Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 24, 2011, 09:58 AM   #26
Intell
macrumors P6
 
Intell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Inside
Quote:
Originally Posted by benhollberg View Post
Can anyone confirm if that unlock APN is absolutely necessary? Using that website just doesn't seem secure since it installs something from the web.
Yes, otherwise the iPhone will be looking for the internet in the wrong place.
__________________
Last edited by Intell; Yesterday at 6:21 AM.
Intell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2011, 10:47 AM   #27
ET iPhone Home
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Orange County, California USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by benhollberg View Post
Can anyone confirm if that unlock APN is absolutely necessary? Using that website just doesn't seem secure since it installs something from the web.

I'll get it done when I get home.
THANK YOU. I was thinking the same about it being unsecured, but wasn't quite sure. THANKS AGAIN.
ET iPhone Home is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2011, 12:47 PM   #28
benhollberg
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
benhollberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Here is my best step by step.

1. Get an activated SIM, for example from an iPad.
2. On the iPhone go to http://www.unlockit.co.nz
3. On the web app: Continue, Custom APN, Select your country and carrier (I chose AT&T Broadband) and tap "Create Profile." This will install some kind of APN profile on your iPhone, you may have to type in your passcode to finish. It'll also save a bookmark on the home screen for easy access in case you need to do it again.
4. Put the activated SIM in the phone, make sure cellular data is on and try to load something. For me it worked after I turned on cellular data, which I didn't know was turned off.

I have not yet tested out FaceTime since I want to do it with a device not associated with my Apple ID. iMessage does work fine. I believe you can iMessage the phone number that AT&T assigns you but I need to test it out also but it lists it in the iMessage settings.
__________________
Twitter, YouTube
benhollberg is offline   3 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2011, 01:22 PM   #29
PracticalMac
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
:d
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	thisthreaddeliversupscht.jpg
Views:	123
Size:	119.8 KB
ID:	308959  
__________________
FireWire 1394 Intelligent network guaranteed data transfer, 1500mA power, Ethernet compatible
Read: 160 files, 650MB total, FW400 70% faster then USB2
Write: 160 files, 650MB total, FW400 48% faster
PracticalMac is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2011, 02:27 PM   #30
marktwothousand
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
- Unlockit does not cause any harm to the phone or put anything "bad" on it, even though you are downloading it from a website and installing it. All it does is changes the settings for the internet route. If you don't want it any more, all you have to do is go to the profile in the settings, and delete it, and the phone will revert to original settings. TRUST ME, I have tried it and it works.

- Using an activated Micro SIM on a GoPhone plan is all you should need to do, I have also tried this with my unlocked iPhone 4 from Canada. However, you should know - when using it in New York City, I encountered many signal and data rate issues with GoPhone data on the iPhone. It was almost always slow, and sometimes completely non-responsive. I also used it in Chicago, where service was slightly better, but still not what I am used to in Canada.

I do not know whether this is just poor AT&T signal or because you are using it on GoPhone, but I believe, unfortunately, it is GoPhone
marktwothousand is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2011, 04:45 PM   #31
NathanA
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by dannn View Post
So let me get this straight...i can buy an unlocked iphone4s, [...]
I don't have any direct experience with this particular scenario, but I would venture to guess that if this works, this would also work on a phone that is carrier-locked to AT&T. An AT&T SIM is an AT&T SIM, so the locked-to-AT&T phone should accept it.

-- Nathan
NathanA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2011, 04:57 PM   #32
dave006
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
+1.

No need to unlock an AT&T iPhone as it will accept an AT&T Micro-SIM from a GoPhone or the iPad.

Dave
dave006 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2011, 07:28 PM   #33
chillhase
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
do you still have to cut the sim card? i have heard that the size of the 4s is different from the iPad?
chillhase is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2011, 08:17 PM   #34
dave006
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by chillhase View Post
do you still have to cut the sim card? i have heard that the size of the 4s is different from the iPad?
Nope both the iPad and the iPhone 4 or 4S use the new Micro-SIM that was introduced with the iPad 1 last year.

Dave
dave006 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2011, 08:31 PM   #35
dannn
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Any updates? I wish there was more information about doing this kind of thing, especially with ios5.
dannn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2011, 08:38 PM   #36
benhollberg
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
benhollberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave006 View Post
+1.

No need to unlock an AT&T iPhone as it will accept an AT&T Micro-SIM from a GoPhone or the iPad.

Dave
I have an iPhone 4 from AT&T, I thought you said I would have to change the APN with that unlockit website? If I already have an AT&T phone do I not need to?

I said in the first post that, when talking to AT&T people this they said it wouldn't work because AT&T would notice and just cut the service for "SIM swapping." Is this not true. If I don't need to change the APN then I would rather not. Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dave006 View Post
Nope both the iPad and the iPhone 4 or 4S use the new Micro-SIM that was introduced with the iPad 1 last year.

Dave
The SIMs are shaped the same but they are actually different. AT&T explained this to me, I can't remember what they said but they said they are different style SIM for iPad than regular iPhone.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dannn View Post
Any updates? I wish there was more information about doing this kind of thing, especially with ios5.
I am doing this with iOS 5 right now.
__________________
Twitter, YouTube
benhollberg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2011, 08:53 PM   #37
chillhase
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by benhollberg View Post
The SIMs are shaped the same but they are actually different. AT&T explained this to me, I can't remember what they said but they said they are different style SIM for iPad than regular iPhone.
.
so this means it is working or it is not working. I'm getting all confused
chillhase is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2011, 08:54 PM   #38
benhollberg
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
benhollberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by chillhase View Post
so this means it is working or it is not working. I'm getting all confused
It is working, working great.
__________________
Twitter, YouTube
benhollberg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2011, 09:01 PM   #39
dave006
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by benhollberg View Post
I have an iPhone 4 from AT&T, I thought you said I would have to change the APN with that unlockit website? If I already have an AT&T phone do I not need to?

I said in the first post that, when talking to AT&T people this they said it wouldn't work because AT&T would notice and just cut the service for "SIM swapping." Is this not true. If I don't need to change the APN then I would rather not. Thanks.



The SIMs are shaped the same but they are actually different. AT&T explained this to me, I can't remember what they said but they said they are different style SIM for iPad than regular iPhone.



I am doing this with iOS 5 right now.
Yes you still need to chang the APN since you are using the iPad data plan. The other person was talking about a carrier locked phone situation. So any current AT&T phone will accept any current AT&T type of SIM: post paid or GoPhone ( Mini-SIMs would have to be trimmed to fit an iPad 1/2 3G or iPhone 4/4S )

The SIM Swapping issue was raised when people were swapping the Unlimited iPad Data Plan Micro-SIM into iPhones or swapping iPhone Unlimited data plans into the iPad. As I mentioned earlier in the thread, AT&T will see exactly what you are doing and if you were abusing the system by swapping an Unlimited Data Plan SIM you should expect to receive an email or SMS Txt message depending on your AT&T profile settings on your account.

The Micro-SIMs are exactly the same. There is no magic iPad or any other magic type of SIM. For example, they have been claiming that there is a new magic iPhone 4S Micro-SIM for the HPSA+ speeds but again it it not true. I used a new unactivated "iPad" Micro-SIM to activate my iPhone 4 last year with a phone number and data and I just switched it to my new iPhone 4S. last week.

Dave
dave006 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2011, 09:24 PM   #40
dannn
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
A video of the results of this would be great!
maybe something showing it off with ios5..including facetime.


and how well gv extensions make everything more seamless
dannn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2011, 09:34 PM   #41
benhollberg
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
benhollberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
I guess that AT&T girl got confused and didn't understand exactly what I was saying.

I will try to do a video but don't know if I'll ever get around to it.
__________________
Twitter, YouTube
benhollberg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2011, 09:51 PM   #42
dave006
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by benhollberg View Post
I guess that AT&T girl got confused and didn't understand exactly what I was saying.

I will try to do a video but don't know if I'll ever get around to it.
Short answer is she is an AT&T Retail Sales Consultant (RSC) and can't provide you with options that are not supported by AT&T. So she will repeat what her training and the AT&T documentation states.

The Micro-SIM is only the latest example. When the original iPhone came out there was a very long discussion about a new magic Mini-SIM that was specific to the original iPhone. Same thing when the iPhone 3G came out, a claim that you needed to use the included Mini-SIM. When the iPad 3G appeared with the Mico-SIM, same story. You had to use a special iPad Micro-SIM. Again, this was and is not the true today.

Even this year with the iPhone 4S the AT&T documentation states: To ensure proper iPhone operation, you must use the SIM card pre-installed in your iPhone.

Dave
dave006 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2011, 10:34 PM   #43
benhollberg
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
benhollberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
On the iPad 3G is there no tethering option? On this iPhone there is no tethering settings and no personal hotspot settings.
__________________
Twitter, YouTube
benhollberg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2011, 10:51 PM   #44
jivemaster
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
I use a Telstra prepaid iPad data sim in my iPhone 4S, no issues at all. It was activated in my iPad 2 already, so no idea if you need to activate it in an iPad first. No changing or adding of APN required, and no hacks.

It might depend on your provider.

The only thing not working is FaceTime, which refuses to activate using the sim (because a traditional phone service is required to activate).
jivemaster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2011, 11:10 PM   #45
benhollberg
Thread Starter
macrumors 68020
 
benhollberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
So you didn't have to change any APNs on your iPhone to use this?
__________________
Twitter, YouTube
benhollberg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 24, 2011, 11:13 PM   #46
dave006
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jivemaster View Post
I use a Telstra prepaid iPad data sim in my iPhone 4S, no issues at all. It was activated in my iPad 2 already, so no idea if you need to activate it in an iPad first. No changing or adding of APN required, and no hacks.

It might depend on your provider.

The only thing not working is FaceTime, which refuses to activate using the sim (because a traditional phone service is required to activate).
Yes the APN setting is for specific providers in specific countries. So while it does not matter with Telstra (in Australia) it sure does for other carriers in other countries like the USA with AT&T.

Dave
dave006 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2011, 12:02 AM   #47
jivemaster
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
While the USA has some of the best rates in the world, the restrictive administrative processes they use are rather sucky.

Even tethering in Australia is free on most carriers, although our data plans suck, so it's not all that crash hot.

Last edited by jivemaster; Oct 25, 2011 at 08:01 AM.
jivemaster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2011, 03:06 AM   #48
chillhase
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
hum, so ill get an unlocked iPhone from the apple store (roughly 750$) and a 2gb plan for a newly purchased iPad (which i do not have but i activate it in a best buy or get it from apple and send it back). so i have 2gb data for a month for 25$? just wanted to crosscheck.
if i am right a Skype call of about a minute without video is about 1 or 2 mb of data, why doesn't everybody do this? it sounds to be ****ing cheap.

btw: thanks a lot for all your help. you are amazing
chillhase is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2011, 03:40 AM   #49
ET iPhone Home
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Orange County, California USA
Thank You.

Quote:
Originally Posted by benhollberg View Post
Here is my best step by step.

1. Get an activated SIM, for example from an iPad.
2. On the iPhone go to http://www.unlockit.co.nz
3. On the web app: Continue, Custom APN, Select your country and carrier (I chose AT&T Broadband) and tap "Create Profile." This will install some kind of APN profile on your iPhone, you may have to type in your passcode to finish. It'll also save a bookmark on the home screen for easy access in case you need to do it again.
4. Put the activated SIM in the phone, make sure cellular data is on and try to load something. For me it worked after I turned on cellular data, which I didn't know was turned off.

I have not yet tested out FaceTime since I want to do it with a device not associated with my Apple ID. iMessage does work fine. I believe you can iMessage the phone number that AT&T assigns you but I need to test it out also but it lists it in the iMessage settings.
Thanks so much for doing this.

In step 2: The original sim is still in the 4S when you go to "unlockit", correct?
In Step 4: This is where I then insert the activated some from an iPad or a GoPhone.

So, referring to your original post, you wanted to be able to use your old 4 like an iTouch, but with "Data" access. If I purchase a Go Phone with an activated sim and then decide to purchase an unlocked 4S or locked for that matter, I can then use the 4S to make calls and Data? Because with an iPad activated Sim, I would be restricted to only data. Am I understanding this correctly? Thanks.

A GoPhone does offer a micro sim card for use, so that there would be no need to cut a regular sim down to micro size.

----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by chillhase View Post
hum, so ill get an unlocked iPhone from the apple store (roughly 750$) and a 2gb plan for a newly purchased iPad (which i do not have but i activate it in a best buy or get it from apple and send it back). so i have 2gb data for a month for 25$? just wanted to crosscheck.
if i am right a Skype call of about a minute without video is about 1 or 2 mb of data, why doesn't everybody do this? it sounds to be ****ing cheap.

btw: thanks a lot for all your help. you are amazing
I'm confused. If you purchase an iPad with a 2GB plan, and then return the iPad, don't you have to return that sim that came originally in the iPad, or is this sim later given to you once you pay for activation?

(edit) I think I got it. You need to purchase an iPad in order to get a sim activated. Once you return the iPad, you keep the sim. The selected carrier thinks you still have the iPad. Right? You then maintain and pay the monthly activation for the returned iPad to maintain data/calls on the 4S/4. All I can say is WOW!

Last edited by ET iPhone Home; Oct 25, 2011 at 04:12 AM.
ET iPhone Home is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 25, 2011, 04:39 AM   #50
AlvinNguyen
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
The only problem see with this is that you will not be able to use the phone to text a lot (google voice won't work because you need an actual phone number - the iPad number won't work because it's only for admin use). You will also need to have Skype ($2.99 per month) for VOIP. So you're looking at roughly $30 for 2gb of internet and calling ($2.99 gets you unlimited calling to US and Canada numbers on Skype).

Limitations
-People HAVE to have Skype to call you (unless you want a Skype number which increases your costs)
-you can't text anyone without iMessage
-you can't call in rural areas or very populated metro areas where ATT signal is known to suck - basically, if you rely on a phone 24/7 you shouldn't get this
-when your 2Gb is up you need to buy more

So while its doable and cheap it's got limitation. This should be o for some people but is a bit too extreme for me. I like to know that I can use my phone for emergency use as well as being able to text, talk normally.

I would suggest an alternative which is to get a family plan with 5 lines. Gather some friends and family and get on a family plan. On sprint you can get a family plan for ($220) - or $180 if you know where to look - unlimited everything on 4 lines. That's roughly $45 a line and you will be carefree.

Oh and don't forget the subsidized phone as well. You have to calculate the cost of a brand new 4s ($700) after tax or $350 for a used 4.

All in all, not really worth it unless you're hurting for money. In that case I would just go on TMOBILE and get their walmart $29.99 plan for unlimited data, text, and 100 minutes. Then you can use android phones for 4G or an iPhone and be on Edge
__________________
"If it came easy, you're not dreaming big enough."
WWW.ALVINNGUYEN.COM
AlvinNguyen is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Tags
data, ipad, iphone, sim, tag

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad Mini: Using iPhone 5 unlimited data SIM in iPad mini pooleman iPad 20 Jun 23, 2014 04:07 PM
Can I use a UK Data SIM in iPhone 5 in the USA-just for Tethering? Azzin iPhone 6 Apr 25, 2014 10:35 AM
iPhone: AT&T iPhone Data SIM sovereign Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 Nov 12, 2013 08:41 PM
Using a Ipad sim card in a Iphone 4/4s(data only) Jeff1020 iPhone 2 Mar 16, 2013 11:20 PM
iPhone: T-mobile dumbphone sim in iphone with NO data? Yoshi Yogurt Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 11 Sep 30, 2012 02:58 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:12 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC