Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

dbooster

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 18, 2004
Hey all-

I have a MN-700 (microsoft) wireless router that I have been using flawlessly for my network for several months. Never had a problem. Now this past weekend I upgraded to Tiger. When installing it never complained about not being able to connect to the net to send my registration and stuff, but when the installation was complete it refused to connect to the wireless network. Thinking I must have remembered the password wrong, I reset the router. My powerbook still refuses to connect. I wondered if maybe the router went bad, so I asked my dad to bring his laptop over (a sony - winxp) and try to connect - it connects fine. So the problem is with my laptop; ok, narrowed down at least.

Just in case - and since I never liked that microsoft router anyways (the whole MS thing) - I went today and bought a D-Link router (DI-524). I power it on and it seems to be working (status and wlan lights and going) but as soon as I turn my airport on the network drops and the D-Link resets itself.

ok, so this only confirms the problem is with my laptop. Yet everything was fine before I upgraded to Tiger. Are there any bugs in Tiger to causes problems like this or something. I am fairly clueless here, so I would really apprecate any help at all. I don't know which log files to post or anything, so if you need those in order to help me, please specify.

Thanks!!

-dave

(btw, I am just connecting straight via ethernet to my cable modem right now to post this)

e²Studios

macrumors 68020
Apr 12, 2005
dbooster said:
Hey all-