Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Community Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 18, 2011, 11:44 PM   #1
mrsir2009
macrumors 604
 
mrsir2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Why does my Blu-Ray player have a USB port?

The old $90 DVD player broke, so my dad went out and got a blu-ray player. We still have a CRT TV, so we can't benifit from it, but its one less thing to buy when the CRT dies Anyway, there's a single USB port on the front of the Blu-Ray player, and I'm just wondering what its for?

BTW its quite a high end player, it has media centre features built in and special internet services etc... If that helps
mrsir2009 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2011, 11:53 PM   #2
SactoGuy18
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA USA
Send a message via Yahoo to SactoGuy18
Unless the Blu-ray player has built-in 802.11g/n Wi-Fi support including antenna, that USB port is where you plug in the Wi-Fi adapter. In fact, that's where I plug in the 802.11n Wi-Fi adapter for my Sony BDP-S370 player so I could get firmware updates and access streaming video services like Netflix and Amazon's streaming video service.
__________________
3G iPod nano (8 GB teal blue case), 7G iPod nano (16 GB blue case), 4G iPod touch (32 GB), iPad Air "Silver" (32 GB), iPhone 6 (64 GB Space Grey)
SactoGuy18 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2011, 11:59 PM   #3
mrsir2009
Thread Starter
macrumors 604
 
mrsir2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
What, so you plug a Wifi adaptor into the USB port on the front to get internet services?

Thanks
mrsir2009 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2011, 01:10 AM   #4
RawBert
macrumors 68000
 
RawBert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: North Hollywood, CA
My Blu Ray player has one USB port on the front and one on the back. I use the front one to plug in a flash drive and play mpg and jpg files.
__________________
THE ART OF RAW
Steve Lives On
RawBert is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2011, 01:13 AM   #5
Sankersizzle
macrumors 6502a
 
Sankersizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Canadadada
Why didn't you just get a PS3? Then you could have FOUR USB ports!!

But seriously, why'd you buy a stand alone player instead of a PS3?
__________________
Fighting for the equal representation of 17" notebooks.
Sankersizzle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2011, 01:15 AM   #6
wywern209
macrumors 65832
 
wywern209's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: do you rly want to know?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sankersizzle View Post
Why didn't you just get a PS3? Then you could have FOUR USB ports!!

But seriously, why'd you buy a stand alone player instead of a PS3?
for true 1080p 3d capability thru hdmi 1.4? no ps3 so far has 1.4 for the support of 1080p hd. and the usb port on your bluray player is for listening music , watching vids thru the player by storing the vids and music on the usb drive.
__________________
2.2 GHZ quad i7 15" MBP 2011
Specs:AMD Radeon 6750m, 8GB 1333Mhz RAM, HR Anti-Glare,500GB 7200rpm HDD.
wywern209 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2011, 01:16 AM   #7
Peace
macrumors P6
 
Peace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Space--The ONLY Frontier
Every electronic device must have some kind of access port according to FCC regulations.

It's a law. That's probably why your Blu-Ray player has a USB port.
Peace is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2011, 01:20 AM   #8
mrsir2009
Thread Starter
macrumors 604
 
mrsir2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sankersizzle View Post
Why didn't you just get a PS3? Then you could have FOUR USB ports!!

But seriously, why'd you buy a stand alone player instead of a PS3?
1. I didn't buy it.

2. It costed $160 instead of $500...
mrsir2009 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2011, 01:20 AM   #9
Sankersizzle
macrumors 6502a
 
Sankersizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Canadadada
Quote:
Originally Posted by wywern209 View Post
for true 1080p 3d capability thru hdmi 1.4? no ps3 so far has 1.4 for the support of 1080p hd. and the usb port on your bluray player is for listening music , watching vids thru the player by storing the vids and music on the usb drive.
GOD DAMMIT I just bought another PS3 to play blu rays at home, and was hoping you'd be all like "Yo, listen to Sankersizzle that guy is rad" rather than telling me why the blu ray player was better...
__________________
Fighting for the equal representation of 17" notebooks.
Sankersizzle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2011, 01:21 AM   #10
mrsir2009
Thread Starter
macrumors 604
 
mrsir2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by wywern209 View Post
for true 1080p 3d capability thru hdmi 1.4? no ps3 so far has 1.4 for the support of 1080p hd. and the usb port on your bluray player is for listening music , watching vids thru the player by storing the vids and music on the usb drive.
Cool... So instead of putting in a disk to watch a movie I can plug in a flash drive with the movie on it?
mrsir2009 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2011, 01:22 AM   #11
iParis
macrumors 68040
 
iParis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Mexico
Send a message via AIM to iParis Send a message via MSN to iParis
Not sure about yours', but when I plug a USB storage device into my bluray player I can play almost any type of video and music file. This is the reason I sold my 1st gen Apple TV.
__________________
- AirPort Express 2012
- iPhone 6 128GB / Space Gray / Verizon / iOS 8.1
- iPhone 5 64GB / Black and Slate / iOS 8.1
- MacBook C2D 2.4GHz / 8GB ram / 250GB HD / OS 10.10
iParis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2011, 01:23 AM   #12
mrsir2009
Thread Starter
macrumors 604
 
mrsir2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peace View Post
Every electronic device must have some kind of access port according to FCC regulations.

It's a law. That's probably why your Blu-Ray player has a USB port.
Seriously, its the law? Why?


...Or are you being sarcastic?
mrsir2009 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2011, 01:24 AM   #13
iParis
macrumors 68040
 
iParis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Mexico
Send a message via AIM to iParis Send a message via MSN to iParis
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrsir2009 View Post
Cool... So instead of putting in a disk to watch a movie I can plug in a flash drive with the movie on it?
Yep. Or even an external hard drive, which is what I do. And I'm not positive you can do it, I guess it depends on the bluray player you have.
__________________
- AirPort Express 2012
- iPhone 6 128GB / Space Gray / Verizon / iOS 8.1
- iPhone 5 64GB / Black and Slate / iOS 8.1
- MacBook C2D 2.4GHz / 8GB ram / 250GB HD / OS 10.10
iParis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2011, 01:26 AM   #14
Chundles
macrumors G4
 
Chundles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Gong, Australia
I plug my external HDD into my Blu-Ray player - makes it into a media centre.
__________________
This is going straight to the Pool Room
Chundles is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2011, 01:28 AM   #15
Peace
macrumors P6
 
Peace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Space--The ONLY Frontier
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrsir2009 View Post
Seriously, its the law? Why?


...Or are you being sarcastic?
Not at all. Read the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.
Peace is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2011, 01:32 AM   #16
mrsir2009
Thread Starter
macrumors 604
 
mrsir2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Well, my BluRay player has a media centre button on the main menu... But when I click on it it says "Sorry, you aren't connected to the internet". But if I plugged my external hard disk in, which contains movies and TV shows, I could click on the media centre button and I'd be able to browse the drive and watch stuff off it, correct?

Sorry, I'm new to this stuff... Been using cassete tapes for most of my life

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peace View Post
Not at all. Read the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998.
But, wait.... My old DVD player didn't have a USB port?
mrsir2009 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2011, 01:34 AM   #17
Peace
macrumors P6
 
Peace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Space--The ONLY Frontier
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrsir2009 View Post
Well, my BluRay player has a media centre button on the main menu... But when I click on it it says "Sorry, you aren't connected to the internet". But if I plugged my external hard disk in, which contains movies and TV shows, I could click on the media centre button and I'd be able to browse the drive and watch stuff off it, correct?

Sorry, I'm new to this stuff... Been using cassete tapes for most of my life

----------



But, wait.... My old DVD player didn't have a USB port?
If it was made after 1996 it has some kind of external access to it.Doesn't have to be a USB port.

Don't get me wrong. I'm not saying that's the only reason it has a port.
All I'm saying is the DMCA required some kind of external access.
Peace is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2011, 01:40 AM   #18
mrsir2009
Thread Starter
macrumors 604
 
mrsir2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peace View Post
If it was made after 1996 it has some kind of external access to it.Doesn't have to be a USB port.

Don't get me wrong. I'm not saying that's the only reason it has a port.
All I'm saying is the DMCA required some kind of external access.
Why is it required to have external access?
mrsir2009 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2011, 01:44 AM   #19
Peace
macrumors P6
 
Peace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Space--The ONLY Frontier
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrsir2009 View Post
Why is it required to have external access?
http://thomas.loc.gov/cgi-bin/query/...mp/~c105BOrKcA


It's in there somewhere. I'm not gonna go reading the whole thing so believe me or not.

I don't care really.

Last edited by Peace; Oct 19, 2011 at 01:57 AM.
Peace is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2011, 03:18 AM   #20
Sankersizzle
macrumors 6502a
 
Sankersizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Canadadada
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrsir2009 View Post
1. I didn't buy it.

2. It costed $160 instead of $500...
Oh, yikes. Down here you can get a PS3 from the store for $220 :s.
__________________
Fighting for the equal representation of 17" notebooks.
Sankersizzle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2011, 03:54 AM   #21
fat jez
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Glasgow, UK
I dunno about anybody else, but on my player, if I want to access any of the Bluray 2.0 features, e.g. websites, I need to plug in a USB key for storage, as the player does not have any long term storage of its own.
__________________
'11 MBP 2.3GHz 16GB RAM 240GB SSD 15" Anti-Glare screen OS X 10.10.1
iPhone 6 128GB
fat jez is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2011, 04:01 AM   #22
mrsir2009
Thread Starter
macrumors 604
 
mrsir2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sankersizzle View Post
Oh, yikes. Down here you can get a PS3 from the store for $220 :s.
Thats New Zealand for ya -_-
mrsir2009 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2011, 07:47 AM   #23
Dagless
macrumors Core
 
Dagless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Darkplace Hospital
Quote:
Originally Posted by wywern209 View Post
for true 1080p 3d capability thru hdmi 1.4? no ps3 so far has 1.4 for the support of 1080p hd. and the usb port on your bluray player is for listening music , watching vids thru the player by storing the vids and music on the usb drive.
PS3's can play 1080 3D Bluray over 1.3. There was a system update last year that enabled it.
I can't find any source clarifying if its progressive or interlaced, though.
__________________
Maybe if everyone who'd ever been close to you had died, you'd be sarcastic, too.
Macrumors Steam Group

Last edited by Dagless; Oct 19, 2011 at 07:56 AM.
Dagless is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2011, 08:08 AM   #24
yg17
In Time-Out
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: St. Louis, MO
Did you try reading the manual?

Some players use it for storage for BD-Live content. Others use it for WiFi, others use it to play media files, and some might not use it at all. The manual should clear that up.
yg17 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2011, 08:31 AM   #25
SactoGuy18
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA USA
Send a message via Yahoo to SactoGuy18
Quote:
Originally Posted by yg17 View Post
Some players use it for storage for BD-Live content. Others use it for WiFi, others use it to play media files, and some might not use it at all. The manual should clear that up.
Actually, players that meet the BD-Live spec MUST have 1 GB of on-player storage--you can't "fudge" it by storing the BD-Live data on an external flash drive connected via the USB port.
__________________
3G iPod nano (8 GB teal blue case), 7G iPod nano (16 GB blue case), 4G iPod touch (32 GB), iPad Air "Silver" (32 GB), iPhone 6 (64 GB Space Grey)
SactoGuy18 is offline   0 Reply With Quote


Reply
MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Community Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone tried this Blu Ray player? F1 Fan Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Apr 29, 2013 07:32 AM
Blu Ray Player moderngamenewb Mac Applications and Mac App Store 6 Jun 21, 2012 06:21 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC