Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 15, 2011, 06:45 PM   #1
chrislaw
macrumors 6502a
 
chrislaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: central ohio
Send a message via Yahoo to chrislaw
Startup disk no space

Ok so I've been trying to search around for this but don't know exactly what to do with any of the answers I've found... not a smart one at this type of thing

So I get the "your mac os x startup disk has no more space for application memory" message. I am not too sure how to alleviate this issue.

It brings up the window to close some things but the only thing in it are Firefox and finder.

My HD has 370gb used and 630gb free. My cpu says 6% user, 4% system and 90% idle. My memory says 472mb wired, 637mb active, 105mb inactive and 6.85gb free.

With the most simplest of explanations, what the heck do i do? I assume a restart will temporarily fix this issue but what do i have to do to fix it?

The issue is on my iMac.. thanks for any help!
__________________
21.5" iMac-8gb RAM-1tb HD
13" Macbook Pro-8gb RAM-750gb HD
32gb White iPhone 5
Twitter - @ceegeelawrence Instagram - @ceegeelawrence

Last edited by chrislaw; Oct 16, 2011 at 08:52 PM.
chrislaw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2011, 07:52 PM   #2
Detrius
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Asheville, NC
630GB free? or 630MB free?

The system is acting like you're out of RAM and disk space.
__________________
ACMT, ACTC, ACSA
C# w/.NET 4, Entity Framework, and T4; JavaScript; Bash; Awk; C++ w/wxWidgets and Boost; ANTLR(C), flex/bison; Objective-C; C
Detrius is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2011, 08:52 PM   #3
chrislaw
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
chrislaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: central ohio
Send a message via Yahoo to chrislaw
Quote:
Originally Posted by Detrius View Post
630GB free? or 630MB free?

The system is acting like you're out of RAM and disk space.
sorry, 630gb free. I have a 1tb HD and 8gb of ram with practically nothing running.

I just cant figure out how i could be out of anything. Everything was closed down in my applications except finder and firefox.
__________________
21.5" iMac-8gb RAM-1tb HD
13" Macbook Pro-8gb RAM-750gb HD
32gb White iPhone 5
Twitter - @ceegeelawrence Instagram - @ceegeelawrence
chrislaw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2011, 01:49 AM   #4
twinturbo350z
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
I'm having a similar problem so i freed up my bootcamp partition which was 220gigs about an hour later i get the message again and it said i had 900mb avail I've jus browsed the internet what could possibly have take 200 gigs in that short amount of time
twinturbo350z is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2011, 07:33 AM   #5
chrislaw
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
chrislaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: central ohio
Send a message via Yahoo to chrislaw
maybe its just one of those mysteries :P

I noticed mine happened after i ran an update...
__________________
21.5" iMac-8gb RAM-1tb HD
13" Macbook Pro-8gb RAM-750gb HD
32gb White iPhone 5
Twitter - @ceegeelawrence Instagram - @ceegeelawrence
chrislaw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2011, 09:10 AM   #6
Detrius
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Asheville, NC
What OS are you running? Is it Lion?

Is Mail one of the programs that's open?
__________________
ACMT, ACTC, ACSA
C# w/.NET 4, Entity Framework, and T4; JavaScript; Bash; Awk; C++ w/wxWidgets and Boost; ANTLR(C), flex/bison; Objective-C; C
Detrius is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2011, 11:21 AM   #7
velocityg4
macrumors 68040
 
velocityg4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Georgia
Could be a corrupted pagefile.

Here is a thread on the issue. https://discussions.apple.com/thread...art=0&tstart=0

Try the Applejack solution about 3/4 the way down the page by Adhuston.
__________________
Quadra 650 040 33MHz 72MB RAM, 2GB HD, 2x CD
Macbook C2D 2.0Ghz; 3GB RAM, 500GB HD
Home Made i5 4.0Ghz, GeForce 560 Ti, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD RAID 0, 3TB HD RAID 0 in a G5 Case.
velocityg4 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2011, 11:29 AM   #8
IC3D
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fairfield County, CT
 
Send a message via AIM to IC3D Send a message via Skype™ to IC3D
This happens with me over and over again with Mail.. mail from my Recovered Mail keeps coming back, after I delete it from the folder and from Mail.app. Weird stuff man. lol
__________________
IC3D.NET - ILLEST.ORG
Mac Pro 2.8ghz Quad | RAID 0 setup | 10GB ram - Dual ACD 30's RMBP 2.7ghz i7 15" 16GB ram 512GB flash SSD iMac 3.4ghz i7 27" 16GB ram 256GB SSD
IC3D is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2011, 08:47 PM   #9
chrislaw
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
chrislaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: central ohio
Send a message via Yahoo to chrislaw
I don't use the mail app. It opens every once in awhile but the only place i use it is on my phone. I just go directly to Yahoo for my mail on the computer. But no it was not open when i got the message.

And no I'm not on Lion. I'm on the latest update of Snow Leopard as is my MBP which is use the same way as my iMac generally (i.e. no mail program). But have no issues on my MBP.

I will try AppleJack and report back... thanks
__________________
21.5" iMac-8gb RAM-1tb HD
13" Macbook Pro-8gb RAM-750gb HD
32gb White iPhone 5
Twitter - @ceegeelawrence Instagram - @ceegeelawrence
chrislaw is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2011, 08:27 AM   #10
Detrius
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Asheville, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by IC3D View Post
This happens with me over and over again with Mail.. mail from my Recovered Mail keeps coming back, after I delete it from the folder and from Mail.app. Weird stuff man. lol
You have an email message stuck in the .OfflineCache of one of your IMAP accounts. I found an Apple Script earlier this year that will clear it out. I'm on my iPhone, so it's much easier just to tell you to google ".OfflineCache". Somewhere along the line, you tried to send a message that was too big, and Mail did not fail gracefully. It's an invisible folder inside the IMAP mailbox on your Mac. Clear that out, and this problem will go away.

Oh, and your IMAP account will start working again.
__________________
ACMT, ACTC, ACSA
C# w/.NET 4, Entity Framework, and T4; JavaScript; Bash; Awk; C++ w/wxWidgets and Boost; ANTLR(C), flex/bison; Objective-C; C
Detrius is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2011, 09:29 AM   #11
Kasalic
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrislaw View Post
I don't use the mail app. It opens every once in awhile but the only place i use it is on my phone. I just go directly to Yahoo for my mail on the computer. But no it was not open when i got the message.

And no I'm not on Lion. I'm on the latest update of Snow Leopard as is my MBP which is use the same way as my iMac generally (i.e. no mail program). But have no issues on my MBP.

I will try AppleJack and report back... thanks
Boot from the recovery disk 1 that came with your PC (or the Snow Leopard disk if you upgraded from previous OS). Then run Disk Utility and select the hard drive and click the Verify Disk (not Verify Disk Permissions). If it reports any errors, hit Repair Disk afterwards.

Had this on two Macs over the last month and both have been fine since running the disk repair.
Kasalic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2011, 12:36 PM   #12
Detrius
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Asheville, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kasalic View Post
Then run Disk Utility and select the hard drive and click the Verify Disk (not Verify Disk Permissions). If it reports any errors, hit Repair Disk afterwards.
There's no point in verifying. Just run repair.
__________________
ACMT, ACTC, ACSA
C# w/.NET 4, Entity Framework, and T4; JavaScript; Bash; Awk; C++ w/wxWidgets and Boost; ANTLR(C), flex/bison; Objective-C; C
Detrius is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Space on hard drive disappears after delete of files / no start up disk space AlakaDan OS X 15 Aug 28, 2013 11:26 PM
Startup disk doesn't have enough space to be partitioned becauseoftacos Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 3 Jun 28, 2013 05:06 AM
USB not recognized in Startup Manager or Startup Disk PowerPCMacMan PowerPC Macs 3 Oct 23, 2012 06:01 PM
Need advice on freeing up space on StartUp disk - iCloud or Time Machine? tobasco27 MacBook Pro 1 Oct 14, 2012 09:32 PM
Your Mac OS X startup disk has no more space available for application memory skx0221 iMac 1 Jun 20, 2012 10:06 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC