Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Distributed Computing

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 19, 2011, 01:13 AM   #1
techfreak85
macrumors 68040
 
techfreak85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Places
Send a message via AIM to techfreak85
It's Folding@Home season again!

Thumb resize.
Once again, ladies and gentlemen, cool weather has started to descend upon the northern hemisphere again, and for some of us who maybe took a break from folding during the heat of the summer, it means it's time to kick those protein simulations into high gear!

If you are unfamiliar, Folding@Home is a distributed computing project that utilizes unused CPU and GPU power from around the world to simulate how proteins "fold" in an attempt to cure diseases like cancer, ALS, and Alzheimer's.
If you wan't more information about Folding@Home, look at the project's official website, this (slightly outdated) FAQ, or just ask in this subforum.

Let this thread serve as both a place to share your plans for folding this winter, and as a rallying cry/call to arms/revitalization of the team as we kick off a great new season of folding!

--------------------

I have started folding again on my i7 Hackintosh for the past week or two. I started with SMP units, then installed Ubuntu under virtualbox to run bigadvs. Tonight, I tried putting on my first OC of the season. Aiming for 4ghz. We will see how stable it is. Hope it makes it through the night! If I can't get it stable, I'll back it down to 3.8, which has consistently worked well for me in the past.

One nice thing about folding in a VM is that even if the host OS restarts or crashes, the VM state is saved. Haven't lost a unit yet when running under a VM. I have been able to reboot freely and not have to worry about loosing a delicate bigadv! Haven't noticed too much of a decrease in performance due to VM over head. VirtualBox seems to be pretty efficient and using a Linux distro with no GUI probably helps!

I also upgraded to 24GB of RAM () this summer, so no more worrying about bigadvs eating up my available RAM!

Do share your setups and any new hardware you plan to use! Fold on!
__________________
Take it. Embrace it. Love it.

Last edited by techfreak85; Oct 19, 2011 at 09:20 PM.
techfreak85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2011, 08:59 PM   #2
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
dang that's a lot of RAM!! glad you got VMs working good for you.

i recently started folding with 1 gpu a couple of weeks ago, and i just started with another gpu tonight.

once the cold is here to stay (and it might be now), i'll fire up my other pc and fold with it also. i don't know if i'll run the bigadv units this time, but we'll see.
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2011, 09:17 PM   #3
techfreak85
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
techfreak85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Places
Send a message via AIM to techfreak85
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
dang that's a lot of RAM!! glad you got VMs working good for you.

i recently started folding with 1 gpu a couple of weeks ago, and i just started with another gpu tonight.

once the cold is here to stay (and it might be now), i'll fire up my other pc and fold with it also. i don't know if i'll run the bigadv units this time, but we'll see.
Do you still have the first gen i7 PC? Could put out some good numbers. It's too bad that bigadvs took a hit in amount of bonus points awarded, but I guess it does help keep things fair. They still are the best for getting lots of points if you can run them!
__________________
Take it. Embrace it. Love it.
techfreak85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2011, 12:31 AM   #4
thormarketing
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Is it possible to run native in Lion? I would if I could!
thormarketing is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2011, 12:50 AM   #5
techfreak85
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
techfreak85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Places
Send a message via AIM to techfreak85
Quote:
Originally Posted by thormarketing View Post
Is it possible to run native in Lion? I would if I could!
Yes it is for normal units, but not for the special bidadv units (yet). But this is not too big of an issue because bigadvs require a rather fast computer to run 24/7 to meet the deadline for bonus points.
__________________
Take it. Embrace it. Love it.
techfreak85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2011, 05:44 PM   #6
thormarketing
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by techfreak85 View Post
Yes it is for normal units, but not for the special bidadv units (yet). But this is not too big of an issue because bigadvs require a rather fast computer to run 24/7 to meet the deadline for bonus points.
I'm (trying) to run it on a 2 x 2.26 GHz Quad-Core Xeon. The System Preferences pane claims it is running, but unfortunately I am seeing a 100% Idle processor.

Edit: I ended up creating a Passkey. It seems to be working now.

Last edited by thormarketing; Oct 20, 2011 at 05:59 PM.
thormarketing is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2011, 06:13 PM   #7
thormarketing
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Anyone know why is MiniUsage and Activity Monitor reporting 16 cores? Seems like a weird quirk.
thormarketing is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2011, 06:45 PM   #8
techfreak85
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
techfreak85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Places
Send a message via AIM to techfreak85
Quote:
Originally Posted by thormarketing View Post
I'm (trying) to run it on a 2 x 2.26 GHz Quad-Core Xeon. The System Preferences pane claims it is running, but unfortunately I am seeing a 100% Idle processor.

Edit: I ended up creating a Passkey. It seems to be working now.
Do you have the correct smp argument? Should be -smp 16.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thormarketing View Post
Anyone know why is MiniUsage and Activity Monitor reporting 16 cores? Seems like a weird quirk.
Hyperthreading. Each physical core shows up as two virtual cores.
__________________
Take it. Embrace it. Love it.
techfreak85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2011, 07:33 PM   #9
thormarketing
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Thanks TechFreak. Just added "-smp 16" to the "Extra parameters:" section. Hope it helps.
thormarketing is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2011, 01:07 AM   #10
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by techfreak85 View Post
Do you still have the first gen i7 PC? Could put out some good numbers. It's too bad that bigadvs took a hit in amount of bonus points awarded, but I guess it does help keep things fair. They still are the best for getting lots of points if you can run them!
yeah i still have it. i'm not running any bigadv units yet. i might crank up another machine this weekend though. i haven't kept up with the newer clients. i guess i'll do some research when i have time
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 5, 2011, 11:57 PM   #11
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
we need people talking again on here about fah so we can keep our team going strong!

i've added another computer folding with 2 x gpus and a cpu
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2011, 01:07 AM   #12
techfreak85
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
techfreak85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Places
Send a message via AIM to techfreak85
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
we need people talking again on here about fah so we can keep our team going strong!

i've added another computer folding with 2 x gpus and a cpu
Wonderful! Should give us a nice boost! Are you sticking with standard SMP units, or going for bigadvs?

After initial trouble, I finally found the time to get my OC stable. Running solid at 3.8Ghz. Stanford is "moving some stuff around on their servers", so there is a bit of a bigadv drought right now, so when those come back online, I should be cranking out bigadvs again!
__________________
Take it. Embrace it. Love it.
techfreak85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2011, 10:57 AM   #13
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by techfreak85 View Post
Wonderful! Should give us a nice boost! Are you sticking with standard SMP units, or going for bigadvs?

After initial trouble, I finally found the time to get my OC stable. Running solid at 3.8Ghz. Stanford is "moving some stuff around on their servers", so there is a bit of a bigadv drought right now, so when those come back online, I should be cranking out bigadvs again!
nice!

i'm not doing bigadvs units this time. trying to save at least a little on my power bill. but i'm running the advmethods units, not the regular smp units. so i still get some bonus points.

and i just added 2 more gpus to folding. maybe another cpu after i see how this system runs
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2011, 11:26 PM   #14
techfreak85
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
techfreak85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Places
Send a message via AIM to techfreak85
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
nice!

i'm not doing bigadvs units this time. trying to save at least a little on my power bill. but i'm running the advmethods units, not the regular smp units. so i still get some bonus points.

and i just added 2 more gpus to folding. maybe another cpu after i see how this system runs
How would a bigadv use more power? Isn't 100% CPU use still 100% use?
__________________
Take it. Embrace it. Love it.
techfreak85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2011, 11:49 AM   #15
swordfish5736
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belle View
Send a message via AIM to swordfish5736
Turned Einstein@home back on on my iMac almost a month ago and joined the macrumors team. Once I get more ram in my Mac pro I plan to turn it on there as well.

I've been trying to find a decent solution to circulate air in my cabinet with the ps3 so I can run that as well but currently it gets way to hot while running for me to leave it on for an extended period.
__________________
swordfish5736 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 9, 2011, 01:11 PM   #16
techfreak85
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
techfreak85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Places
Send a message via AIM to techfreak85
Quote:
Originally Posted by CRIIM44 View Post
Turned Einstein@home back on on my iMac almost a month ago and joined the macrumors team. Once I get more ram in my Mac pro I plan to turn it on there as well.

I've been trying to find a decent solution to circulate air in my cabinet with the ps3 so I can run that as well but currently it gets way to hot while running for me to leave it on for an extended period.
Any way we could convert you to folding@home instead?
__________________
Take it. Embrace it. Love it.
techfreak85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2011, 03:29 PM   #17
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by techfreak85 View Post
How would a bigadv use more power? Isn't 100% CPU use still 100% use?
to run bigadv units, i have to overclock quite a bit to make the deadline. i'm not overclocked anymore, or if i am, it's not much. this saves power.

and on 2 systems, i'm just running GPUs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CRIIM44 View Post
Turned Einstein@home back on on my iMac almost a month ago and joined the macrumors team. Once I get more ram in my Mac pro I plan to turn it on there as well.

I've been trying to find a decent solution to circulate air in my cabinet with the ps3 so I can run that as well but currently it gets way to hot while running for me to leave it on for an extended period.
nice! can we get you on our folding@home team? they are both for a great cause.

Quote:
Originally Posted by techfreak85 View Post
Any way we could convert you to folding@home instead?
+1!
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2011, 03:46 PM   #18
techfreak85
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
techfreak85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Places
Send a message via AIM to techfreak85
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
to run bigadv units, i have to overclock quite a bit to make the deadline. i'm not overclocked anymore, or if i am, it's not much. this saves power.
In my vm client I am able to meet the bonus point deadline even when at stock speeds. Maybe the linux client is more efficient even with the vm overhead?
__________________
Take it. Embrace it. Love it.
techfreak85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 11, 2011, 09:30 PM   #19
Sweetfeld28
macrumors 65816
 
Sweetfeld28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Buckeye Country, O-H
Send a message via AIM to Sweetfeld28
New version 7 [64 bit version] of Folding@home

I found a new version which is OPEN BETA, but is 64 bit for OS X and few of the other supported OS's...


Folding Blog/Download Link Page



I don't like the fact it is a separate app now, in stead of being just a preference pane app. The GUI is quirky too, FYI.
__________________
Laptop: 15" Unibody MacBook Pro [Penryn], 2.53 GHz, 8 GB RAM, 250 GB HD, nVidia 9400M
Desktop: Mac Pro [Harpertown] 2.8GHz Quad, 7GB RAM, 120 GT, 24" LED Cinema Display Mobile:iPhone

Last edited by Sweetfeld28; Nov 11, 2011 at 09:40 PM.
Sweetfeld28 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2011, 10:36 AM   #20
swordfish5736
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belle View
Send a message via AIM to swordfish5736
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
to run bigadv units, i have to overclock quite a bit to make the deadline. i'm not overclocked anymore, or if i am, it's not much. this saves power.

and on 2 systems, i'm just running GPUs.



nice! can we get you on our folding@home team? they are both for a great cause.



+1!
Quote:
Originally Posted by techfreak85 View Post
Any way we could convert you to folding@home instead?
installing on my mac pro as we speak my iMac would probably have a conniption if i tried to run folding along side BOINC

Whats the team # though all i see for macrumors is:
http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/...&teamnum=47628

edit: this looks more like it: http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/...e&teamnum=3446
__________________
swordfish5736 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2011, 01:06 PM   #21
techfreak85
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
techfreak85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Places
Send a message via AIM to techfreak85
Quote:
Originally Posted by CRIIM44 View Post
installing on my mac pro as we speak my iMac would probably have a conniption if i tried to run folding along side BOINC

Whats the team # though all i see for macrumors is:
http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/...&teamnum=47628

edit: this looks more like it: http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/...e&teamnum=3446
Yes it's 3446. Make sure to get a passkey too!
__________________
Take it. Embrace it. Love it.
techfreak85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2011, 01:36 PM   #22
swordfish5736
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belle View
Send a message via AIM to swordfish5736
Quote:
Originally Posted by techfreak85 View Post
Yes it's 3446. Make sure to get a passkey too!
nvmd found it
__________________
swordfish5736 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2011, 01:41 PM   #23
techfreak85
Thread Starter
macrumors 68040
 
techfreak85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Places
Send a message via AIM to techfreak85
Quote:
Originally Posted by CRIIM44 View Post
nvmd found it
Here
They will email you it which you will enter in the client configuration.
__________________
Take it. Embrace it. Love it.
techfreak85 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2011, 01:47 PM   #24
swordfish5736
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belle View
Send a message via AIM to swordfish5736
Quote:
Originally Posted by techfreak85 View Post
Here
They will email you it which you will enter in the client configuration.
i'm brain dead today...
now from some searching looks like i'll wait this one out a little while:
[20:08:34] + No appropriate work server was available; will try again in a bit.
[20:08:34] + Couldn't get work instructions.
[20:08:34] - Attempt #7 to get work failed, and no other work to do.
Waiting before retry.
__________________

Last edited by swordfish5736; Nov 12, 2011 at 02:13 PM.
swordfish5736 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 12, 2011, 06:39 PM   #25
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by techfreak85 View Post
In my vm client I am able to meet the bonus point deadline even when at stock speeds. Maybe the linux client is more efficient even with the vm overhead?
hmm, which processor do you have?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sweetfeld28 View Post
I found a new version which is OPEN BETA, but is 64 bit for OS X and few of the other supported OS's...


Folding Blog/Download Link Page



I don't like the fact it is a separate app now, in stead of being just a preference pane app. The GUI is quirky too, FYI.
thanks for the heads up!
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Distributed Computing

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MacRumors Folding@home Team Reaches One Billion Points MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 47 May 21, 2014 11:10 PM
Folding@Home Mobile Monitoring ChristianJapan iPad Apps 0 Sep 5, 2013 08:08 AM
I have 4 seasons of a TV show but home sharing is showing season 1 4 times on IOS hankkosovo Apple TV and Home Theater 3 Sep 15, 2012 05:56 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC