Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 18, 2011, 09:28 PM   #1
TheRealHershey
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Update your Sprint iPhone's Profile / PRL by dialing: ##873283#

Just called to complain about the 50-250k 3G data speeds everywhere in Idaho (they've been this way for a year now), and got a super-duper canned response of: it'll be fixed in the next 48 hours, and we'll call you back then. WHATEVER.

Anyhow, I got the code to dial and start the update process: ##873283#
TheRealHershey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2011, 09:44 PM   #2
Arnezie
macrumors 65816
 
Arnezie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Thumbs down

And that does what considering the profile and prl would have updated when you activated your phone ?????? And your telling people to do this because of what ????
Arnezie is offline   -3 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2011, 09:55 PM   #3
Frankied22
macrumors 65816
 
Frankied22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A334 Safari/7534.48.3)

I just tried it. Didn't do jack.
__________________
iPhone 5S 64GB Silver 2012 13" MBA i7/8/256
Frankied22 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2011, 10:02 PM   #4
TheRealHershey
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Yeah, I did it, too, but ended up with the same PRL.
TheRealHershey is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2011, 10:05 PM   #5
verwon
macrumors 68030
 
verwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Seattle
Exactly, a new phone will have the most recent and updates are autopushed, when it changes.
verwon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2011, 04:17 PM   #6
bobouches
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Sprint network issea

Hi all,
Today nov 30, 11 I have problem with Sprint network all day. My iPhone shows EDGE connection tO network, so I called CS and been told to reset network and then dial ##873283#. I asked friend of mine who worked for Sprint and replayed to me - never do that until you want to lock your phone.
So sprint have an issue with 3G network, if you get frustrated find place with WiFi and wait till they fix this problem. Otherwise just wait.
bobouches is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2011, 04:22 PM   #7
joeshmo2010
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Seattle, WA
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobouches View Post
Hi all,
Today nov 30, 11 I have problem with Sprint network all day. My iPhone shows EDGE connection tO network, so I called CS and been told to reset network and then dial ##873283#. I asked friend of mine who worked for Sprint and replayed to me - never do that until you want to lock your phone.
So sprint have an issue with 3G network, if you get frustrated find place with WiFi and wait till they fix this problem. Otherwise just wait.
sprint doesn't have an EDGE network. they have 3g or 1x (the 'o' symbol on iPhones)
__________________
iPhone 6+ Gold 32gb AT&T
iPad rMini 64gb WiFi+LTE Silver/White Vzn (AT&T Service)
15" Macbook Pro a/ Retina display (mid-2014) high-end model
joeshmo2010 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2011, 04:34 PM   #8
verwon
macrumors 68030
 
verwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Seattle
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobouches View Post
Hi all,
Today nov 30, 11 I have problem with Sprint network all day. My iPhone shows EDGE connection tO network, so I called CS and been told to reset network and then dial ##873283#. I asked friend of mine who worked for Sprint and replayed to me - never do that until you want to lock your phone.
So sprint have an issue with 3G network, if you get frustrated find place with WiFi and wait till they fix this problem. Otherwise just wait.
And what's is going to lock, exactly?
verwon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2011, 09:07 PM   #9
marine0816
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA
Made it worst
__________________
iMac 27inch (2011) 2.7GHz Intel Quad i5 8GB RAM (2) Apple TV 3rd Generation iPad 2 32GB Black WiFi iPhone 6+ 64GB Gray Sprint
marine0816 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2011, 10:02 PM   #10
scaredpoet
macrumors 603
 
scaredpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
It's extremely rare that a PRL update will improve network speeds. In most cases it's just a placebo that they try to give you to shut up anyone who complains and get them off the phone with customer service.

PRL = Preferred Roaming List. It's useful when you're outside of Sprint's home coverage and roaming on, say, Verizon. And it might also help your phone find additional pilot channels if Sprint's recently added new frequencies in your area, though it'll mostly figure that out on its own eventually. But an updated PRL will not overcome the inherent limitations of the network.

Don't get me wrong: it's a good idea to be up to date, because Sprint does rely quite a bit on roaming partner coverage and there might still be remnants of the old "affiliate" network IDs on Sprint's (now-)native network. But no PRL update is going to speed up Sprint's network, nor is it likely to be fixed through anything software-based on your phone. Only Sprint can fix their network, through backhaul investment and better use of spectrum on the network side of things.
__________________
If you're not a clairvoyant, then you shouldn't be speaking for a dead guy.
I'm here to talk about Apple stuff, and related tech stuff. Your political beliefs? I really couldn't care less about.

Last edited by scaredpoet; Dec 11, 2011 at 10:07 PM.
scaredpoet is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2011, 03:47 PM   #11
SporkLover
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobouches View Post
Hi all,
Today nov 30, 11 I have problem with Sprint network all day. My iPhone shows EDGE connection tO network, so I called CS and been told to reset network and then dial ##873283#. I asked friend of mine who worked for Sprint and replayed to me - never do that until you want to lock your phone.
So sprint have an issue with 3G network, if you get frustrated find place with WiFi and wait till they fix this problem. Otherwise just wait.
That's not true. I just ran that update and my phone is still unlocked.
SporkLover is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Sep 13, 2012, 01:10 PM   #12
BFizzzle
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Austin TX
old thread, but i did that on my roomates phone.. and his went from .5 mb download to .9 mbps! almost doubled.. still slow but yeah. thanks.
BFizzzle is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Sprint iPhone 5s on Verizon network (manual PRL updating) pbacorey Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 34 Jul 11, 2014 08:52 PM
iPhone: Anybody know how to modify prl on Iphone 5 for sprint? Amaro2021 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 56 Dec 25, 2013 03:35 PM
iPhone: putting prl on iphone 4s.... Truefan31 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 Apr 14, 2013 04:57 PM
iPhone 5 Sprint Carrier Update 13.1 iThink Apple iPhone 17 Dec 10, 2012 12:05 PM
updating PRL on verizon iphone 5? BFizzzle iPhone 2 Sep 25, 2012 09:38 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:12 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC