Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 27, 2011, 10:22 AM   #1
uRabbit
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2011
OWC Mercury Elite-AL Pro Dual-Bay not being recognized

I'm on the latest build of Lion. Using FW 800.
Just got my 2-bay enclosure yesterday, installed the drives, and it would only recognize one of them. So, I check the connections and all is good. It's pretty hard to mess up a HDD installation, especially in an enclosure. Power cable is good. The FW 800 cable is good. Or, at least, a working USB 2.0 cable is not making the drives work.

So I swap positions of the drives so that they are using the other connection that they weren't before. Nothing. Now neither of them are being recognized at all. Last night, I formatted the one drive and even made a TM backup... Urgh!

Anyone know what this could be? I am going to try their live chat support this evening when I get off work.
__________________
iPhone 4S 16GB White | iPhone 3G S 16GB White | May 2011 iMac 27" // 3.4 GHz i7 // 4 GB DDR3 // 2 TB HDD (1 TB was ordered, but came with 2 TB - BONUS!) // 3 TB ext. // AMD Radeon HD 6970M 2048 MB
uRabbit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2011, 08:55 PM   #2
reputationZed
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: 34°55′42″N 80°44′41″W (34.928201, -80.744835)
IIRC there is a jumper on the enclosures PC board for setting the drives up as RAID0, RAID1, or JBOD. Its possible the jumper may not be in the correct postion, a long shot I'll admit but worth checking out.
__________________
But you and I, we’ve been through that,
And this is not our fate. - Dylan 1968
reputationZed is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 27, 2011, 10:06 PM   #3
uRabbit
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by reputationZed View Post
IIRC there is a jumper on the enclosures PC board for setting the drives up as RAID0, RAID1, or JBOD. Its possible the jumper may not be in the correct postion, a long shot I'll admit but worth checking out.
While the manual does show instructions for RAID settings for my chipset (Oxford 934), the jumpers that it show are not in my enclosure.

edit: In case this matters - the HDD's are spinning up when powered on. Also, the fan in the enclosure is not spinning. However, I doubt either of those are related to this bigger issue...
edit2: In System Profiler, under FireWire Bus, an 'unknown device' is being recognized.
__________________
iPhone 4S 16GB White | iPhone 3G S 16GB White | May 2011 iMac 27" // 3.4 GHz i7 // 4 GB DDR3 // 2 TB HDD (1 TB was ordered, but came with 2 TB - BONUS!) // 3 TB ext. // AMD Radeon HD 6970M 2048 MB

Last edited by uRabbit; Sep 27, 2011 at 10:41 PM.
uRabbit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2011, 08:39 PM   #4
StE823
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Toronto
i have the same enclosure and could not find the jumper too... how can i use raid1 with this enclosure.. it said it support raid0,1 and span on the box!
__________________
2013 Retina MacBook Pro, 2.8ghz core i7, 16gb ram, 256gb, 512gb SSD
2011 iMac 27", 2.7ghz core i5, 32gb ram, OCZ Vertex3 240gb SSD
Space grey iPhone 6 64gb
iPad Mini Retina White 32gb
StE823 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2011, 11:23 PM   #5
reputationZed
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: 34°55′42″N 80°44′41″W (34.928201, -80.744835)
I hard a hard time finding instructions. I think that I might of found them by Googling Oxford raid chipset
__________________
But you and I, we’ve been through that,
And this is not our fate. - Dylan 1968
reputationZed is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2011, 12:41 AM   #6
uRabbit
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2011
I spoke with Tech Support this evening. Turns out it's a bad unit. He said what it was, specifically, but I cannot remember. It was whatever communicates the drives with the enclosure.

I asked him about the RAID jumpers, and he mentioned that this model does not have it, hence why it was on sale. They are in the process of moving to the models with the jumpers. However, he says it is a RAID enclosure, and that it is compatible with my iMac.

We are doing an order switch. They have sent out a new one and I will be sending out mine tomorrow. They put a temporary hold on my account for the amount of the enclosure. It will be reversed once they receive it.

Hopefully this next unit does not go bonkers on me...
__________________
iPhone 4S 16GB White | iPhone 3G S 16GB White | May 2011 iMac 27" // 3.4 GHz i7 // 4 GB DDR3 // 2 TB HDD (1 TB was ordered, but came with 2 TB - BONUS!) // 3 TB ext. // AMD Radeon HD 6970M 2048 MB
uRabbit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2011, 02:53 PM   #7
xraydoc
macrumors Demi-God
 
xraydoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 192.168.1.1
While sometimes items are DOA or mistakes are made, I've found OWC to be a very honorable company and I've been using them for at least 10 years without a single complaint that wasn't rectified.

Just to share, a couple of months ago I ordered a product which went on backorder immediately before mine shipped. When the unit finally shipped (about a 1 week delay), they did not charge me for shipping - without me even asking.

I've got thousands of dollars worth of their products (RAM, drive enclosures, HD and SSD mechanisms purchased from them, cables, etc.) and I'm very satisfied. Even if the same or similar item is a little cheaper on NewEgg, I'll still use OWC.
__________________
3.5GHz i7 27" iMac • Surface Pro 3 i5 • 2.5GHz i5 Mac mini + 27" Thunderbolt display • iPhone 6 Plus
xraydoc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2011, 03:10 PM   #8
uRabbit
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2011
xraydoc,

I have to say that I am satisfied with OWC as well. I have an OWC external that I've had for four years. While the Seagate drive inside is great, so is the enclosure. They sure know how to make quality products.

My only complaint is that they need to update their designs a wee bit. Having an external enclosure (the 2-bay one) that looks like a mini Mac Pro next to my new iMac is a little strange. But at least it matches one of the Apple themes.
__________________
iPhone 4S 16GB White | iPhone 3G S 16GB White | May 2011 iMac 27" // 3.4 GHz i7 // 4 GB DDR3 // 2 TB HDD (1 TB was ordered, but came with 2 TB - BONUS!) // 3 TB ext. // AMD Radeon HD 6970M 2048 MB
uRabbit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2011, 08:21 PM   #9
uRabbit
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Rather than posting a new topic, i hope to be able to get some help thru this thread, since it is somewhat related.

Got the replacement today and it seems to be working.

However, is there a way to not use RAID, or at least get both drives to show up? I have a 1 TB and a 2 TB in there, so - as I understand it - it is showing 2x the smallest drive, being 2 TB. Can I just show both? Can I use both?

Also, with Time Machine; after the backup, will I still be able to use that drive for other storage?
__________________
iPhone 4S 16GB White | iPhone 3G S 16GB White | May 2011 iMac 27" // 3.4 GHz i7 // 4 GB DDR3 // 2 TB HDD (1 TB was ordered, but came with 2 TB - BONUS!) // 3 TB ext. // AMD Radeon HD 6970M 2048 MB
uRabbit is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2011, 09:51 AM   #10
dubaimac
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
I have just received one as well, if it does not have the jumpers then it must be configured using the raid configuration, only works up to snow leopard, or in windows, you can specify 0,1 and individual volumes, I had to speak with them to find this out. +++++++ for OWC service, very happy.
__________________
2012 27 iMac VESA 32GB 768 SSD, 2012 27 iMac VESA 8GB 1TB , Pegasus Thunderbolt 12TB, MinM BOA II, 13 & 15 RMBP, Synology DS1511+ 20TB
dubaimac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2011, 10:07 AM   #11
EEXOOO
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by uRabbit View Post
Rather than posting a new topic, i hope to be able to get some help thru this thread, since it is somewhat related.

Got the replacement today and it seems to be working.

However, is there a way to not use RAID, or at least get both drives to show up? I have a 1 TB and a 2 TB in there, so - as I understand it - it is showing 2x the smallest drive, being 2 TB. Can I just show both? Can I use both?

Also, with Time Machine; after the backup, will I still be able to use that drive for other storage?
If you're using the Oxford 934 Chipset then you MUST use RAID. This specific chipset does not support JBOD or Individual disks.
EEXOOO is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 1, 2011, 12:00 PM   #12
uRabbit
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by EEXOOO View Post
If you're using the Oxford 934 Chipset then you MUST use RAID. This specific chipset does not support JBOD or Individual disks.
Alrighty then. Can I still use 3 TB of space that I have, or just the 2 TB that it shows? And can I see the individual volumes?

Sorry for the ignorance.
__________________
iPhone 4S 16GB White | iPhone 3G S 16GB White | May 2011 iMac 27" // 3.4 GHz i7 // 4 GB DDR3 // 2 TB HDD (1 TB was ordered, but came with 2 TB - BONUS!) // 3 TB ext. // AMD Radeon HD 6970M 2048 MB
uRabbit is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 - Worth it or not? AndrewMRiv Buying Tips and Advice 2 Mar 13, 2014 10:08 PM
esata connection OWC Mercury Elite Dual Dan04MCS Mac Peripherals 4 Feb 3, 2014 11:13 PM
OWC Mercury Elite Pro Dual + LaCie Thunderbolt eSATA Adapter. Worth it? AndrewMRiv Buying Tips and Advice 2 Jan 6, 2014 11:36 PM
OWC Mercury Elite-AL Pro Dual-Bay not being recognized aliensporebomb Mac Peripherals 1 Apr 26, 2013 01:34 PM
NEED info on OWC Mercury Elite Pro Qx2 chipy Mac Pro 5 Sep 27, 2012 05:49 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:27 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC