Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 2, 2011, 08:29 PM   #1
jhate83
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Handbrake and Transformers - Dark of the Moon

When I select my DVD drive as the source for Handbrake I get an error(Handbrake quit unexpectedly).

So I used Fairmount to copy the disk to my desktop.

Im still getting the error when I select the Video_TS folder as my source.

Here is the top of the error. I tried to paste the whole thing but it was too long.

TIA


Process: HandBrake [23572]
Path: /Applications/HandBrake.app/Contents/MacOS/HandBrake
Identifier: org.m0k.handbrake
Version: 0.9.5 x86_64 (2011010300)
Code Type: X86-64 (Native)
Parent Process: launchd [123]

Date/Time: 2011-10-02 20:27:42.764 -0400
OS Version: Mac OS X 10.7.1 (11B26)
Report Version: 9

Interval Since Last Report: 327053 sec
Crashes Since Last Report: 9
Per-App Interval Since Last Report: 846034 sec
Per-App Crashes Since Last Report: 8
Anonymous UUID: 381502A5-AA70-4815-8E55-1666BDD2735B

Crashed Thread: 7

Exception Type: EXC_BAD_ACCESS (SIGSEGV)
Exception Codes: KERN_INVALID_ADDRESS at 0x0000000185a16dbb

VM Regions Near 0x185a16dbb:
MALLOC_LARGE (reserved 0000000159e00000-0000000175b02000 [445.0M] rw-/rwx SM=NUL reserved VM address space (unallocated)
-->
MALLOC_LARGE (freed) 0000000199de3000-000000019fe23000 [ 96.2M] rw-/rwx SM=PRV

Application Specific Information:
objc[23572]: garbage collection is OFF
__________________
2010 15" MacBook Pro 2.4 Ghz Intel Core i5 Upgraded to 8 GB 1067 Mhz DDR3
jhate83 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2011, 01:06 AM   #2
tbayrgs
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Are you using the autoscan feature or Handbrake to select the source title for encoding? Another forum member expressed having difficultly scanning for the title so I suggested manually selecting the appropriate title. To do so, you need to open the DVD in DVD Player, play the movie and while playing, select Go > Title and you will see a checkmark next to the title number being played.

In Handbrake, select File > Open Source (Title Specific) and manually input the title you identified using DVD Player. This worked for that forum member and has usually been successful for me when I encountered similar difficulties.
tbayrgs is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2011, 11:44 AM   #3
rlu929s
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2011
I ripped it using MAKEMKV first then used Handbrake and that worked fine.
rlu929s is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2011, 02:57 PM   #4
gryff
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by tbayrgs View Post
In Handbrake, select File > Open Source (Title Specific) and manually input the title you identified using DVD Player.
That worked for me! Thanks!
gryff is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2011, 04:35 PM   #5
princethomas
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by gryff View Post
That worked for me! Thanks!
This didn't work for me exactly. I looked at the Titles. Found it was on title 68.

When I go to File>Open Source (Title Specific) it does not give me any prompt to look for 68. It opens it up the same way as it does normally. With just a bunch of VOBs

Any reason why its doing this? Or is there any way to locate title 68 within that bunch of files?

Thanks so much.
-Tom
princethomas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2011, 04:49 PM   #6
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
you still pick the dvd folder as normal ... but afterwards instead of going right into a full disc scan, you will get another prompt to enter the title number into a text field you wish to individually scan. This way HB is not fooled by all of the junk titles.

This is documented in https://trac.handbrake.fr/wiki/Suppo...lespecificscan

Last edited by dynaflash; Oct 26, 2011 at 04:57 PM. Reason: Add link to Frequently Asked Questions.
dynaflash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2011, 05:43 PM   #7
nzlucas
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: London
I've had various DVD titles not work on with either mac the ripper or fairmount. I was especially annoyed that I couldn't copy my copy of Anchor Man.

It's junk data and VOBs apparently I red somewhere on the interweb.
__________________
'Discovered by the Germans in 1904, they named it San Diego, which of course in German means a whale's vagina.' Ron Burgundy
nzlucas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2011, 06:06 PM   #8
princethomas
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Wow. Thanks a ton. Kinda dumb on me for not trying that.
-T
princethomas is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 26, 2011, 06:35 PM   #9
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by nzlucas View Post
I've had various DVD titles not work on with either mac the ripper or fairmount. I was especially annoyed that I couldn't copy my copy of Anchor Man.

It's junk data and VOBs apparently I red somewhere on the interweb.
yep, process above works on anchor man as well as most others.
dynaflash is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 12:03 AM   #10
aldubon
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Smile Try this....

Put movie in, once the actual movie starts to play,
go to top DVD Player Menu, select "Go", then "Title", Look at the title that has the check mark, i.e. 14 (I will use title 14 as an example). Stop DVD player.

Now start Handbrake, at the top menu, select "Handbrake", then "Preferences", then "General", "At Launch", make sure "Show preset Drawer" is checked. In "Source Selection", select "Open Source (Title Specific)".

Now go to "Source", Select the "Movie..i.e. Brave", then "Video_TS", then "Video_TS.BUP", then "Open", now you will get a pop-up that asks to "Scan title Number (i.e 14) for Video_TS.BUP", then "Open Title".....scanning will begin, then you can select "Start" like usual.
aldubon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2013, 10:40 AM   #11
dynaflash
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
You can also hold down the option key clicking on "Open" from a normal open source and it will trigger the title selection sheet to scan just a single title.
dynaflash is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is this Transformers stuff worth anything? RedCroissant Buying Tips and Advice 5 Mar 5, 2013 01:21 PM
iPhone 5 Transformers Case TaylorWright619 iPhone Accessories 4 Oct 16, 2012 04:33 AM
Dark scenes ATV/Handbrake Spacecowboy1 Apple TV and Home Theater 5 Aug 30, 2012 03:11 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC