Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > iOS 5 and earlier

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 13, 2011, 05:55 PM   #26
DVDxR
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by sn View Post
Thanks for the suggestion. Unfortunately it has been running when I've been trying. Cheers though.

----------



Yeah, didn't really want to try that but might be getting to the point where it's worth it.
Can you sync it by starting the sync FROM iTunes? With the phone unplugged from the PC, it should still show up. You should be able to right-click and select Sync. It will search for the phone for about 40 seconds then start the sync.
DVDxR is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2011, 06:10 PM   #27
miKe.Tomb
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by DVDxR View Post
Can you sync it by starting the sync FROM iTunes? With the phone unplugged from the PC, it should still show up. You should be able to right-click and select Sync. It will search for the phone for about 40 seconds then start the sync.
I do not see my phone in iTunes available for that option at all. The only time my phone shows up in iTunes is if i directly connect it to the computer.
miKe.Tomb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2011, 06:10 PM   #28
sn
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by DVDxR View Post
Can you sync it by starting the sync FROM iTunes? With the phone unplugged from the PC, it should still show up. You should be able to right-click and select Sync. It will search for the phone for about 40 seconds then start the sync.
It's not actually showing up in iTunes. Plugging the iPhone into power has produced the same results as it did in iOS 4. i.e., it charges the phone. No communication with iTunes at all.
sn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2011, 06:16 PM   #29
marc11
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NY USA
I know this is a silly question but is your computer on wi fi or Ethernet?


---
I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=35.687035,139.728312
__________________
Various Apple Products
marc11 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2011, 06:17 PM   #30
sn
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by marc11 View Post
I know this is a silly question but is your computer on wi fi or Ethernet?


---
I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=35.687035,139.728312
Wi-Fi. Not a bad suggestion though. Wouldn't be surprised if the solution turns out to be something obvious like that.
sn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2011, 06:17 PM   #31
miKe.Tomb
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
I just noticed while checking my itunes settings that it unselected my option to have itunes in the system tray and to minimize to system tray. Seems to me iTunes 10.5 is not keeping its settings properly stored on the computer due to 2 times having settings unselected without my knowledge. Firstly after plugging in my phone it unselected the sync over wifi option. Secondly it unselected the system tray options in preferences.

I think we need to start looking into iTunes and what OS youre using. I'm currently working with iTunes 10.5 on WinXP 32bit.

Pretty sure this issue we're having is going to come down to a full uninstall with registry deletion. Full reinstall and test.
miKe.Tomb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2011, 06:21 PM   #32
sn
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by miKe.Tomb View Post
I just noticed while checking my itunes settings that it unselected my option to have itunes in the system tray and to minimize to system tray. Seems to me iTunes 10.5 is not keeping its settings properly stored on the computer due to 2 times having settings unselected without my knowledge. Firstly after plugging in my phone it unselected the sync over wifi option. Secondly it unselected the system tray options in preferences.

I think we need to start looking into iTunes and what OS youre using. I'm currently working with iTunes 10.5 on WinXP 32bit.
I'm basically on the latest of everything:

- iOS 5
- iTunes 10.5
- OS X 10.7.2
sn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2011, 06:26 PM   #33
miKe.Tomb
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
So its happening across the board then. I'm starting to believe we were given a dirty upgrade. I've read countless reports of people not having problems at all so its gotta be just a bad install of the update.
miKe.Tomb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2011, 06:30 PM   #34
wargamer6
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
I had this problem but I restored it and all is working.
wargamer6 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2011, 06:46 PM   #35
miKe.Tomb
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
So, um, I just closed my iTunes. Plugged my phone into the wall outlet. Sync option was available with iTunes closed!!! Makes nooooo sense at all.

I hit sync and iTunes stayed closed. So i opened it and of course nothing was happening and it didnt even work lol. WOW
miKe.Tomb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2011, 08:28 PM   #36
DVDxR
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by sn View Post
It's not actually showing up in iTunes. Plugging the iPhone into power has produced the same results as it did in iOS 4. i.e., it charges the phone. No communication with iTunes at all.
That may point to part of the problem. On windows (don't have a Mac handy) it is there now. Right now my phone is in the other room and I can initiate a sync from iTunes. Prior to this version it would disappear as soon as I unplug.

You're right, there sounds like there is a bug or at least an un-obvious trick to get it to work.
DVDxR is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2011, 08:36 PM   #37
miKe.Tomb
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
I did a restore on my iPhone and its still not working as intended. I got to go back to work. Basically the phone is fine. Its iTunes that is messed up and not working as intended.
miKe.Tomb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 13, 2011, 09:52 PM   #38
gage006
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Surely View Post
If you have a dual-band router, you have to make sure both devices are on the same band.

I was having wifi sync issues, but I figured out that is was because my Mini is on the 'n' band and my iP4 is on the 'g' band. Once I switched my Mini over to the 'g' band, it synced.


Scratch that. Now it seems to be wifi syncing without issue with my Mini on 'n' and my iPhone on 'g'.

How strange.
Holy crap. That fixed my problem. That's rather annoying as the iPhone won't connect to my 5ghz connection all my other machines use.

Also disappointed to see that the 4S is still 2.4ghz only as well.
gage006 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2011, 01:44 AM   #39
jedelaney01
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Grass Valley, Ca
I found the solution

All you have to do is connect your phone to your computer like you used to do ( USB cord). Click on the iPhone device on the left side of the screen and then scroll down to "options" and check the box "Sync with this iPhone over Wi-Fi".
jedelaney01 is offline   -2 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2011, 03:07 AM   #40
miKe.Tomb
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jedelaney01 View Post
All you have to do is connect your phone to your computer like you used to do ( USB cord). Click on the iPhone device on the left side of the screen and then scroll down to "options" and check the box "Sync with this iPhone over Wi-Fi".
Gotta love the fools that post such dumb stuff without even reading the thread
miKe.Tomb is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2011, 03:18 AM   #41
sn
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jedelaney01 View Post
All you have to do is connect your phone to your computer like you used to do ( USB cord). Click on the iPhone device on the left side of the screen and then scroll down to "options" and check the box "Sync with this iPhone over Wi-Fi".
All you have to do is read the thread.
sn is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2011, 04:20 AM   #42
class77
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
The solution I found is kind of strange. You have to have iTunes open on your computer for the wireless sync to work!If you turn iTunes off, the "Sync Now" options gets greyed out and "Sync will resume when class77's Mac is available" now shows up on the screen. Turn iTunes back on and everything starts working again even it you are not physically connected.

One other thing I've noticed about wireless sync. If you will look at iTunes, you will see that the device you've just synced wirelessly is now showing up in Devices on your Mac and there's an ejection button beside it. Does that now mean that you need to go to your Mac and eject the device everytime you wirelessly sync? Kind of defeats the purpose of wireless syncing, doesn't it?

Is there an option to have iTunes start when the computer does?
__________________
2011 Mac Mini, 2.7 Dual Core i7, 8GB RAM, 750GB, 10.7.3 24" iMac, 3.06GHz C2D, 4GB RAM, 1TB HDD, 10.6.8 iPad 4 64G, iPad 3 64GB, iPad 32 GB  iPhone 5  Airport Extreme 5
class77 is offline   -2 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2011, 04:24 AM   #43
James Bond
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Zealand
Quote:
Originally Posted by class77 View Post
The solution I found is kind of strange. You have to have iTunes open on your computer for the wireless sync to work!If you turn iTunes off, the "Sync Now" options gets greyed out and "Sync will resume when class77's Mac is available" now shows up on the screen. Turn iTunes back on and everything starts working again even it you are not physically connected.

One other thing I've noticed about wireless sync. If you will look at iTunes, you will see that the device you've just synced wirelessly is now showing up in Devices on your Mac and there's an ejection button beside it. Does that now mean that you need to go to your Mac and eject the device everytime you wirelessly sync? Kind of defeats the purpose of wireless syncing, doesn't it?

Is there an option to have iTunes start when the computer does?
My iTunes is open and running most of the time.

Still no cigar!
James Bond is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2011, 04:29 AM   #44
sn
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by class77 View Post
The solution I found is kind of strange. You have to have iTunes open on your computer for the wireless sync to work!If you turn iTunes off, the "Sync Now" options gets greyed out and "Sync will resume when class77's Mac is available" now shows up on the screen. Turn iTunes back on and everything starts working again even it you are not physically connected.

One other thing I've noticed about wireless sync. If you will look at iTunes, you will see that the device you've just synced wirelessly is now showing up in Devices on your Mac and there's an ejection button beside it. Does that now mean that you need to go to your Mac and eject the device everytime you wirelessly sync? Kind of defeats the purpose of wireless syncing, doesn't it?

Is there an option to have iTunes start when the computer does?
Thanks for the suggestion but this has been covered in the thread already.
sn is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2011, 04:39 AM   #45
atmc
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Porto, Portugal
Even though I've selected in iTunes to sync over wi-fi (in both my iPad 2 and iPhone 3GS), and even though iTunes is running, I can't make this work. Last night I tried again and booth devices appeared on iTunes, and I could sync my iPad once. The next time, it didn't work, and both devices disapeared from iTunes. This is very strange.
atmc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2011, 05:05 AM   #46
sn
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
To those that can't be bothered to read the thread (or even just the original post apparantly), here's what I and others with this issue have already covered in this thread:

- Updated to iTunes 10.5
- Updated to iOS 5
- Updated to OS X 10.7.2
- Synced iPhone fully before trying Wi-Fi Sync
- Selected the "Sync with this iPhone over Wi-Fi" option in iTunes
- Connected iPhone to power
- Left iTunes running before connecting iPhone to power
- Not had iTunes running before connecting iPhone to power

Feel free to suggest anything that HASN'T already been suggested!

Thanks
sn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2011, 05:37 AM   #47
CHRONiC YOUTH
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
- you don't need to be plugged in except for the first time when u check wifi sync, after that u just exit itunes and open it up again and it'll find your device and sync
CHRONiC YOUTH is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2011, 05:39 AM   #48
sn
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHRONiC YOUTH View Post
- you don't need to be plugged in except for the first time when u check wifi sync, after that u just exit itunes and open it up again and it'll find your device and sync
either way it's not working.
sn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2011, 05:43 AM   #49
CHRONiC YOUTH
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by sn View Post
either way it's not working.
well i done it a million times bro and let me tell u it's slow anyways lol
CHRONiC YOUTH is offline   -2 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2011, 05:43 AM   #50
NWI73
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Do you have "sync with this computer" selected instead of sync with iCloud?
NWI73 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > iOS 5 and earlier

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iTunes "Alternative" with an iPhone companion app to sync to? Glassed Silver Mac Applications and Mac App Store 6 Nov 7, 2013 05:25 PM
"Mirror"/Sync Macbook air and iMac Knisse Mac Basics and Help 3 Nov 6, 2013 12:57 PM
iTunes bug? iPhone won't sync because "there is not enough free space" sportsfrk214 iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 3 Jun 27, 2013 08:01 AM
Problems with Google Sync on my iPhone 4 - "connection to the server failed" beyondthesmile iPhone 12 Mar 4, 2013 08:04 AM
iTunes Sync "App Name" failed to sync. misterjay iOS 6 0 Dec 4, 2012 08:38 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC