Go Back   MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 12, 2011, 10:57 AM   #51
Four oF NINE
macrumors 65816
 
Four oF NINE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Soviet Union
Hi there!

What about MAC OS X 10.6.9 for Snow Leopard users?
Four oF NINE is offline   -2 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 11:05 AM   #52
Darth.Titan
macrumors 68020
 
Darth.Titan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by applesith View Post
Too bad it doesn't work with non network devices
Silliest post in the thread. You want Apple to provide an App that configures other companies' hardware? Most other routers can be configured via a browser anyway so there's no problems making changes on an iOS device.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gemütlichkeit View Post
This really should be part of the settings menu. Not a stand alone app
No it shouldn't. Most people don't use Apple's networking hardware, and Airport settings would confuse them.
Darth.Titan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 11:06 AM   #53
iCrizzo
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Burlington, VT
Quote:
Originally Posted by frunkis54 View Post
anyone have a link its not comming up for me?
http://itunes.apple.com/us/app/airpo...6530?mt=8&ls=1
__________________
about
iCrizzo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 11:18 AM   #54
flopticalcube
macrumors G4
 
flopticalcube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the velcro closure of America's Hat
Quote:
Originally Posted by Four oF NINE View Post
Hi there!

What about MAC OS X 10.6.9 for Snow Leopard users?
What about it?
__________________
Read the Rules / Search the Forums / Use a Descriptive Title
Mac Won't Boot?
flopticalcube is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 11:20 AM   #55
nwcs
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Tennessee
Quote:
Originally Posted by c613m View Post
Weird, just clicked on the link from my iPhone and voila, there's the app. lol thanks!
Yep, confirmed. For some reason it won't pull up on the web. Maybe it hasn't propagated yet.
__________________
This space intentionally not blank
nwcs is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 11:30 AM   #56
scoobydoo99
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: so cal
...but why?

So, it looks like a nice little app. But why would I need it? My Time Capsule is set up to work with my MacBook Pro, iPhone, and Apple TV. After the initial setup, it has always worked. I can't even remember the last time I needed to access AirPort Utility.

Just can't understand why some ppl say "Finally! I've been waiting for this..." (?) I mean, i'm glad u got it - I just don't know why it matters.
__________________
scoob
scoobydoo99 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 11:34 AM   #57
Mike Oxard
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by scoobydoo99 View Post
So, it looks like a nice little app. But why would I need it? My Time Capsule is set up to work with my MacBook Pro, iPhone, and Apple TV. After the initial setup, it has always worked. I can't even remember the last time I needed to access AirPort Utility.

Just can't understand why some ppl say "Finally! I've been waiting for this..." (?) I mean, i'm glad u got it - I just don't know why it matters.
It's part of "no PC required thing", so you can get an iPad with no home computer needed at any point. The iPad/Phone/Pod can now set up your network where before you needed a computer.
Mike Oxard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 11:35 AM   #58
Four oF NINE
macrumors 65816
 
Four oF NINE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Soviet Union
Quote:
Originally Posted by flopticalcube View Post
What about it?
Hi there!

The question is will there be one released to enable Snow Leopard users to use iCloud?
Four oF NINE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 11:36 AM   #59
Danny Mac
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Quote:
Originally Posted by scoobydoo99 View Post
So, it looks like a nice little app. But why would I need it? My Time Capsule is set up to work with my MacBook Pro, iPhone, and Apple TV. After the initial setup, it has always worked. I can't even remember the last time I needed to access AirPort Utility.

Just can't understand why some ppl say "Finally! I've been waiting for this..." (?) I mean, i'm glad u got it - I just don't know why it matters.
Because as with iOS 5 and them "cutting the cord" from computers, a lot of iOS devices obviously run on wifi and would like to administrate those networks without having to jump on a desktop or notebook.

It serves to further making iOS devices independent. That's my understanding anyways.
Danny Mac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 11:40 AM   #60
flopticalcube
macrumors G4
 
flopticalcube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the velcro closure of America's Hat
Quote:
Originally Posted by scoobydoo99 View Post
So, it looks like a nice little app. But why would I need it? My Time Capsule is set up to work with my MacBook Pro, iPhone, and Apple TV. After the initial setup, it has always worked. I can't even remember the last time I needed to access AirPort Utility.

Just can't understand why some ppl say "Finally! I've been waiting for this..." (?) I mean, i'm glad u got it - I just don't know why it matters.
Because for some of us things change frequently. I live in a household of 5 people and their network needs change and its usually when I'm not on a computer, whether its changing a network password, checking log files, adding a disk or printer, checking device status, etc. Its probably not useful for someone with just a single device or whose requirements are static. Ultimately, it papers over the flaw in that the Airport devices require a proprietary interface but that is for another thread.

EDIT: Just thought of another use. You are traveling with your Express (as many do). You no longer need a laptop to configure it. Just bring your iPad/iPhone/iPod touch.
__________________
Read the Rules / Search the Forums / Use a Descriptive Title
Mac Won't Boot?

Last edited by flopticalcube; Oct 12, 2011 at 12:42 PM.
flopticalcube is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 11:41 AM   #61
bacaramac
macrumors 65816
 
bacaramac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by igazza View Post
next will be iWork for iOS
If your statement is about updating iWork for iCloud/iOS 5. I thought Apple already did this update and rolled it out?? If they did, the software probably just looks for the version of iOS software and then iCloud setting and then allows the enhanced functionality.
__________________
iMac 27" 3.06Ghz 2TB Time Capsule and AP Express Current Gen AppleTV x 3 iPhone 5s Space Gray 16Gb iPod Touch 4th Gen White iPad mini White/Silver 16GB WiFi
bacaramac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 11:41 AM   #62
flopticalcube
macrumors G4
 
flopticalcube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the velcro closure of America's Hat
Quote:
Originally Posted by Four oF NINE View Post
Hi there!

The question is will there be one released to enable Snow Leopard users to use iCloud?
This thread is about Airport Utility for iOS devices. Snow Leopard already has an Airport Utility. It has nothing whatsoever to do with iCloud.
__________________
Read the Rules / Search the Forums / Use a Descriptive Title
Mac Won't Boot?
flopticalcube is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 11:47 AM   #63
frunkis54
macrumors 65816
 
frunkis54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by iSaxon View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by iCrizzo View Post
thank you
frunkis54 is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 11:50 AM   #64
diddl14
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Just tried it out. The first time you press 'edit' on an Airport Extreme it asks for the password. So far so good.

But than it has an 'advanced' option where it shows the password

And now for the real bad part: after stopping the app (double-click home, kill app) and starting it again, it no longer asks for the master password.

So, simply put, using this tool once will make your base station + wifi password visible to anyone that get's a hand on your iPhone.

Oh, and for the real, real, real, real bad part: even rebooting the phone doesn't help. Edit mode is enabled forever, until you delete the tool.
diddl14 is offline   -3 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 11:51 AM   #65
World Citizen
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by applesith View Post
Too bad it doesn't work with non network devices
You can edit your other peripherals via IP... no app needed.

Non issue
World Citizen is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 11:55 AM   #66
diddl14
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by diddl14 View Post
Just tried it out. The first time you press 'edit' on an Airport Extreme it asks for the password. So far so good.

But than it has an 'advanced' option where it shows the password

And now for the real bad part: after stopping the app (double-click home, kill app) and starting it again, it no longer asks for the master password.

So, simply put, using this tool once will make your base station + wifi password visible to anyone that get's a hand on your iPhone.

Oh, and for the real, real, real, real bad part: even rebooting the phone doesn't help. Edit mode is enabled forever, until you delete the tool.
Oh, and to make it even worser than worse. Deleting the app doesn't delete the password. Just reinstall the app and your precious passwords are out in the open again.
diddl14 is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 11:56 AM   #67
rorschach
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gemütlichkeit View Post
This really should be part of the settings menu. Not a stand alone app
Actually, they've sort of done the "best of both worlds."

It's a standalone app so they can update it without a whole OS update.

But there is also a "Manage Network" button right in the Wi-Fi network settings that opens the app. If you don't have it installed it opens the App Store page so you can download it.
__________________
MacBook Air 13-inch (Mid 2012), iPhone 6
rorschach is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 12:07 PM   #68
admanimal
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Four oF NINE View Post
Hi there!

The question is will there be one released to enable Snow Leopard users to use iCloud?
The other question is what will I have for dinner tonight, which is only slightly less relevant to this thread than your question.
admanimal is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 12:08 PM   #69
mostlydave
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Why is there any reason this can't update any model of Airport Express? It won't work with my Wireless G airport Express . I don't need Wireless N speeds to stream music to my speakers on my desk
mostlydave is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 12:10 PM   #70
JHankwitz
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Send a message via AIM to JHankwitz
Quote:
Originally Posted by applesith View Post
Too bad it doesn't work with non network devices
How could you possible expect Apple's network utility to work with non-Apple equipment? That's like expecting a Toyota Prius transmission to work in a Chevy Volt. They're totally different systems. Apple's equipment is designed to work together, not to be hacked to work with everything else.
JHankwitz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 12:12 PM   #71
rorschach
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by applesith View Post
Too bad it doesn't work with non network devices
Bug Linksys or whoever makes your router to make an app. They are more than welcome to do so.
__________________
MacBook Air 13-inch (Mid 2012), iPhone 6
rorschach is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 12:38 PM   #72
iSee
macrumors 68040
 
iSee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
This is cool...

...and a small but necessary piece of the puzzle which lets idevices work without a PC or Mac of any kind.
__________________
"Nobody ever reads these things so I can write anything. I'd eat bananas every day if they were crunchy."
iSee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 12:59 PM   #73
RMo
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Iowa, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by sionharris View Post
I assume this is free? I'm browsing on a Windows PC so I can't check.
Maybe some day Apple will finally make iTunes for Windows!

Just kidding (I'm assuming you're on a work computer or something without iTunes)--but you don't even need iTunes to view App (or iTunes, by the way) Store descriptions and whatnot. The link provided in the summary takes you to the Web-based view.

As others have mentioned, the price is listed as "Free."

I appreciate Apple's efforts to make the iPad more usable without a full-fledged computer.
RMo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 01:08 PM   #74
diddl14
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Anyone figured out how to prevent the master+wifi passwords from being visible every time the app is started? I've tried a couple things but so far no luck...
diddl14 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 01:44 PM   #75
jsoto
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chicago
Send a message via MSN to jsoto Send a message via Yahoo to jsoto Send a message via Skype™ to jsoto
Quote:
Originally Posted by flopticalcube View Post
finally! I no longer have to get to a computer to administer my network!
:d
__________________
iPhone 4 32 GB Blk,iPhone 3G 16 GB Blk,iPod 4th Gen 40GB,2xiPod Classic 6th Gen 120 GB;MBP 2.66 i7 500 Gb Hd, Various Windows Machines
jsoto is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > News and Article Discussion > MacRumors.com News Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Updated 'Remote' App With iOS 7 Redesign Hits App Store MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 135 Dec 13, 2013 08:12 AM
'Infinity Blade III' Hits the App Store Ahead of iOS 7 Launch MacRumors iOS Blog Discussion 27 Sep 18, 2013 10:04 PM
'LEGO Batman: DC Super Heroes' Hits iOS App Store MacRumors iOS Blog Discussion 17 May 8, 2013 09:21 PM
iOS 6 Adoption Up 29% After Google Maps Hits App Store MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 148 Dec 27, 2012 12:07 AM
Jungle Haste a jump and run game for iOS hits the App Store FlagellumDei iPhone and iPod touch Apps 0 Sep 7, 2012 10:06 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC