Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 6, 2011, 04:12 PM   #1
Wingston
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southend on Sea, Essex, UK
Question G5 won't use startup disc with OSX 10.5

I have a G5 1.8 dual core, 4.5gb of ram running OS X 10.4.11. I battled to install 10.5 on it and ended up taking the secondary drive out and sticking it in my Mac Pro. Eventually managed to format it 'GUID Partition' and got the OS installed. Stuck it back in the G5 and it appears as a startup disk option. But when I select it the machine keeps reverting back to the original 10.4.11. If I disconnect the drive with 10.4.11 I just get the little alternating face and question mark as if I have no drive in the machine. Also tried swapping the drives around the slots as a last ditch attempt that I thought wouldn't work and I was right. Can anyone help? I fired up this machine and stuck a third party airport card in it but in the three years since I used it in anger a lot has changed. I can't get the latest iTunes or Adobe flash played installed and a whole bunch of stuff needs 10.5 or above. Any ideas anyone. I am going to try disconnecting the airport card and I'll come back if it makes a difference.
Thanks
Phil.
Wingston is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2011, 09:24 PM   #2
VanneDC
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dubai, UAE
wth, installing 10.5 should not be a drama...

have you got the retail disk? does disk util from booting off the retail 10.5 disk not work???

bloody trippy!!!

and a 1.8 DC?? i doubt that since they never made them.. you mean a dual processor??
__________________
Late 2011 Macbook Pro 15"
BUILDING: TB eGPU Sonnet Echo Express + GTX480
Wacom Cintiq 21UX 24" Sony PS3 3D display.
VanneDC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2011, 09:50 PM   #3
Nameci
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
There is no 1.8GHz dual core PowerMac G5. But there is a 1.8GHz dual processor.

You made it wrong, in order for the powermac to boot on the drive (leopard), it should be partitioned and formatted as APM or Apple partition map.
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2011, 06:18 AM   #4
Wingston
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southend on Sea, Essex, UK
Thanks

yes I do mean dual processor, not dual core, oops. I do have the discs. When I tried direct from disc it simply told me I couldn't do it on this PC. I then tried in through fire wire and it wanted me to partition it GUID. Pulled the drive from the G5 and stuck it in my Pro. Same thing, wanted me to format GUID. I didn't get the option to format GUID until I erased the drive in the Pro. Having formatted it as requested by the machine I managed to load 10.5 but now the drive is back in the G5 it won't boot from it. Is this because of the partition format? Not at the machine right now but if I need Guid to install from the pro but Apple map to run on the G5 I am stuffed as it simply won't load from disk on the G5.

Any more thoughts gratefully received.

Thanks.
Wingston is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2011, 09:16 AM   #5
Nameci
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
Hard drives formatted as GUID cannot be used as boot drives for PPC macs.

In order to boot on PPC it should be APM, no shortcuts. Find an iBook or a Powerbook and install through firewire target mode.
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2011, 09:27 AM   #6
VanneDC
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dubai, UAE
Using a 10.5 grey disc or a black one to install the os?
__________________
Late 2011 Macbook Pro 15"
BUILDING: TB eGPU Sonnet Echo Express + GTX480
Wacom Cintiq 21UX 24" Sony PS3 3D display.
VanneDC is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2011, 10:59 AM   #7
Marcush1286
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Hi,

The grey discs for Leopard are all for Intel based Macs of that time frame, so none of those will work at all. You will need the black retail 10.5 or 10.5.4 disc to install on a PowerPC Mac. Those grey discs are meant for Intel macs which originally shipped with Leopard.


Quote:
Originally Posted by VanneDC View Post
Using a 10.5 grey disc or a black one to install the os?
Marcush1286 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2011, 11:59 AM   #8
zen.state
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
A drive using GUID will NEVER boot on a PowerPC Mac. Period. You need to use Apple Partition Map.

You can't expect success when you kill your chances in the first step..
zen.state is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2011, 01:26 PM   #9
Wingston
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southend on Sea, Essex, UK
Thanks again

So I need to format Apple Partition Map and install from a black retail disc. I'll be back with either more thanks or more questions. Cheers people.
Wingston is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2011, 04:00 PM   #10
Wingston
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southend on Sea, Essex, UK
Leopard Disc

Jesus H Christ, why are Leopard retail discs so expensive? My Snow Leopard cast me about 25 and this earlier version is 60 at the cheapest and that's a scruffy copy in a paper sleeve.
Wingston is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 7, 2011, 04:56 PM   #11
Nameci
macrumors 68000
 
Nameci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: 今天窝在中国广东深圳
Send a message via MSN to Nameci Send a message via Yahoo to Nameci Send a message via Skype™ to Nameci
You asked for it. It ain't cheap. Go find friends with Leopard retail disk and borrow one. Partition and format your HDD as APM and I am sure that it will work, unless your optical drives have some issues reading DVD-DL's.
__________________
PMG5 Quad|2xPMG5 2.3DC|PMG5 1.8DP|2xPMG4 1.42DP|PMG4 PCI|PMG3 B&W|17' iMac 2.0|20" iMac 2.0|12" iBook 1.33|15" PowerBook 1.67HR/DLSD|BlackBook 2.4C2D|Late '09 MacMini
Nameci is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Startup disc full mcooke MacBook Pro 5 Jan 9, 2014 07:21 AM
No startup disc icon BeejayUK iMac 3 Dec 18, 2012 10:07 AM
Startup disc full letortugaaa Mac Basics and Help 3 Sep 14, 2012 10:45 AM
no Windows Disc Option On Startup RushRealSlow Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 1 Jul 31, 2012 08:41 PM
Startup Disc Full Skorman Mac Basics and Help 6 Jun 18, 2012 09:03 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:08 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC