Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 14, 2011, 03:52 PM   #1
vance09
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
using super duper backup

i cannot backup from the lion dos using super duper ,i have to re-boot with an older dos like snow leopard and then back up lion dos to another drive ,it keeps saying i have permission problems with the main drive .
any ideas ,what are people using for backups
vance09 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2011, 03:56 PM   #2
simsaladimbamba
macrumors Core
 
simsaladimbamba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: located
Do you mean "OS" (Operating System) or "dos" (DOS?)?
What exact Mac and Mac OS X versions do you use and what external HDD, and how is it connected, do you use for backing up?

Since when does this error occur and have you tried repairing permissions yet?

Anyway, I, and many other humans, use CarbonCopyCloner, as it is free and does its job well.
__________________
FREEdomly passports. Circumwent bürocrazy.
simsaladimbamba is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2011, 06:45 PM   #3
derbothaus
macrumors 601
 
derbothaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by vance09 View Post
i cannot backup from the lion dos using super duper ,i have to re-boot with an older dos like snow leopard and then back up lion dos to another drive ,it keeps saying i have permission problems with the main drive .
any ideas ,what are people using for backups
Need a little more info on this. Why can't you backup to SD? It works in Lion. Repair your permissions and try again. Sometimes it can loose the link to the backup. This can be solved by mounting the .dmg and pointing destination to the mounted volume. Each subsequent launch it will auto mount the volume for you.
Are you trying to backup Lion to the 10.6 image you previously have tried to backup to? This is a bad idea and you should have 1 backup for Lion and 1 for Snow Leopard not just one big backup you are trying to update with new OS.
__________________
Mac Pro W3680, GTX 680, 12GB DDR3, SSD; MBP, 2.6GHz Core i7, 16GB DDR3, SSD; Eizo fs2333
derbothaus is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2011, 06:48 PM   #4
weinschela
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: New York suburb
I've had no problem backing up with Super Duper in 10.7, whether 10.7.1 or 10.7.2
weinschela is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2011, 05:40 PM   #5
nambuccaheadsau
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Nambucca Heads Australia
Your post is a bit confusing mentioning dos - SuperDuper works just great with all released versions from Tiger, including OZ x.7.2.
__________________
Quad Core 2.66GHz Mac Pro, 16GB RAM, OWC Mercury Electra SSD and Velociraptor drives, BenQ 22" LED and OS X.7.4.
nambuccaheadsau is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 22, 2011, 08:06 PM   #6
vance09
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
backing up

my problems of backing seem to have disappeared when i upgraded super duper and also tried carbon copy(newest version) all seems to be ok now ,thanks for all the answers
vance09 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2011, 01:08 PM   #7
Boston007
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by vance09 View Post
my problems of backing seem to have disappeared when i upgraded super duper and also tried carbon copy(newest version) all seems to be ok now ,thanks for all the answers
You must have been using the Super Duper release that was not updated for Lion.

BTW, Super Duper is one of the best backup utilities I have. I love it!
__________________
MacPro 3,1 2-2.8GHz Quad-Core/10GB; iPad Air WiFi+4G 32GB; iPhone 5S 32GB; iPod Shuffle 1GB (2nd Generation)
Boston007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2011, 03:04 PM   #8
gglockner
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bellevue, WA
I use both SuperDuper and Carbon Copy Cloner. SuperDuper is simple, has great AppleScript support, and is generally faster for incremental backups, though recent releases of Carbon Copy Cloner have reduced the speed gap. But Carbon Copy Cloner supports network backups, and occasionally CCC will work when SuperDuper fails.
__________________
Giving my money to Apple since 1993.
gglockner is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > Mac Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Super Duper/CCC but for Windows Flynnstone Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Apr 23, 2014 07:42 AM
Super Duper Interrupted by Accident vahnx Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Dec 26, 2013 11:42 AM
Transfering applications to new iMac using Super Duper gonzali7 iMac 2 Sep 8, 2013 01:03 PM
SSD to SSD backups = using CCC or Super Duper to backup main SSD to optical bay SSD imorton MacBook Pro 10 Feb 17, 2013 10:35 PM
Super Duper question velvetlounger Mac mini 7 Nov 15, 2012 10:35 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:04 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC