Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 16, 2011, 08:23 AM   #1
sgear
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Lost Siri

I got my new iPhone 4S activated it as a new phone. All of my apps came over (as expected, but without any previous data) I did a restore of my 4S and this time did a back up pointing it to the previous backup of my 3GS. All of the data from my apps are now there, but I don't have Siri !!!

How can I keep all of the data associated with my 3GS such as Msecure password data or Awesome note notes without losing Siri?
sgear is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2011, 08:25 AM   #2
brazil5376
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgear View Post
I got my new iPhone 4S activated it as a new phone. All of my apps came over (as expected, but without any previous data) I did a restore of my 4S and this time did a back up pointing it to the previous backup of my 3GS. All of the data from my apps are now there, but I don't have Siri !!!

How can I keep all of the data associated with my 3GS such as Msecure password data or Awesome note notes without losing Siri?

you probably haver it disabled....go to settings>general>siri.....and turn it on
brazil5376 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2011, 08:39 AM   #3
ready2switch
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
I was confused by Siri myself. My app came over but when I'd open it, I'd get some error message about not being able to retrieve data.

After some searching I discovered that the Siri app no longer works. You can just delete it. Siri is now where voice command used to be (hold down home button). You don't need the app/icon to have Siri on the i4S.

If holding the home button doesn't work, then check settings like the post above suggests, to make sure it's enabled.
__________________
Made the Switch - June 2007
SR MacBook Pro 15" 2.4GHz
2011 MacBook Pro 15" 2.2GHz
ready2switch is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 16, 2011, 08:54 AM   #4
sgear
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Thanks Brazil... I hadn't even thought to look there. That was the issue... Didn't think that they'd allow you to turn off such a magnificent feature...

Peace !!!
sgear is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hey geeks, how do Siri and Siri Proxy work? moonman239 iOS 7 1 Feb 15, 2014 05:57 PM
Siri faster, but lost recognition abilities rolly3 iOS 7 1 Sep 19, 2013 10:05 PM
Siri Eyes Free vs. Siri Over Bluetooth SamGabbay iOS 7 1 Jul 26, 2013 10:56 AM
My first iMac after 7 years: lost lost lost Racineur iMac 13 Jun 14, 2013 09:48 PM
Siri Not Working Properly - Is it Siri or Straight Talk? madsci954 iOS 5 and earlier 0 Sep 18, 2012 10:20 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC