Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 23, 2011, 10:20 AM   #1
nippyjun
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Use old iPhone as iPod touch question

I want to use my old iPhone as an iPod touch for the kids.

It has the sim in it that no longer is active.

So right now it does act as an iPod touch as it doesn't get phone service.

But, I want to erase everything on it and set it up as a new iPod touch.

If I erase all contents and settings what will happen? Will give me the screen that says to connect to iTunes? Or will it just be a "blank" iPod touch. And if it does give me the connect to iTunes screen how do I proceed. Do I just connect to iTunes and tell it to setup as new phone? If I do that will it still work as an iPod touch since it has the old inactivated sim in it or will it not work that way?

The old iphone has ios5 on it. Do I even need to connect to iTunes after I erase all content and settings? Can I set it up as a new phone right on the device. Or will having the old inactivated sim in it change things?


Thanks.

Last edited by nippyjun; Oct 23, 2011 at 10:27 AM.
nippyjun is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2011, 03:06 PM   #2
benhollberg
macrumors 68020
 
benhollberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Restore in iTunes, it'll need a SIM in it to first get setup even if the SIM is inactive. You can take the SIM out after. Everything will work fine, just like an iPod touch.
__________________
Twitter, YouTube
benhollberg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2011, 03:55 PM   #3
nippyjun
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Can i set it up as a new device or will it look for a new sim for that.

I don't want to restore from a backup.
nippyjun is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2011, 05:26 PM   #4
benhollberg
macrumors 68020
 
benhollberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
You can setup as new device no problem.
__________________
Twitter, YouTube
benhollberg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2011, 05:42 PM   #5
nippyjun
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Thanks!
nippyjun is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2011, 09:46 PM   #6
RabbitLuvr
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
I set up my 3gs as a Touch. I didn't do a restore on it, or set up as new device. I just renamed it (through iTunes) to iPod instead of iPhone. I left the inactive sim in, it just connects to my home wifi network.

I left a few contacts on it, plus my recipe apps and then loaded it up with music and parked it in the small speaker dock I have in my kitchen. Seems to be working fine for me.
RabbitLuvr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 23, 2011, 09:54 PM   #7
benhollberg
macrumors 68020
 
benhollberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
I think I just did the coolest thing with my old iPhone 4. I got a SIM from an iPad 3G and put it in the iPhone. I know it costs money but now it is like an iPod touch with 3G.
__________________
Twitter, YouTube
benhollberg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2011, 02:06 AM   #8
pauliedoggs
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by RabbitLuvr View Post
I set up my 3gs as a Touch. I didn't do a restore on it, or set up as new device. I just renamed it (through iTunes) to iPod instead of iPhone. I left the inactive sim in, it just connects to my home wifi network.

I left a few contacts on it, plus my recipe apps and then loaded it up with music and parked it in the small speaker dock I have in my kitchen. Seems to be working fine for me.

Hey! You are doing exactly what I want to do but I am not sure exactly how to do it. Where in iTunes do you rename the old phone to "ipod"? After you do that, it will sync separately from the new iPhone, right? I don't want the old phone and the new to be affected by each other, i.e. I don't want to erase or mess up anything vital on the new phone.

Also, does the "ipod" still have access to all music and apps that the iPhone does?

Sorry if some of my questions seem noobish. I rarely have time to play around with iTunes and it's taking me a while to get the hang of this.

Thanks!!
pauliedoggs is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPod touch for $399 or iPhone 4s for $849 hwrdrrk Buying Tips and Advice 14 Oct 14, 2011 09:03 AM
How to use old iPhone as iPod touch??? frjps iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 6 Sep 25, 2010 09:44 AM
Unable to use old iPhone as iPod after 2.2 upgrade acathrow iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 4 Nov 24, 2008 10:03 AM
ATT says use old iphone as ipod touch, but how? brinycbri iPhone 8 Aug 16, 2008 05:17 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:38 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC