time Machine backups and daily Carbon Copy Clones. Until then, I've got a USB WD drive for that.
mattb79 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 20, 2011, 04:03 PM   #6
th0rr
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
I didn't want to give 200 to Apple authorised tech, because I knew I can do it for free

LaCie just announced sth, but look at those prices ... http://www.engadget.com/2011/09/20/l...sd-variant-in/
__________________
27" iMac (mid 2011), i5 3.1GHz, 12GB RAM, 2 x 120GB OWC Mercury Extreme PRO 6G in RAID 0 config, 1TB HDD
iPhone 4, 16 GB
th0rr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2011, 03:46 AM   #7
mattb79
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Yeah, forget that then.

I'll wait for Western Digital to release a My Book Studio with a Thunderbolt port.

Although, do you guys think using an FW800 connection on a WD My Book Studio (single mechanical drive, not raided dual) will be good enough transfer speed for storage files (music, photos etc.)?

I like the idea of Thunderbolt speeds, but not if it's going to be a huge premium over FW800 with very little transfer speed improvement on a single mechanical drive.
mattb79 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2011, 12:15 PM   #8
accessoriesguy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Faster Faster Faster! I saw someone had RAID 0 their macbook pro (late 08, same model as mine) by delete kit of the CD drive for the second drive.

RAID makes everything wonderful
Congrats and thanks for the guide!!!
__________________
accessoriesguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2011, 01:09 PM   #9
ctzbz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Hi, th0rr
There's a lot of talking at this moment about the fans speeds. Many have reported maximum fan speed after SSD instalation, due to a lack of a thermal sensor for non-Apple SSDs.
I know that OWC promised a DIY solution for their SSDs, but at this moment they still have us waiting for it.
I also intend to make a RAID0 matrix, but from two 240GB OWC drives.
Could you please tell us your experience regarding the fan issue.
I can't wait for your reply, if everything's ok I'll order my SSDs right away
Thanks in advance,
Ciprian
ctzbz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2011, 02:38 PM   #10
th0rr
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctzbz View Post
Hi, th0rr
There's a lot of talking at this moment about the fans speeds. Many have reported maximum fan speed after SSD instalation, due to a lack of a thermal sensor for non-Apple SSDs.
I know that OWC promised a DIY solution for their SSDs, but at this moment they still have us waiting for it.
I also intend to make a RAID0 matrix, but from two 240GB OWC drives.
Could you please tell us your experience regarding the fan issue.
I can't wait for your reply, if everything's ok I'll order my SSDs right away
Thanks in advance,
Ciprian
Yes, let me explain this. If you only add two SSDs and not touching HDD or leave it in, there are no fast spinning fans. Because I removed Superdrive and I left its fan unplugged and because of that, CPU and HDD fan speed is slightly elevated, from 1000 rpm to 1500 rpm. iMac is not noiseless anymore but it's also not a flying airplane turbine.

My conclusion is if you don't remove main HDD you have nothing to worry about, just don't reconnect Superdrive's fan, otherwise it'll spin with around 5000 rpm and that is very noisy

Anything else?
__________________
27" iMac (mid 2011), i5 3.1GHz, 12GB RAM, 2 x 120GB OWC Mercury Extreme PRO 6G in RAID 0 config, 1TB HDD
iPhone 4, 16 GB
th0rr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2011, 03:40 PM   #11
jsolares
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Land of eternal Spring
Quote:
Originally Posted by th0rr View Post
Yes, let me explain this. If you only add two SSDs and not touching HDD or leave it in, there are no fast spinning fans. Because I removed Superdrive and I left its fan unplugged and because of that, CPU and HDD fan speed is slightly elevated, from 1000 rpm to 1500 rpm. iMac is not noiseless anymore but it's also not a flying airplane turbine.

My conclusion is if you don't remove main HDD you have nothing to worry about, just don't reconnect Superdrive's fan, otherwise it'll spin with around 5000 rpm and that is very noisy

Anything else?
Be careful, i believe the superdrive fan is also in charge of cooling the GPU
__________________
Macbook Air 13" 2013 i7 512GB SSD 8GB RAM; iMac 27" 2010 i5 2.8ghz 2x256GB SSD 24GB RAM
jsolares is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2011, 03:50 PM   #12
ctzbz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Anything else? [/QUOTE]


Yes, did you considered this:
http://www.hddfancontrol.com/ ?

I'm planing to strip the HDD, strip the DVD (lighter iMac and more important less consumption) and control the fans through that soft.
Anyone used it, is everything fine?

Thanks for the previous post.
ctzbz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2011, 03:52 PM   #13
th0rr
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctzbz View Post


Yes, did you considered this:
http://www.hddfancontrol.com/ ?

I'm planing to strip the HDD, strip the DVD (lighter iMac and more important less consumption) and control the fans through that soft.
Anyone used it, is everything fine?

Thanks for the previous post.
That piece of software is only for controling HDD fan. I didn't have to use it I tried to use SMC Fan control but no luck :/
__________________
27" iMac (mid 2011), i5 3.1GHz, 12GB RAM, 2 x 120GB OWC Mercury Extreme PRO 6G in RAID 0 config, 1TB HDD
iPhone 4, 16 GB
th0rr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2011, 04:07 PM   #14
ctzbz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by th0rr View Post
That piece of software is only for controling HDD fan. I didn't have to use it I tried to use SMC Fan control but no luck :/
Yes, i know
I should have to ask: "Would you considered this BEFORE?"
Nevermind, thanks again.

----------

One last question.
I'd like to have two partitions on the RAID0 matrix.
One for system/apps/docs, one for the Photoshop scratch.
(At this moment I have the same scheme on a 4XHDD RAID0 matrix in a MacPro)
Do you use something similar or you RAIDed just one partition per disk?
ctzbz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2011, 05:15 PM   #15
th0rr
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctzbz View Post
Yes, i know
I should have to ask: "Would you considered this BEFORE?"
Nevermind, thanks again.

----------

One last question.
I'd like to have two partitions on the RAID0 matrix.
One for system/apps/docs, one for the Photoshop scratch.
(At this moment I have the same scheme on a 4XHDD RAID0 matrix in a MacPro)
Do you use something similar or you RAIDed just one partition per disk?
I might considered it before although I decided not to remove HDD.

I only have 240 GB combined so I really didn't see much point doing partitions.
__________________
27" iMac (mid 2011), i5 3.1GHz, 12GB RAM, 2 x 120GB OWC Mercury Extreme PRO 6G in RAID 0 config, 1TB HDD
iPhone 4, 16 GB
th0rr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 26, 2011, 06:21 PM   #16
WardC
macrumors 68020
 
WardC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Send a message via AIM to WardC
I sent my 27" iMac into OWC (www.macsales.com) for the turnkey upgrade, I just had one 120GB Mercury Pro Extreme 6G installed in there....

They said you could install a second SSD in there which you would have to remove the Apple SD card reader and they would replace it with another device which doubles as an SSD mount with a 3rd party SD card reader...and then you have your HD bay, which you could also put a SSD where the HD is...

But, I decided to keep my stock 1TB HD in there and just get the single SSD...since it the 6G it should be capable of about 430MB/sec which is fine by me, mainly just using it as my boot disk and for all my apps....

I plan to purchase a LaCie LittleBigDisk Thunderbolt SSD RAID disk to use for my Aperture Library (I have a Nikon D7000 and the photos are HUGE)....I think Apple has that drive listed now for $899 but it will not be available until next Month.

But the thing that sucks is, I ordered the Next-Day Air re-delivery on my iMac, and when it came back to me last week, my WiFi would not work at all, it simply would not pick up any router or network whatsoever. Apparently the AirPort antennas were not connected properly -- either they forgot to hook them back or they got jarred in shipment and disconnected.

So --- I sent the iMac back to them, and they said they have fixed it (I called them today), and I should have the machine back tomorrow. I can't wait to start playing with the "new" machine with the SSD. It's the 3.4GHz Quad-Core model, so it's going to fly with the SSD. Now I just need to add some RAM and I will be set to go...

Thanks for sharing your install experience, but the iMac upgrade on these "newer" machines is just too daunting of a task for me to try to undertake myself, I don't want to risk damaging my machine. I have upgraded many MacBook Pros, and Mac Minis, and of course the Mac Pro (which is the simplest to upgrade, and most upgradable Mac of them all)...I am a bit upset at the difficulty that Apple is making in end-users being able to self-upgrade their machines these days, it's almost like they DON'T want you do it, and they make the machines (like the iMacs) such that upgrading them is nearly impossible (except the RAM which is user-accessible)....but adding SSDs, etc to these machines is a chore. Glad you had some good success with your project, enjoy your SCORCHER of a machine...that is one fast beast!
__________________
iMac 27" 3.4GHz i7 SSD 16GB RAM
MacBook Pro 15-inch 2.6GHz i7 256GB SSD/ 16GB RAM

Thinking about Apple...
WardC is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2011, 08:47 AM   #17
kucyk
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
th0rr - thanks for great how to. I am going to do this in the next couple of days as well
kucyk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2011, 05:39 PM   #18
CocoJohnson
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
2 X OCZ 120gb SATA III's Raid

Hey buys just installed 2 X OCZ SATA III 120GB in my iMac I7 (3.4ghz) in a Raid configuration.. Ran DiskSpeedTest and here are results.. While very fast, the Write sped is nowhere near what thOrr got.. Any suggestions .?

Other than that very pleased with results.?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DiskSpeedTest.png
Views:	104
Size:	366.3 KB
ID:	308857  
CocoJohnson is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2011, 08:12 AM   #19
th0rr
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by CocoJohnson View Post
Hey buys just installed 2 X OCZ SATA III 120GB in my iMac I7 (3.4ghz) in a Raid configuration.. Ran DiskSpeedTest and here are results.. While very fast, the Write sped is nowhere near what thOrr got.. Any suggestions .?

Other than that very pleased with results.?
uau, that's very unusual. can you somehow verify that's everything OK with your disks?
__________________
27" iMac (mid 2011), i5 3.1GHz, 12GB RAM, 2 x 120GB OWC Mercury Extreme PRO 6G in RAID 0 config, 1TB HDD
iPhone 4, 16 GB
th0rr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2011, 11:30 PM   #20
AtlasDC
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Same problem

I just installed (2) 240GB OWC 6G drives in RAID 0 on a 2011 3.4 i7 iMac and have great read and about 50% of write . . . what's going on? Anyone have a clue what would do this. Seems fishy now that others are having the same speed reduction on write.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen Shot 2011-11-14 at 9.20.22 PM.png
Views:	96
Size:	454.6 KB
ID:	312165  
AtlasDC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2011, 02:28 AM   #21
th0rr
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
I tested speed of my disks before the update of program DiskSpeedTest. I remember that they wrote in the updated version that they made some tweaks to tests and should now show results more accurately.

If I repeat the test I got similar results as you guys. Only half speed when writing data. Should we try any other disk speed software? Any suggestions?

Edit: I started googling after taking another Disk Speed Test and found interesting comments about the update of a program on the Mac App Store application page:

Quote:
Blackmagic used to use compressible data which will give quite high numbers for most SSDs, since version 2.1, they have started to use incompressible data that would represent data thats already compressed or data such as raw files (think raw photos and video).
I was quite concerned until I realized this. I get "only" 260 write and 500 read as opposed to around 500 for both on an OWC Extreme Pro 6G.
and this one:

Quote:
This tool roughly matched my SSD's manufacturer's stated incompressible read and write speeds. Seems pretty accurate as far as I can tell. The reviewers who rate this application poorly because their SSD speeds suddenly got lower with the newest update are just ridiculous. The application measures the true speed of the drive; these reviewers ought to be taking their anger/disappointment out on their drive's manufacturer. Punishing this application with one star because you don't understand what it measures is unjust.
Source: http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/black...25264550?mt=12

So is completely possible what they're saying.
__________________
27" iMac (mid 2011), i5 3.1GHz, 12GB RAM, 2 x 120GB OWC Mercury Extreme PRO 6G in RAID 0 config, 1TB HDD
iPhone 4, 16 GB

Last edited by th0rr; Nov 15, 2011 at 02:46 AM. Reason: New info
th0rr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2011, 12:30 PM   #22
muski
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
EFI 1.7 update bricked my iMac with RAID 0 SSDs

I have a 2011 i7 iMac with a 2TB HDD and two 120GB SSDs (installed by OWC) that I run under Software RAID 0 (same performance as th0rr's machine). The iMac EFI 1.7 update bricked it. Thankfully OWC has agreed to fix it, as Apple refused.

Wondering if anyone else had this problem.

I wrote about it in another thread:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost...&postcount=432
muski is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 15, 2011, 06:11 PM   #23
AtlasDC
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by muski View Post
I have a 2011 i7 iMac with a 2TB HDD and two 120GB SSDs (installed by OWC) that I run under Software RAID 0 (same performance as th0rr's machine). The iMac EFI 1.7 update bricked it. Thankfully OWC has agreed to fix it, as Apple refused.

Wondering if anyone else had this problem.

I wrote about it in another thread:

http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost...&postcount=432
I installed my 2 OWC drives yesterday, did a clean install and installed the EFI update without issue. Machine is cranking along nicely:-)
AtlasDC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2011, 11:59 AM   #24
muski
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlasDC View Post
I installed my 2 OWC drives yesterday, did a clean install and installed the EFI update without issue. Machine is cranking along nicely:-)
Helpful and interesting - thanks. I had a couple of questions about the configuration of the machine when you did the update.

1) Are you using RAID 0 on them?

2) Is it your primary boot drive? If so, how did you install Lion? (clone, recovery, etc.).
muski is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 16, 2011, 09:05 PM   #25
hleewell
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Holy Sh...COW !!!!

800 MB/s !!?!??!
Apple should really offer this in their next iMac line-up.
Even Sony offers Quad SSD in RAID 0 ....in their 13" laptop!
This is an amazing upgrade, my friend!!
__________________
MacBook (Alum 2008)
Mac Mini (2010) - RIP
iPhone 5
iPad Air
hleewell is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Tags
ferme, imac, owc, raid 0, ssd

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSD + HDD + Optical Drive in iMac 21.5" Mid 2011 flabriko iMac 2 Oct 8, 2013 08:56 PM
2x500GB SSDs in Mid-2011 iMac Possible? lordking65 iMac 3 May 26, 2013 08:36 AM
Mid 2011 iMac 27": stock HDD speed DOlsson iMac 3 Mar 7, 2013 01:40 PM
21.5" Mid-2011 iMac HDD type? whodareswins iMac 9 Nov 22, 2012 12:15 PM
iMac 27" mid 2011 1TB Seagate hard disk HDD replacement daniirwan iMac 23 Aug 22, 2012 04:12 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:26 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC