Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 4, 2011, 09:59 AM   #1
Ommid
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
HELP! Mac Pro won't stay on!!

Hi all

My Mac has been a bit funny recently, when I put it to sleep, the morning after it is on the login screen so it has reset in the night.

Came home today, logged on and it switched off.
Took all the drives out thinking my SSD had died
Came to reinstall Snow Leopard on a fresh HDD and mid install it switched off
Switched graphics cards and it did the same
Took 6 of 8 memory sticks out and still the same.

It doesn't switch off when on the install disc page, but after that I can't do anything!

I have tried PRAM and SMC reset as well as unplugging the machine and removing the battery.

Any ideas anyone??

Could really do with some help here please as I am quite worried!
Ommid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2011, 10:26 AM   #2
initialsBB
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Wirelessly posted (iPhone: Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_5 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8L1 Safari/6533.18.5)

Sounds like something on the motherboard is overheating, probably the processors, and cutting the power ?

Then again, are you sure your power source is stable ? Try plugging the Mac Pro somewhere else and see if it helps.

Last edited by initialsBB; Oct 4, 2011 at 10:27 AM.
initialsBB is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2011, 10:37 AM   #3
Ommid
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Thanks

I got a glimpse of all the iStat temps before shut down and all seemed fine, machine will run for hours after hours if left on the installation disc which is strange because that is SATA too
Ommid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2011, 10:58 AM   #4
flatfoot
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
It could also be the PSU that's going on the fritz.
__________________
Power Mac G5-i7 i7-870@3.52GHz, 8GB CL8 1600MHz RAM, GeForce 9600GT, 360GB internal SSD, 13TB storage + 12.25TB backup via HighPoint RR2314
MBA 2013 1.3 Ci5, 8GB RAM, 128GB SSD
iPod touch 4G 32GB
flatfoot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2011, 11:11 AM   #5
Ommid
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Ok quick update.

Installed Lion from USB. Transfer part from USB went fine.

It then switched off midway through the SSD installation part. I caught a glimpse of a red diagnostic light on the way off so assumed a CPU problem

Did it fine the second time. Have been stressing it for the past 15 minutes with a CPU test, a 1GB file download, a youtube video and all is running fine! CPU cores at 35c and fans are inaudible.

This version of iStat I am running doesn't show any PSU stats.

Please can you advise who I can test the PSU if you think this may be where the problem lies?

Thanks a lot for all your inputs

----------

I also have a feeling that as soon as I try to put the machine to sleep it is going to go haywire again
Ommid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2011, 11:46 AM   #6
flatfoot
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
A dying/corrupted power supply can result in random shut-downs/resets that don't have to occur at power peaks. This fits your scenario where it resets itself while sleeping.

If it weren't a Mac Pro but a regular PC, you could just swap the PSU and see whether the shutdowns still occur.

Since it's a Mac Pro and if you don't have AppleCare (anymore), I guess the only way to check the PSU is by removing it from the Mac Pro enclosure (video manuals available for different models on YouTube) and have an electrician check the components.
A PSU isn't overly complicated, so that shouldn't be too expensive. If the electrician finds the faulty component, he should also be able to replace it.
__________________
Power Mac G5-i7 i7-870@3.52GHz, 8GB CL8 1600MHz RAM, GeForce 9600GT, 360GB internal SSD, 13TB storage + 12.25TB backup via HighPoint RR2314
MBA 2013 1.3 Ci5, 8GB RAM, 128GB SSD
iPod touch 4G 32GB
flatfoot is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2011, 01:31 PM   #7
Ommid
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
I am now seeing a flash of the over temp light after the shut down and on attempt of booting up. I can't imagine that both chips will be over temp!

Hmm...
Ommid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2011, 01:40 PM   #8
eljanitor
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ommid View Post
Ok quick update.

Installed Lion from USB. Transfer part from USB went fine.

It then switched off midway through the SSD installation part. I caught a glimpse of a red diagnostic light on the way off so assumed a CPU problem

Did it fine the second time. Have been stressing it for the past 15 minutes with a CPU test, a 1GB file download, a youtube video and all is running fine! CPU cores at 35c and fans are inaudible.

This version of iStat I am running doesn't show any PSU stats.

Please can you advise who I can test the PSU if you think this may be where the problem lies?

Thanks a lot for all your inputs

----------

I also have a feeling that as soon as I try to put the machine to sleep it is going to go haywire again
To test the PSU you need a GOOD DVOM (Digital Volt Ohm Meter) and the repair manual for that model of Mac Pro. The repair manual gives you the pin outs on the power connector of the PSU to check the condition of the PSU.

If you're getting over temp lights / CPU failure lights on the logic board, you could have a bad logic board, or faulty/ corrupted firmware update. To test the RAM you need to test it in pairs, and that takes time.

Hope this helps you.
eljanitor is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2011, 02:26 PM   #9
Ommid
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
No luck, have tested all pairs.

Have tested both video cards

It is just switching straight off now even with no hard drives in.

Ommid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2011, 02:55 PM   #10
flatfoot
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
I'm quite sure it's the PSU.
__________________
Power Mac G5-i7 i7-870@3.52GHz, 8GB CL8 1600MHz RAM, GeForce 9600GT, 360GB internal SSD, 13TB storage + 12.25TB backup via HighPoint RR2314
MBA 2013 1.3 Ci5, 8GB RAM, 128GB SSD
iPod touch 4G 32GB
flatfoot is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2011, 04:32 PM   #11
Ommid
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by flatfoot View Post
I'm quite sure it's the PSU.
I hope you are right!

Don't think I can stomach it being the logic board.

Thanks for all your help today.

Will keep you all posted tomorrow once I have been to Apple!
Ommid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2011, 05:17 AM   #12
Ommid
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Worked honky dory since I made this thread.

All of a sudden last night it switched off in Aperture and now it chimes and turns off
Ommid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2011, 06:55 AM   #13
Ommid
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
https://discussions.apple.com/thread...art=0&tstart=0
Ommid is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resolved: Mac Pro wont stay asleep + Networking issue UncleSchnitty Mac Pro 8 May 22, 2014 04:43 PM
Mac Pro won't Stay Asleep elliots11 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 0 Jan 11, 2014 07:23 PM
Mac won't stay sleep for more than 1 second metasone Mac Pro 3 Aug 29, 2013 09:33 AM
Mac BOok Pro won't stay connected to my android phone flowerhope MacBook Pro 3 May 14, 2013 12:58 AM
My 4s won't remember to auto connect to my wifi and it won't stay connected aliensarecool iPhone 2 Sep 20, 2012 06:47 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC