Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Oct 27, 2011, 02:24 AM   #1
sence
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Two problems while mirroring

Hi,

While mirroring Ipad 2 and Apple tv 2 i get no sound in apps not apple such as Pirates, Sim City etc.. But garage band gives me sound, anyone else got this problem?

Also when raising the resolution to 1080p wich my tv support the menus and native stuff in the apple tv look great but mirroring displaces the screen of the ipad and does not size it correct, anyone else got this and solved it?
sence is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2011, 03:44 AM   #2
Defender2010
macrumors 68000
 
Defender2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: London
What do U mean "raising the resolution to 1080p"? The max on apple tv settings is 720p.....
Defender2010 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2011, 03:59 AM   #3
sence
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Defender2010 View Post
What do U mean "raising the resolution to 1080p"? The max on apple tv settings is 720p.....
http://gadgets.fosfor.se/apple-tv-20/
sence is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2011, 04:30 AM   #4
peterjcat
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
That is for the original Apple TV (with version 2.0 of the software), not the ATV2. Which one do you have?
peterjcat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2011, 07:46 AM   #5
sence
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterjcat View Post
That is for the original Apple TV (with version 2.0 of the software), not the ATV2. Which one do you have?
New apple tv, but my bad not 1080p but 1024 the flaw occurs.

http://iphoneblogr.com/2011/10/apple...-apple-tv-4-4/
sence is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2011, 07:56 AM   #6
peterjcat
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
No worries. Yep it seems that AirPlay Mirroring only works properly at 720p for me too. Does your TV not accept 720p?
peterjcat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2011, 09:10 AM   #7
sence
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by peterjcat View Post
No worries. Yep it seems that AirPlay Mirroring only works properly at 720p for me too. Does your TV not accept 720p?
Hi, i think it does. I have not tried it (bought the little puck yesterday ) The menus and stuff looked pretty great at 1024, and the cut bit of the mirroring from what i could see looked pretty good, it would be great if it just aligned the displacement.

Have you experienced any problems with sounds not playing from certain aps Peter?
sence is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2011, 09:54 AM   #8
peterjcat
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
720p should look just as great

I haven't noticed any problem getting sound out of apps but I haven't used mirroring that much. I did just try Sim City Deluxe HD and got sound but had to turn the volume up quite a bit on the TV to hear anything.
peterjcat is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2011, 11:13 AM   #9
CHRONiC YOUTH
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Its a bug that occurs when your already in an app and then turn on AirPlay mirroring, what you can do is turn off mirroring go back to spring board turn it back on again then launch app that should give u sound.. Or it could also be that the apps just don't support audio out with AirPlay mirroring like apples Trailers app
CHRONiC YOUTH is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2011, 11:40 AM   #10
Defender2010
macrumors 68000
 
Defender2010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: London
Quote:
Originally Posted by sence View Post
This article says nothing about 1080p.....it clearly shows 720p as the max res setting for Apple tv 2.
Ok, just read you made the mistake....sorry
Defender2010 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2011, 03:51 AM   #11
sence
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Hi guys, thanks for the help i actually found the not so obvious solution to this, for the sound that is. It seems that turning on the sound button did the trick, what made me not check this was the fact that the native apple apps such as garage band played sound on the TV but not second party apps such as sim city. Switching the sound button on the iPad did the trick
sence is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iOS 5.0 Beta 3. Two iPhones, two problems. helios16v iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Jul 15, 2011 12:44 PM
One iPad, two Apple TV's - Airplay? tracetritt iPad 1 Jul 1, 2011 11:17 AM
Problem with mirroring Mac's Hard Drive for Hard Drive Upgrade RickR Mac Peripherals 1 Jun 25, 2007 11:36 AM
Two extra hard drives, Two computers, Two problems quidire Mac Pro 1 May 14, 2006 08:27 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC