Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > iCloud and Apple Services

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 12, 2011, 09:19 PM   #1
dimi94941
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Devices list on iTunes

So about this Wi-fi syncing... how am I supposed to add a song from my computer and not iTunes now? Or my home made ringtone and etc. I have to connect it to iTunes with USB in order to show the "devices list" so I can add songs to "Music" and etc.

Is there any option in iTunes that will always show the devices list? I searched and looked but didn't found nothing...
dimi94941 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 09:23 PM   #2
dhy8386
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by dimi94941 View Post
So about this Wi-fi syncing... how am I supposed to add a song from my computer and not iTunes now? Or my home made ringtone and etc. I have to connect it to iTunes with USB in order to show the "devices list" so I can add songs to "Music" and etc.

Is there any option in iTunes that will always show the devices list? I searched and looked but didn't found nothing...
You misunderstand. Wifi syncing is syncing to your computers iTunes without needing a cord. For example, phone is in your back pack. It has been set to sync over Wifi. Now you open up iTunes on your computer. The iPhone will show up in the device list (assuming its on the same Wifi network). Its the EXACT same as with the cord only without the cord.

You are referring to iTunes in the cloud. But it doesn't work like that. You are just able to see all your music and apps and books on the iDevice and download them if you want to without needing the computer.

You use both together.
dhy8386 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 09:26 PM   #3
dimi94941
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Yes, I get that, but my phone won't show up on the devices list even though they are in the same wifi. Because I have my own music from cd for example that I would like to add to my iPhone but can't because it won't show up on devices list. But when I connect it with the USB cord, it shows up.
dimi94941 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 09:28 PM   #4
dhy8386
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by dimi94941 View Post
Yes, I get that, but my phone won't show up on the devices list even though they are in the same wifi. Because I have my own music from cd for example that I would like to add to my iPhone but can't because it won't show up on devices list. But when I connect it with the USB cord, it shows up.
Connect via USB cord. When it shows up, click on the iPhone. Make sure you are on the summary tab. At the bottom under options, make sure to select Sync with this iPhone over Wi-Fi. Once check, hit apply at the bottom right. Now disconnect the cord and you will see the iPhone remaining in the device list.
dhy8386 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 2011, 09:38 PM   #5
dimi94941
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Wow, thank you, don't know how I missed that one.
dimi94941 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2011, 01:43 PM   #6
herman bloom
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhy8386 View Post
Connect via USB cord. When it shows up, click on the iPhone. Make sure you are on the summary tab. At the bottom under options, make sure to select Sync with this iPhone over Wi-Fi. Once check, hit apply at the bottom right. Now disconnect the cord and you will see the iPhone remaining in the device list.
OK, so that options simply does not show up under my summary page. And yes, I have the newest itunes and ios 5 installed on my devices.

Do I need to be running Lion for this?

Frustrating.....
herman bloom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2011, 01:49 PM   #7
dhy8386
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by herman bloom View Post
OK, so that options simply does not show up under my summary page. And yes, I have the newest itunes and ios 5 installed on my devices.

Do I need to be running Lion for this?

Frustrating.....
Minimum 10.6.8 i am pretty sure. so no, not lion but latest SL
dhy8386 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > iCloud and Apple Services

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATV 3 not showing on iTunes devices list! migakira Apple TV and Home Theater 4 May 28, 2013 03:52 PM
How do you list your Macs and other Apple devices at the bottom? cinnabun93 Mac Basics and Help 4 Mar 15, 2013 07:54 PM
Cannot get the simulators in list of IOS devices in Xcode Vishwas Gagrani iPhone/iPad Programming 2 Jan 17, 2013 06:27 AM
External devices not appearing on Mountain Lion desktop or devices list. stop.the.clocks Mac Basics and Help 1 Aug 17, 2012 01:14 PM
Why do applications list as Devices to eject macvirgin2013 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Jul 4, 2012 02:24 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC