Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Old Oct 9, 2011, 12:52 AM   #1
EmbraceTheOne
macrumors 6502a

Fully Charge my iPhone before use?

Do I need to fully charge it before I turn it onand use it? Or can I fire that sucker up? Everytime I see a review/unboxing of an iPhone, Everyone powers it on right away. Does this decrease battery life?

I've done some research on this, Some sites say yes, other sites say no. I know its an Li-on battery. But I don't know if it's better to charge it all the way, or let it die, then charge it.

Edit: I know it's going to have some juice in it. I just want to Maximize battery life.
EmbraceTheOne is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2011, 12:53 AM   #2
Badandy
macrumors 68040

I'm no electrical engineer, but I'm convinced it doesn't matter. That being said, they usually don't take that long to charge anyway so why not play with it while it's plugged in?
Old Oct 9, 2011, 12:53 AM   #3
ZBoater
macrumors 604

Fire that puppy up! No way I'm waiting for a full charge. I'll play with it while it's plugged in if I have to....
Old Oct 9, 2011, 12:54 AM   #4
iDuel
macrumors 6502a

Nope! It should have enough power. You can start using it right away!
Old Oct 9, 2011, 12:55 AM   #5
EmbraceTheOne
macrumors 6502a

Quote:
Originally Posted by Badandy View Post
I'm no electrical engineer, but I'm convinced it doesn't matter. That being said, they usually don't take that long to charge anyway so why not play with it while it's plugged in?
Im convinced too.
But everyone I get a new Replacement phone (EnV Touch) It states Fully Charge it for 12 hours.

But then again, It's not Li-On.
EmbraceTheOne is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 9, 2011, 01:28 AM   #6
forza69
macrumors 6502a

I remember reading somewhere that it's better to let your iPhone die completely then fully charge it. Not sure if it's true, but I'm going to do it anyway.
Old Oct 9, 2011, 01:30 AM   #7
steve knight
macrumors 65816

Quote: