Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 19, 2011, 01:28 PM   #1
kirkbross
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Formatting SD card for Mac & PC?

Is there a way to format the 16GB SD card in my Tascam DR-1 digital recorder so it will mount on both my Mac (Lion) and PC (Windows 7) and -- and here's the key -- still be recognized by the DR-1 as a valid card?

When I format it FAT32 using my PC the DR-1 forces a format on boot.
__________________
2008 Mac Pro 2x2.8GHz | 8 GB RAM | HD5770 | Lion on 120GB Vertex 2 | 3 x 1TB Seagates
kirkbross is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2011, 11:37 PM   #2
Madd the Sane
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Utah
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8C148 Safari/6533.18.5)

What does it format it to? exFAT or NTFS? Mac OS X can read and write exFAT, but only read NTFS.
__________________
Get out of my mind, idea! I already have an idea in here!
Madd the Sane is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2011, 07:23 AM   #3
MisterMe
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by kirkbross View Post
Is there a way to format the 16GB SD card in my Tascam DR-1 digital recorder so it will mount on both my Mac (Lion) and PC (Windows 7) and -- and here's the key -- still be recognized by the DR-1 as a valid card?

...
What makes you believe that you can get away with reformatting the card in a file system other than the one used by Tascam?
__________________
Neither a borrower nor a lender be
For loan oft loses both itself and friend
William Shakespeare from Hamlet
MisterMe is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2011, 01:13 PM   #4
kirkbross
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by MisterMe View Post
What makes you believe that you can get away with reformatting the card in a file system other than the one used by Tascam?
Ha. Good point. I guess my concern is more that it USED to mount on my Mac and it no longer does (in Lion). I plug it in and see it mount on the desktop for a second and then it disappears. Then I get a fleeting 'this disc was ejected improperly' error message, which also quickly disappears before I can read it. In Disk Utility, the drive does not show up. It mounts fine on my PC.
__________________
2008 Mac Pro 2x2.8GHz | 8 GB RAM | HD5770 | Lion on 120GB Vertex 2 | 3 x 1TB Seagates
kirkbross is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X > Mac OS X 10.7 Lion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MBA 2011 SD Card kimbermatic MacBook Air 0 Jul 23, 2011 11:38 AM
MBP reading SD Card and Ext Hard Drive space wrong Jakerz MacBook Pro 6 Apr 6, 2011 09:00 AM
1Tb USB hard drive format for mac & pc? dbit Mac Peripherals 6 Mar 13, 2011 12:34 PM
Formatting SD card as mac os MikaelSmoot MacBook 1 Nov 11, 2009 04:09 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC