Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Mac Help/Tips

 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 8, 2002, 11:25 AM   #1
chibianh
macrumors 6502a
 
chibianh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Colorado
iphoto doesn't recognize camera

Hey all. I'm wondering if you could help me with this. My friend has a quicksilver 933 and a sony mavica digital camera. When the camera is plugged in via USB, iPhoto does not recognize it so se cant import pictures. I don't know what the problem would be. It had worked before she had Jaguar on there. Any have any clues? Thanks.

Anh
__________________
MBP-R 15" i7 2.6/16GB RAM/512GB SSD
chibianh is offline   0
Old Oct 8, 2002, 12:11 PM   #2
RBMaraman
macrumors 65816
 
RBMaraman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Prospect, KY
My friend's Sony Mavica has never worked with iPhoto, or OS X for that matter. He has to go into OS 9 and use the software provided from Sony to download his pictures. That's one reason I didn't buy a Sony digital camera. My Canon S200 works great, and I've never had a problem with it. Hopefully, in the future, Sony will make more Mac compatible products.
RBMaraman is offline   0
Old Oct 8, 2002, 12:20 PM   #3
Thirteenva
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
yeah the sony's are supposed to be one of the least mac friendly camera's. If it ever worked with iPhoto you're very lucky.


As far as trouble shooting goes.... plug the camera in, then turn the camera power on, and make sure its not in picture taking mode. Most camera's have to be in the view mode to upload.
Thirteenva is offline   0
Old Oct 8, 2002, 12:24 PM   #4
zarathustra
macrumors 6502a
 
zarathustra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Quote:
Originally posted by RBMaraman
My friend's Sony Mavica has never worked with iPhoto, or OS X for that matter. He has to go into OS 9 and use the software provided from Sony to download his pictures. That's one reason I didn't buy a Sony digital camera. My Canon S200 works great, and I've never had a problem with it. Hopefully, in the future, Sony will make more Mac compatible products.
I am using a SONY DCS-S75 and it works like a charm (in OSX 10.2.1) - Both in PTP mode and as a "Hard Drive" showing up on the desktop. When you say Mavica, is that the one where it records onto a floppy or CDR? Or is it MemoryStick?
zarathustra is offline   0
Old Oct 8, 2002, 12:35 PM   #5
robbieduncan
Moderator
 
robbieduncan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: London
Unsanity Haxies Break iPhoto

At least for me (and many others, see the Apple support discussions). Try removing all of the Haxies (FruitMenu, WindowShade X and the Application Enhancer thing), or see if there are any new versions. I did this and it instantly fixed by connection to my Powershot S10.
robbieduncan is offline   0
Old Oct 8, 2002, 01:05 PM   #6
RBMaraman
macrumors 65816
 
RBMaraman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Prospect, KY
Quote:
Originally posted by zarathustra


I am using a SONY DCS-S75 and it works like a charm (in OSX 10.2.1) - Both in PTP mode and as a "Hard Drive" showing up on the desktop. When you say Mavica, is that the one where it records onto a floppy or CDR? Or is it MemoryStick?
If has a floppy drive and a memory stick slot.
RBMaraman is offline   0
Old Oct 8, 2002, 04:09 PM   #7
chibianh
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
chibianh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Colorado
the mavica my friend has uses mini-cds. It's a very nice camera. For some reaosn, it just doens't work on her QS. it works fine on my powerbook.
__________________
MBP-R 15" i7 2.6/16GB RAM/512GB SSD
chibianh is offline   0
Old Oct 8, 2002, 04:45 PM   #8
RBMaraman
macrumors 65816
 
RBMaraman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Prospect, KY
Quote:
Originally posted by chibianh
the mavica my friend has uses mini-cds. It's a very nice camera. For some reaosn, it just doens't work on her QS. it works fine on my powerbook.
That's the problem with Sony cameras. They work fine on one Mac, and not at all on another. Even though Apple says they are compatible, they may not be. I love my Canon. I thought about a Sony, but it's all about them. You have to use the Sony batteries, the Sony Memory Sticks, the Sony accessories. They're a very greedy company. Though, I do admit, they make the best televisions and stereo equipment.
RBMaraman is offline   0
Old Oct 8, 2002, 05:42 PM   #9
TyleRomeo
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally posted by RBMaraman


That's the problem with Sony cameras. They work fine on one Mac, and not at all on another. Even though Apple says they are compatible, they may not be. I love my Canon. I thought about a Sony, but it's all about them. You have to use the Sony batteries, the Sony Memory Sticks, the Sony accessories. They're a very greedy company. Though, I do admit, they make the best televisions and stereo equipment.
Sony has a monopoly over the technology field. They make everything and mostly everything is made very well. I decided that it's worthless to fight against them and just gave in to them, mostly becuase of their memory sticks and how much smaller they are then other flash media. And with a 4GB limit for the fuure im not worried about space issues. Prett soon all computers will come with built in flash card readers and im sure sony's memory stick will be included. (lexar also makes memory sticks that work with all sony products, and they cost less)

I have a TRV-27 sony digital camcorder and the 4MP DSC-85 digital camera and they both take the same sony rechargable battery and same memory stick slots. So what ever accesory i buy for one, just helps out the other product. In my eyes that a great thing. Go Sony!!!

tyler
__________________
Mac Pro (Early 2008) Dual 2.8GHZ Quad 2GB RAM NVIDIA 8800GT 512MB
Dual 1.25 GHz PowerMac G4; 1.91TB; 2GB RAM ATI 9700 Pro 128MB; Airport
TyleRomeo is offline   0
Old Oct 8, 2002, 05:46 PM   #10
mmmdreg
macrumors 65816
 
mmmdreg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Sydney, Australia
Send a message via AIM to mmmdreg Send a message via MSN to mmmdreg
My new Canon Powershot S40 worked flawlessly too...it was the first time using iPhoto and it was easy to use and all so yeah..
mmmdreg is offline   0


 
MacRumors Forums > Archive > Archives of Old Posts > Mac Help/Tips

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My MacBook Air doesn't recognize the S3 Rebellious MacBook Air 8 Apr 17, 2014 06:46 AM
iPhoto doesn't recognize all my iPad photos franks iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 3 Mar 24, 2014 07:54 PM
ITunes doesn't recognize the device drea97 iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 13 Jan 29, 2014 08:42 AM
iTunes doesn't recognize my iPhone cyanfoxes iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 0 Jul 10, 2013 01:47 AM
Windows doesn't recognize USB hamster1315 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 2 Jul 30, 2012 01:47 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC