Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Sep 28, 2011, 06:44 PM   #1
plodkiller
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Memory for PPC G5 2.3DC

I am in the process of possibly buying a G5 2.3 dual core machine. I was wondering if I took a couple of memory modules from my PC, DDR2 800, would they work in the G5?
__________________
MacPro 3.1 6gb;ipad3;iPhone 4s;ipod video;
plodkiller is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 28, 2011, 06:49 PM   #2
reddrag0n
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Canada
Send a message via AIM to reddrag0n Send a message via Skype™ to reddrag0n
It will clock down to 533MHz, but you will want to buy 533MHz RAM.
otherwise it may get temperamental and may cause kernel panics.
__________________
red-drag0n.co.nr
reddrag0n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2011, 11:30 PM   #3
accessoriesguy
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by reddrag0n View Post
It will clock down to 533MHz, but you will want to buy 533MHz RAM.
otherwise it may get temperamental and may cause kernel panics.
too high RAM can potentially cause kernal panics? I thought the motherboard would monitor this but I guess that too can make sense.

I'll keep that in mind during troubleshooting.
__________________
accessoriesguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 29, 2011, 11:53 PM   #4
Nameci
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
Mixed memory RAM speeds can cause KP not too high RAM capacity. They should be installed in pairs on a DC PowerMac.
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 2, 2011, 07:06 PM   #5
MacSince1990
In Time-Out
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
It should be fine. Just don't mix and match different pairs... obviously they need to be installed in pairs for dual-channel operation (doesn't operate in single channel..) but it might not work even mixing groups of two different speeds.

You might want to consider a Quad G5, by the way. Basically twice the power, and not much more money these days.
MacSince1990 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2011, 07:22 AM   #6
plodkiller
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Well I bit the bullet I have bought a 2.3 dual core......I know a quad core would have been not much more but did not a liquid cooled machine. I will try the PC memory in it and will be sure the match the pairs on installation.....it will give me a total of 4 gb which should be enough...

Thx for the replies
__________________
MacPro 3.1 6gb;ipad3;iPhone 4s;ipod video;
plodkiller is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2011, 07:51 AM   #7
Nameci
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
Take note matching pairs from center slot towards the outer slots...
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2011, 07:26 PM   #8
plodkiller
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Well the powermac arrived with tiger installed....booted up really quick and seems to run nicely hooked up to my 1680x1050 monitor. I put in the memory chips from my pc and it recognized them right away with no problem...

One thing I did notice that wasn't in the auction though...it has the airport and bluetooth module fitted bit of a bonus....
__________________
MacPro 3.1 6gb;ipad3;iPhone 4s;ipod video;
plodkiller is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 8, 2011, 07:34 PM   #9
Nameci
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
Good for you, that is around 90usd bonus.
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Were PB Duos PPC or that other pre PPC thing? California PowerPC Macs 5 May 27, 2013 06:45 PM
Adding memory to G5 PPC syrose PowerPC Macs 16 May 3, 2013 06:00 AM
Question re: use of memory in ppc eofeapr PowerPC Macs 1 Mar 30, 2013 01:41 PM
General: Evasi0n, PPC/No, VPC on PPC/No, Linux on PB/No, OS X on AppleTv/No justperry Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 7 Feb 19, 2013 12:35 AM
PPC Mac's and ECC memory? dime21 PowerPC Macs 8 Nov 3, 2012 07:24 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps