Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 14, 2011, 06:04 AM   #1
Sir Ruben
macrumors 65816
 
Sir Ruben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
iPhone 4S: cant find the option to turn 3G off anymore?!

Have they removed it? Or am I having a blonde moment?
__________________
iMac (27") iPad Air (16GB White) Retina iPad Mini (16GB White) iPhone 5S (16GB Space Gray) Apple TV rMBP (13")
My Flickr
Sir Ruben is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2011, 06:09 AM   #2
jonnyb
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: London, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Ruben View Post
Have they removed it? Or am I having a blonde moment?
What network are you on? On Three in the UK, you can't switch to 2G any more
jonnyb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2011, 06:11 AM   #3
Sir Ruben
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Sir Ruben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonnyb View Post
What network are you on? On Three in the UK, you can't switch to 2G any more
Orange, and on my iPhone 4 it was an option (kept it off most of the time to save battery).

One theory I have is that the option dissapears if you have Siri turned on. Havent had the chance to test that theory yet though.

It may be the case that with Siri on 3G is auto selected which may account for the reduced battery standby time on the 4S?
__________________
iMac (27") iPad Air (16GB White) Retina iPad Mini (16GB White) iPhone 5S (16GB Space Gray) Apple TV rMBP (13")
My Flickr
Sir Ruben is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2011, 06:43 AM   #4
bige12
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
It is in settings under general then network you will see something for. 3G network
bige12 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2011, 06:51 AM   #5
Sir Ruben
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Sir Ruben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by bige12 View Post
It is in settings under general then network you will see something for. 3G network
Yeah thats where it always was on my IP4, on my 4S 'cellular data' is the first option, 3G option is just not there!
__________________
iMac (27") iPad Air (16GB White) Retina iPad Mini (16GB White) iPhone 5S (16GB Space Gray) Apple TV rMBP (13")
My Flickr
Sir Ruben is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2011, 07:00 AM   #6
sullez
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Well how do we know what will fit if we are ordering online? I ordered a speck candy shell by speck and idk if it will fit .
sullez is offline   -5 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2011, 07:02 AM   #7
mikethebigo
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2009
It was removed from the iPad 2 earlier this year as well.
__________________
When you feel like getting in an argument with someone on the internet, see here.
mikethebigo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2011, 07:05 AM   #8
Sir Ruben
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Sir Ruben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikethebigo View Post
It was removed from the iPad 2 earlier this year as well.
Really?? This was always a handy tip for people wanting to improve battery life and I personally found it to make a noticable difference.

Plus I am always connected to wifi at work and home so rarely have any need for 3G at all, so in my case all it does is give me a shorter battery life, great!
__________________
iMac (27") iPad Air (16GB White) Retina iPad Mini (16GB White) iPhone 5S (16GB Space Gray) Apple TV rMBP (13")
My Flickr
Sir Ruben is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2011, 07:06 AM   #9
mikethebigo
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Ruben View Post
Really?? This was always a handy tip for people wanting to improve battery life and I personally found it to make a noticable difference.

Plus I am always connected to wifi at work and home so rarely have any need for 3G at all, so in my case all it does is give me a shorter battery life, great!
They've made some pretty big strides with the cellular technology. The 3G chip will lay dormant if you're on wifi, and won't use much battery at all.

That being said, I'll miss the option too, sometimes if 3G was congested I could drop down to EDGE to get a call through.
__________________
When you feel like getting in an argument with someone on the internet, see here.
mikethebigo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2011, 07:12 AM   #10
icanhasiphone?
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: San Diego, CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikethebigo View Post
They've made some pretty big strides with the cellular technology. The 3G chip will lay dormant if you're on wifi, and won't use much battery at all.

That being said, I'll miss the option too, sometimes if 3G was congested I could drop down to EDGE to get a call through.
So does mean you wont be able to use the 4S unlocked on T-Mobile USA?? For it to work on their network you have to turn off 3g...
__________________
 Aluminum 24" iMac 2.8GHz 4GB RAM 2TB HD
 Yellow & black 5G 30GB ipod (colorware painted)
 40GB AppleTV
8GB White unlocked iPhone 4 64GB WiFi+3G iPad 2
icanhasiphone? is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2011, 07:14 AM   #11
mikethebigo
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by icanhasiphone? View Post
So does mean you wont be able to use the 4S unlocked on T-Mobile USA?? For it to work on their network you have to turn off 3g...
The phone is still capable of 2G, you just can't force the phone to use it if you have 3G available.

If you put a T-Mobile SIM in, it will connect to the only network available, the EDGE network.

EDIT: Just to clarify, I don't have an iPhone 4S yet. I'm basing this off of conjecture. I don't know for sure the turn off 3G option has been removed.
__________________
When you feel like getting in an argument with someone on the internet, see here.
mikethebigo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2011, 07:15 AM   #12
JulianL
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: London, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikethebigo View Post
It was removed from the iPad 2 earlier this year as well.
It's a concern for me since I also keep my iPhone 4 locked to 2G to extend battery life but if this is how it is now then I suppose that I'll just have to adjust. I'll let my iPhone 4 use 3G from now on so that I get used to the lower battery life and then I won't be so bothered when I upgrade, either to a 4S when the launch frenzy has subsided but more likely to a 5 when it arrives next year.

This might also confirm my theory about another debate going on in these forums - why has the quoted standby time of the 4S reduced by a full third vs the iPhone 4? The iPhone 4 specs quote 300 hour standby time and the iPhone 4S quotes 200 hours; that's a big difference. One of my theories was that Apple have moved from specifing the standby figure for a 2G connection to specifying it for a 3G connection and if the option to lock to 2G is now removed then that would make sense.

- Julian
JulianL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2011, 07:49 AM   #13
Sir Ruben
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Sir Ruben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by JulianL View Post
This might also confirm my theory about another debate going on in these forums - why has the quoted standby time of the 4S reduced by a full third vs the iPhone 4? The iPhone 4 specs quote 300 hour standby time and the iPhone 4S quotes 200 hours; that's a big difference. One of my theories was that Apple have moved from specifing the standby figure for a 2G connection to specifying it for a 3G connection and if the option to lock to 2G is now removed then that would make sense.

- Julian
I agree, OR it maybe an issue at my end that a restore might resolve. It could also be provider specific, but i dont think so as the sim came directly out of my iPhone 4 which did show the option.

It could be a ploy so that Siri works as well and as often as possible (because it requires a decent speed of data connection).
__________________
iMac (27") iPad Air (16GB White) Retina iPad Mini (16GB White) iPhone 5S (16GB Space Gray) Apple TV rMBP (13")
My Flickr
Sir Ruben is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2011, 07:56 AM   #14
imac9556
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Ruben View Post
I agree, OR it maybe an issue at my end that a restore might resolve. It could also be provider specific, but i dont think so as the sim came directly out of my iPhone 4 which did show the option.

It could be a ploy so that Siri works as well and as often as possible (because it requires a decent speed of data connection).
Try resetting the network settings under General -> Reset?
imac9556 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2011, 08:01 AM   #15
nebo1ss
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by icanhasiphone? View Post
So does mean you wont be able to use the 4S unlocked on T-Mobile USA?? For it to work on their network you have to turn off 3g...
Turning off 3g to use T-Mobile has always been unnecessary. It will help find the 2G network faster but it will eventually find the 2g network and lock on it going forward.
nebo1ss is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2011, 08:06 AM   #16
Applejuiced
macrumors Nehalem
 
Applejuiced's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: At the iPhone hacks section.
Quote:
Originally Posted by nebo1ss View Post
Turning off 3g to use T-Mobile has always been unnecessary. It will help find the 2G network faster but it will eventually find the 2g network and lock on it going forward.
That is false.
If you leave 3G on your signal will flunctuate from 1 to 5 bars to zero and many times just searching.
There's a reason they tell you to turn off 3G if you're using it on Tmobile USA.
Applejuiced is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2011, 06:16 AM   #17
berger34
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
yeah they removed the option to turn off 3G

resetting or restoring or doing a rain dance won't change it.
berger34 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2011, 07:05 AM   #18
notjustgc
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: NJ
This is really a serious problem. My parents live in an area where there is just enough of a shade of 3G to keep their iPhones from auto-switching to EDGE. So now they're stuck with two dead iPhones, all the time.
notjustgc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2011, 11:40 PM   #19
Saileshbreaker
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
This is why Apple increased the 3G usage time

Imo, when you turn off data usage on the 4S, it automatically switches to 2G. as apple says the following on its website : Talk time: Up to 8 hours on 3G, up to 14 hours on 2G (GSM) , so if its always on 3G, then the 2G is fake?

Last edited by Saileshbreaker; Oct 15, 2011 at 11:56 PM.
Saileshbreaker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2011, 09:55 AM   #20
No1Chris
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
-_-

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikethebigo View Post
They've made some pretty big strides with the cellular technology. The 3G chip will lay dormant if you're on wifi, and won't use much battery at all.

That being said, I'll miss the option too, sometimes if 3G was congested I could drop down to EDGE to get a call through.
Just got off the phone with orange they say because I live in a place were there is 2G and 3G the iPhone 4s gets confused between the two and I keep losing connection -_- I'm sending it back, apparently its just the network so i might try Three.

Macbook pro 17'', Intel i7 2nd gen 2.2ghz 4gb ram , amd 6750m 1gb vram

And HP pavilon dv6 15.5'', Intel i3 2nd gen 2.1ghz 4gb ram ,amd 6480m 1gb vram, Beats Audio.
No1Chris is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2011, 12:15 AM   #21
Jcrd
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Why did apple decide to remove it in the first place????
So stupid!
I'd like them to give us the answer to that question...
Jcrd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2011, 02:05 AM   #22
macingman
macrumors 68020
 
macingman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
I wonder if when a Jailbreak comes out whether SBsettings could do it.
__________________
I am a professional DJ
macingman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2011, 11:21 AM   #23
scaredpoet
macrumors 603
 
scaredpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jcrd View Post
Why did apple decide to remove it in the first place????
So stupid!
I'd like them to give us the answer to that question...
The claim that I've heard from a few Apple Reps is that it has to do with the different 3G chipset in the iPhone 4S. It's a multimode system that will let them use the same system for either a CDMA or a GSM network. The bad news is, there is (supposedly) no software method to manually control whether you're on UMTS or EDGE.

That's the claim from Apple. I don't know if it's true or not. They've certainly told/suggested a few fibs in the past (the original iPad can't support mirrored video out, for instance. Or that the iPhone 4 doesn't have the hardware oomph to support SIRI.).
__________________
If you're not a clairvoyant, then you shouldn't be speaking for a dead guy.
I'm here to talk about Apple stuff, and related tech stuff. Your political beliefs? I really couldn't care less about.
scaredpoet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2011, 12:17 PM   #24
orgazmo
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
The 4 has the option with the current software, but the 4s does not. Siri does not matter, its still not there. The problem here is that sometimes when you travel internationally, 2g works better than 3g. Very annoying.
orgazmo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2012, 05:24 AM   #25
DerekRod
macrumors Demi-God
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: NYC
iOS 5.1 restores the turn off 3G toggle it was all over these forums last week
DerekRod is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Find my iPhone wont turn off spin89 iOS 7 6 Jul 7, 2013 01:50 AM
Force password when wanting to turn find my iPhone off! hreyhrey iOS 6 17 Jun 12, 2013 10:22 PM
iPhone 4 won't charge/turn on anymore yungplayz iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 2 Jun 12, 2013 09:01 AM
Turn off sound find my iphone Brendude iPhone and iPod touch Apps 1 Oct 24, 2012 01:38 PM
How to turn off Find My iPhone alert? Bossyman iPhone 5 Sep 22, 2012 01:26 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:28 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC