Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 12, 2011, 10:35 AM   #1
danny_w
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Will factory unlocked iPhones work on T-Mobile?

I know that the only "official" GSM provider in the US is AT&T, and that I can unlock (via a hack) an iPhone to use on T-Mobile (but limited to EDGE speeds for data). My question is concerning the factory unlocked iPhones (3GS, 4, and now 4S) that you buy at full price from Apple. Will they also work on T-Mobile?
__________________
2012 Mac Mini i7 2.3 GHz Samsung 840 ssd 10.8.5, iPhone 4 (T-Mobile) 6.1, TV2 (2), iPad2 16GB
danny_w is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 10:41 AM   #2
dontwalkhand
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Send a message via AIM to dontwalkhand
This question has been answered time and time again. It'll work like the factory unlocked iPhone 4 which means just fine. You may have to call T-Mobile to enable international text to activate FaceTime, but that's it :-)

It'll text the UK once, but when it's activated it'll use Wi-Fi for FaceTime
__________________
Once you go you never go back
iPhone 5S 16GB White & Silver Sprint::2010 MacBook Air 13" 1.86 C2D::iPad mini Space Gray 16GB Wi-Fi::Various other Apple products.
dontwalkhand is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 10:50 AM   #3
whynot83706
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by dontwalkhand View Post
This question has been answered time and time again. It'll work like the factory unlocked iPhone 4 which means just fine. You may have to call T-Mobile to enable international text to activate FaceTime, but that's it :-)

It'll text the UK once, but when it's activated it'll use Wi-Fi for FaceTime
It will work, but speed on iPhone 4 on T-Mobile was not so great....maybe it will be better with this one.
__________________
iMac 20 - iPad 4 - iPhone 5S - TV - Nikon D7100
New Mac User - Since 11.08.2007
www.cookmagic.net
whynot83706 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 10:50 AM   #4
madridista59
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by dontwalkhand View Post
This question has been answered time and time again. It'll work like the factory unlocked iPhone 4 which means just fine. You may have to call T-Mobile to enable international text to activate FaceTime, but that's it :-)

It'll text the UK once, but when it's activated it'll use Wi-Fi for FaceTime
Can you please elaborate a bit more on this or direct me to a link? I just picked up a factory unlocked 4 last night for use on tmo, and I didn't even think about facetime being an issue or not. I figured everything would work as advertised. Thank you!
madridista59 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 11:07 AM   #5
dontwalkhand
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Send a message via AIM to dontwalkhand
Quote:
Originally Posted by madridista59 View Post
Can you please elaborate a bit more on this or direct me to a link? I just picked up a factory unlocked 4 last night for use on tmo, and I didn't even think about facetime being an issue or not. I figured everything would work as advertised. Thank you!
FaceTime activates by silently texting a UK number and receiving a silent text from Apple. Everthing else will work fine out of the box. You will also need to use the settings app to configure MMs and tethering settings by hand.
__________________
Once you go you never go back
iPhone 5S 16GB White & Silver Sprint::2010 MacBook Air 13" 1.86 C2D::iPad mini Space Gray 16GB Wi-Fi::Various other Apple products.
dontwalkhand is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 11:16 AM   #6
danny_w
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Thanks for all of the good info everyone! I had done a search but had not found this specific question asked.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini i7 2.3 GHz Samsung 840 ssd 10.8.5, iPhone 4 (T-Mobile) 6.1, TV2 (2), iPad2 16GB
danny_w is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 11:21 AM   #7
SFStateStudent
macrumors 604
 
SFStateStudent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: San Francisco California, USA
Send a message via AIM to SFStateStudent Send a message via Yahoo to SFStateStudent Send a message via Skype™ to SFStateStudent
The nice thing about T-Mobile is the $50 fee; but as others have stated the iPhone data plan operates on the EDGE network which is 2007 technology. Slower than slow, but acceptable by others standards...
__________________
MBP 2.5GHz 640GB 4GB RAM Mac Pro iPhone 4S iOS 5 Black 64GB AC+ NEW iPad Apple TV 2G
SFStateStudent is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 11:28 AM   #8
philiplipetz
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
T Mobile only works at 2G specs as Applle left out the T Mobile 3G frequencies.
philiplipetz is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 11:32 AM   #9
Diode
macrumors 68020
 
Diode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Washington DC
Send a message via AIM to Diode
Quote:
Originally Posted by philiplipetz View Post
T Mobile only works at 2G specs as Applle left out the T Mobile 3G frequencies.
The supposed chip, the Qualcomm MDM6600, in the 4S supports T-Mobile AWS 3G signals - question is if they are enabled in the firmware. Only way to test is for a person to try it.....
__________________
16GB iPhone 4; 2.4 GHZ C2D iMac 4GB Ram; 32GB iPad2; AppleTV2
Diode is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 11:34 AM   #10
danny_w
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by SFStateStudent View Post
The nice thing about T-Mobile is the $50 fee; but as others have stated the iPhone data plan operates on the EDGE network which is 2007 technology. Slower than slow, but acceptable by others standards...
It's only $10 for me as an added line on a family plan. And Most everywhere that I need data there is wifi, so I just disable cellular data. I currently have a Samsung Galaxy S 4G but am really missing my iPhones (had the original and a 4 on AT&T). The only misgiving that I have is that iPhone Mail (and Mac Mail for that matter) does not play nicely with Gmail, but I understand that they have an iPhone-optimized website. True? I use Sparrow on my Macs.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini i7 2.3 GHz Samsung 840 ssd 10.8.5, iPhone 4 (T-Mobile) 6.1, TV2 (2), iPad2 16GB
danny_w is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 11:55 AM   #11
osofast240sx
macrumors 68000
 
osofast240sx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by dontwalkhand View Post
This question has been answered time and time again. It'll work like the factory unlocked iPhone 4 which means just fine. You may have to call T-Mobile to enable international text to activate FaceTime, but that's it :-)

It'll text the UK once, but when it's activated it'll use Wi-Fi for FaceTime
I just called tmobile and it's 10 dollars to add international talk and text. Just to be sure once I activate FaceTime do I have to keep the international talk and text?
__________________
iPhone 5s 64Gb T-mobile Gold13" MacBookPro BaseiPad air, ATV3Airport ExpressiPhone 5, 64Gb, black(wife)iPad mini(wife)
osofast240sx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 12:06 PM   #12
dontwalkhand
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Send a message via AIM to dontwalkhand
Quote:
Originally Posted by osofast240sx View Post
I just called tmobile and it's 10 dollars to add international talk and text. Just to be sure once I activate FaceTime do I have to keep the international talk and text?
No but keep in mind you may need it again if you remove your SIM or restore your iPhone.
__________________
Once you go you never go back
iPhone 5S 16GB White & Silver Sprint::2010 MacBook Air 13" 1.86 C2D::iPad mini Space Gray 16GB Wi-Fi::Various other Apple products.
dontwalkhand is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 12:06 PM   #13
Chaos123x
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

The qualcomm chip in the 4S can use t-mobiles 3G bands but the real question is does the software on the 4S allow you to use it.
Chaos123x is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 12:11 PM   #14
osofast240sx
macrumors 68000
 
osofast240sx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chaos123x View Post
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8J2 Safari/6533.18.5)

The qualcomm chip in the 4S can use t-mobiles 3G bands but the real question is does the software on the 4S allow you to use it.
Why wouldn't they? Apple wants to sell phones unlocked/unrestricted! They would be opening themselves to legal problems.
__________________
iPhone 5s 64Gb T-mobile Gold13" MacBookPro BaseiPad air, ATV3Airport ExpressiPhone 5, 64Gb, black(wife)iPad mini(wife)
osofast240sx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 01:30 PM   #15
danny_w
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by dontwalkhand View Post
FaceTime activates by silently texting a UK number and receiving a silent text from Apple. Everthing else will work fine out of the box. You will also need to use the settings app to configure MMs and tethering settings by hand.
Why would it text a UK number if activating in the US? I have unlimited family texting on T-Mobile.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini i7 2.3 GHz Samsung 840 ssd 10.8.5, iPhone 4 (T-Mobile) 6.1, TV2 (2), iPad2 16GB
danny_w is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 01:44 PM   #16
macinnv
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by osofast240sx View Post
Why wouldn't they? Apple wants to sell phones unlocked/unrestricted! They would be opening themselves to legal problems.
It doesn't allow T-Mobile USA 3G bands. The Apple spec sheet for the iPhone 4S confirms this.
macinnv is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 05:50 PM   #17
osofast240sx
macrumors 68000
 
osofast240sx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_5 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8L1 Safari/6533.18.5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dontwalkhand
Quote:
Originally Posted by osofast240sx View Post
I just called tmobile and it's 10 dollars to add international talk and text. Just to be sure once I activate FaceTime do I have to keep the international talk and text?
No but keep in mind you may need it again if you remove your SIM or restore your iPhone.
Still no FaceTime. What's my next step text the UK? How?

Thanks
__________________
iPhone 5s 64Gb T-mobile Gold13" MacBookPro BaseiPad air, ATV3Airport ExpressiPhone 5, 64Gb, black(wife)iPad mini(wife)
osofast240sx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2011, 10:32 AM   #18
osofast240sx
macrumors 68000
 
osofast240sx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Still no FaceTime
Going to upgrade to ios5 today, maybe the face time will appear.
__________________
iPhone 5s 64Gb T-mobile Gold13" MacBookPro BaseiPad air, ATV3Airport ExpressiPhone 5, 64Gb, black(wife)iPad mini(wife)
osofast240sx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2011, 10:42 AM   #19
madridista59
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by osofast240sx View Post
Still no FaceTime
Going to upgrade to ios5 today, maybe the face time will appear.
you're using a factory unlocked correct? when you update could you please report back and let us...well, me...know if mms (both sent and received) works without any issues? thanks!
madridista59 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2011, 11:54 AM   #20
osofast240sx
macrumors 68000
 
osofast240sx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by madridista59 View Post
you're using a factory unlocked correct? when you update could you please report back and let us...well, me...know if mms (both sent and received) works without any issues? thanks!
Yes factory unlocked, not jail broken.

----------

FaceTime is working with the installation of iOS 5

----------

FaceTime is working but the MMS is not letting me send a photo
__________________
iPhone 5s 64Gb T-mobile Gold13" MacBookPro BaseiPad air, ATV3Airport ExpressiPhone 5, 64Gb, black(wife)iPad mini(wife)
osofast240sx is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2011, 08:33 AM   #21
danny_w
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Well I got a jailbroken/unlocked 3GS from a local phone store and am using it on T-Mobile right now. They had advertised a 3GS still in warranty with the matching box for $200 but by the time I got there that one had been sold and I ended up with another not in warranty and without the matching box (although they did give me a 3G box). Cosmetically it is in pristine condition (looks like new actually) but occasionally the touch input freezes up and I will usually have to put it to sleep and wake it up to get touch input working again (sometimes pressing the Home button brings the touch input back, but usually not). They said if it does it again to bring it in frozen, but the problem with that is that as soon as it goes to sleep it "fixes" itself so I can no longer show the problem. What should I do in this case?
__________________
2012 Mac Mini i7 2.3 GHz Samsung 840 ssd 10.8.5, iPhone 4 (T-Mobile) 6.1, TV2 (2), iPad2 16GB
danny_w is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2012, 08:38 AM   #22
danny_w
Thread Starter
macrumors 601
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Austin, TX
I briefly tried an iPhone 4 unlocked via Gevey sim and the result was just downright painful. The unlocking process is not reliable at all, and it takes many tries to get it to actually work. Well I finally got tired of the unlocking/updating/jailbreaking stupidity and just went and got a factory unlocked iPhone 4 from the local Apple store. Yes it cost quite a bit but it is so nice not to have to worry about these things any more.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini i7 2.3 GHz Samsung 840 ssd 10.8.5, iPhone 4 (T-Mobile) 6.1, TV2 (2), iPad2 16GB
danny_w is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anybody able to use facetime chat from a factory unlocked iPhone 4 on t-mobile? shark29 iPhone 3 Jan 22, 2011 03:13 PM
Will Factory Unlocked iPhone from Czech Republic Work in US? dysert iPhone 8 Dec 13, 2009 05:20 AM
Will an unlocked iPhone work on Voodafone in the UK? mongrel73 iPhone 10 Jul 19, 2009 10:42 AM
My unlocked iphone works on T-mobile!! mudmanmike iPhone 9 May 6, 2009 07:35 PM
PLEASE HELP Will an unlocked iphone work on Vodafone UK Anna06 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 3 Jan 10, 2009 02:44 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:22 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC